Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Easy Fall Entertaining >

    27 One-Pot Meals

    27 One-Pot Meals

    Easy & Comforting Dinners
    28 Fall Pumpkin Recipes

    28 Fall Pumpkin Recipes

    (Pumpkin) Spice Up Your Life
    Seasonal Squash

    Seasonal Squash

    Get Your Cool-Weather Veggie Fix
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Grain Pumpkin Spice Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Grain Pumpkin Spice Muffins

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 12, 2010

      I love that these are so healthy with no white flour or oil! I've made these twice now, the first time your way, and I found it not sweet enough and the clove taste too strong for me. The second time, I increased the cinnamon to 1.5 tsp and the brown sugar to 1/2 cup and that made them 5-stars for me. Thanks for posting an excellent recipe that I will make again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2011

      Such wonderful muffins for a cool and rainy fall morning! I made my own pureed squash from organic pie pumpkins using Pureed Squash Butternut, Acorn Any Hard Winter Squash!, and used organic spelt flour in place of the whole wheat. Following the other reviewers recommendations, I doubled the spices, and I used slightly less golden raisins and more pecans (rather than walnuts), which I left broken in half, as opposed to ground. I added a topping that I made up, as you can see from my pics - 2 tbsp chopped pecans, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp cloves, 2 tbsp muscovado sugar (or other course sugar), and 2 tbsp melted butter. I mixed it together and gently dropped it on top; next time I'd leave the butter out, mix the dry ingredients, sprinkle it on top, and then drizzle it on top. It made for a nice, crunchy top and accented the delicious flavours inside. What a lovely muffin, Jujubegirl! I'll be passing this one on to my sister and making it again myself!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2013

      I was really hoping these would be full of pumpkin and spice flavor, but they didn't have much taste to me and my family. I omitted the raisins; perhaps with a little more sugar and spice or something it would have been yummier. I liked the texture, and I think this is a great starter recipe, but on it's own it just didn't meet my high hopes from the reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2011

      These are wonderful! I love that they are so healthy, and they turned out so well. I actually did not change much at all - just added a little extra pumpkin (maybe 1/4 C), and did a combo of raisins and mini chocolate chips, no nuts. I had enough batter for 12 regular muffins, and one jumbo one in a custard dish. I sprayed the liners, since there is close to no fat to help keep these from sticking, and they still stuck a bit to the liners. Though that might change after they sit overnight. Will definitely be making these again and again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

      We liked these; they turned out moist, flavorful and very light--not firm like oatmeal muffins can sometimes be. We felt the clove was too strong, so we'll omit next tim. I increased the sugar as per another reviewers suggestion and topped with a sprinkling of granulated sugar. Nice lunchbox treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2011

      These are great! I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 because it could have used a bit more spices. I'll probably up the amounts next time. These are super-moist and wonderful. I sprinkled a bit of powdered sugar on top. I will definitely make these again and again. AND, for those Weight Watchers folks out there, these have a PointsPlus value of 3. YAY!
      Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      These were very good, and of course I love the whole grain/low sugar part. Following other reviewers' recommendations I doubled all the spices, and due to personal preference I omitted the raisins. They did rise beautifully, and the texture was spot on--but something seemed to be missing. We don't usually like supersweet muffins (1/3 c per dozen is my usual for sugar) but maybe a bit more would have been nice? I might also try using 1/3 c white sugar next time to see if that makes a difference. Thanks for posting! Made for Healthy Choices ABC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2010

      Wish I could give this 4.5 stars. Excellent texture and I just LOVE the whole-grain factor here (yay for high fiber & protein!!). I omitted the raisins and nuts in exchange for 1/4c of mini semi-sweet chocolate chips. I froze them for the kids to have for breakfast and they defrosted wonderfully in the microwave and toaster. My *only* complaint here is that I couldn't taste the spices enough. I will def make these again but will probably double all the spices. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      So easy to make these wonderful muffins! Originally I was gonna make 'em for my other half to share at a weekly meeting, but after tasting them, decided to keep 'em all here at home where I knew they'd be gone quickly! Absolutely love the taste of pumpkin & whole wheat, & these muffins are a real winner! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Grain Pumpkin Spice Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (81 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 155.1
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    27%
    Total Fat 4.8 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 31.4 mg
    10%
    Sodium 218.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 9.2 g
    37%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites