Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Wheat and Flax Waffles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat and Flax Waffles

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on February 18, 2013

      This is my new "go to" recipe! It makes a bunch, so we freeze the leftovers and heat them in the toaster oven for a fast breakfast. I make these as is, but add a tsp of vanilla and they are fabulous!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      Yum! A healthy waffle that doesn't sacrifice taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      I've made these twice now and both times my family ate them like they were going out of style! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      These were great! Light and fluffy with a great texture, and yet, still healthy. Even DH and 3 DD's loved them, I just failed to tell them that they were healthy...lol. Will become a regular recipe in our family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      Very good, but batter really thin watch out when cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      Very good. Substituted flax meal for flax seed, worked fine. Used 2 packets of Stevia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      Great waffles with a perfect texture. We don't like heavy waffles and these gave us a perfect base for the banana and walnut toppings that we love. I halved the recipe ingredients and I got exactly 10 waffles. I froze enough extras for another day. Also used milled flax seed and Splenda in place of sugar/Stevia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      My kids love these. We server them with Wipped Cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      Yummy! I used all whole wheat flour, and coconut oil as the fat. Whole flax seeds may not have a nutritional value, but they do help keep things running smoothly in the digestive department. :) So they do have a good purpose!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2005

      This recipe may make good-tasting waffles but whole flax seeds do NOTHING for our bodies nutrionally -- they're just passed through. You need a recipe that uses flax MEAL (ground flax seed).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2005

      These are very good waffles. I like it that they are half whole wheat and contain flax seed as well. I was learning how to use a "new" 4-waffle waffle iron from the late 50's or early 60's (gorgeous sleek design with non-stick surface, so can't be 30's) and so didn't take many chances with the recipe so as not to introduce too many variables. (Although I did use soy milk, but I don't consider that a variable.) Anyway, I used the quarter cup of butter but will try olive oil or canola oil next time. I added pecans after the first throw-away batch (preferable to washing the waffle surface,) and although the pecan waffles were good, they were not noticeably better and I think I'll stick with just the flax seeds next time. I suppose there are fluffier, airier, more exotic waffles out there, but I'm pleased that it's possible to make a reasonably healthy waffle and I'll stick with this one. I was cooking for my 35-year-old twin daughters and my 2-1/2-year-old grandson, and I'm always looking for recipes that taste good and are as healthy as possible. They all liked this one. By the way, this recipe makes a huge quantity--20 for me. I went with the full recipe because I wanted to give the waffle iron a full workout and I knew I'd have to throw away the first batch and didn't want to be caught short. Next time I'll be using my calculator and reducing this recipe at least by half. Thanks 172274, and thank your nana.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2005

      These waffles are very very good. I wasn't sure how they would be with so little fat in them, but they have a great flavor and texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat and Flax Waffles

    Serving Size: 1 (1426 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 125.4
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    40%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 38.4 mg
    12%
    Sodium 182.0 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    stevia

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes