9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love that these are so healthy with no white flour or oil! I've made these twice now, the first time your way, and I found it not sweet enough and the clove taste too strong for me. The second time, I increased the cinnamon to 1.5 tsp and the brown sugar to 1/2 cup and that made them 5-stars for me. Thanks for posting an excellent recipe that I will make again and again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noway October 12, 2010

Such wonderful muffins for a cool and rainy fall morning! I made my own pureed squash from organic pie pumpkins using Pureed Squash Butternut, Acorn Any Hard Winter Squash!, and used organic spelt flour in place of the whole wheat. Following the other reviewers recommendations, I doubled the spices, and I used slightly less golden raisins and more pecans (rather than walnuts), which I left broken in half, as opposed to ground. I added a topping that I made up, as you can see from my pics - 2 tbsp chopped pecans, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp cloves, 2 tbsp muscovado sugar (or other course sugar), and 2 tbsp melted butter. I mixed it together and gently dropped it on top; next time I'd leave the butter out, mix the dry ingredients, sprinkle it on top, and then drizzle it on top. It made for a nice, crunchy top and accented the delicious flavours inside. What a lovely muffin, Jujubegirl! I'll be passing this one on to my sister and making it again myself!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen October 17, 2011

I was really hoping these would be full of pumpkin and spice flavor, but they didn't have much taste to me and my family. I omitted the raisins; perhaps with a little more sugar and spice or something it would have been yummier. I liked the texture, and I think this is a great starter recipe, but on it's own it just didn't meet my high hopes from the reviews.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kindcook July 26, 2013

These are wonderful! I love that they are so healthy, and they turned out so well. I actually did not change much at all - just added a little extra pumpkin (maybe 1/4 C), and did a combo of raisins and mini chocolate chips, no nuts. I had enough batter for 12 regular muffins, and one jumbo one in a custard dish. I sprayed the liners, since there is close to no fat to help keep these from sticking, and they still stuck a bit to the liners. Though that might change after they sit overnight. Will definitely be making these again and again! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
qotw13 November 17, 2011

We liked these; they turned out moist, flavorful and very light--not firm like oatmeal muffins can sometimes be. We felt the clove was too strong, so we'll omit next tim. I increased the sugar as per another reviewers suggestion and topped with a sprinkling of granulated sugar. Nice lunchbox treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WhoKnew? October 01, 2011

These are great! I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 because it could have used a bit more spices. I'll probably up the amounts next time. These are super-moist and wonderful. I sprinkled a bit of powdered sugar on top. I will definitely make these again and again. AND, for those Weight Watchers folks out there, these have a PointsPlus value of 3. YAY!
Thanks for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TeresaAnn February 18, 2011

These were very good, and of course I love the whole grain/low sugar part. Following other reviewers' recommendations I doubled all the spices, and due to personal preference I omitted the raisins. They did rise beautifully, and the texture was spot on--but something seemed to be missing. We don't usually like supersweet muffins (1/3 c per dozen is my usual for sugar) but maybe a bit more would have been nice? I might also try using 1/3 c white sugar next time to see if that makes a difference. Thanks for posting! Made for Healthy Choices ABC.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian January 22, 2011

Wish I could give this 4.5 stars. Excellent texture and I just LOVE the whole-grain factor here (yay for high fiber & protein!!). I omitted the raisins and nuts in exchange for 1/4c of mini semi-sweet chocolate chips. I froze them for the kids to have for breakfast and they defrosted wonderfully in the microwave and toaster. My *only* complaint here is that I couldn't taste the spices enough. I will def make these again but will probably double all the spices. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LillyZackMom October 07, 2010

So easy to make these wonderful muffins! Originally I was gonna make 'em for my other half to share at a weekly meeting, but after tasting them, decided to keep 'em all here at home where I knew they'd be gone quickly! Absolutely love the taste of pumpkin & whole wheat, & these muffins are a real winner! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 02, 2010
Whole Grain Pumpkin Spice Muffins