9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I haven't yet made these, but wondering if I could cut down on the honey and perhaps add chia seeds or maybe almond flour which might help bind them together. I am wanting to be able to take them with me when I travel and wanting something that doesn't fall apart. Anyone have ideas on improving this recipe for that purpose???

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klsteele September 07, 2014

Very nice bar, but did unfortunately not stick as much as i wanted them too so they crumbled a lot.. but taste was still wonderfull

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamaDlicious February 02, 2011

These bars were very tasty, but made a very thin bar when pressed down. I made 2/3 of a pan instead so I could have a thicker bar. I also omitted the coconut and almonds and added walnuts instead. Thanks for a nice, versatile recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakedapple42 September 26, 2009

These are very good and versatile granola bars,which is what I like about them.You can add whatever you like and they still taste good with a delicious nutty flavor.The only changes I made was substituting sesame seeds and ground pecans for the roasted almonds and roasted sunflower seeds because I did not have any on hand.Otherwise,I am sure the original recipe tastes just as good.This is a very healthy alternative when looking for a quick sweet fix or a snack.Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baker30 February 19, 2009

Mmm yum! I went with the honey option and replaced the mini choc chips with a mix of chopped apricots and shredded coconut and I used chopped apricots and sultana's for the fruit in the mix. Fantastic!! It holds together really well when eaten from the fridge but does get a little soft when eaten from the lunch box on a warm day...still tastes great though and much better than a commercial bar. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stardustannie September 01, 2008

This gets a "serioulsy yum" rating from me! The flavor is great. It was easy to make and it is pretty healthy too! The only problem I had was that it didn't hold together as well as store bought granola bars but since I ate it so fast it didn't really matter.....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender November 18, 2007

My nutritionist gives out this (or a very similar) recipe to her clients and I love it. I make mine with puffed kamut cereal and whatever dried fruit and nuts I have on hand and my family loves it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
divatrudi September 04, 2007

these are wonderful. Everone who ate them wanted the recipe. I will never buy granola bars from the store again. They could very well turn in to a weakness for me they are so good. Probably because I love P.B. and chocolate mixed like reeses P.B. cups, these tasted just like them, but more healthy for you so you don't feel so guilty for eating them. I doubled the sunflower seeds to replace the almonds, didn't have any. I used a little less ch. chips and probably will use even less next time just enough to taste them. Thanks Mikki

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikki5555 August 20, 2007

I've been looking for a "granola type" bar. I liked that this had the puffed brown rice cereal. I think it really gave it a similar texture to a purchased chewy granola bar.I used honey, dried cherries, mini chocolate chips. You should press the chips in quickly and firmly as instructed or they have a tendency to pop out. I omitted the coconut (since I didn't have it) but I think that its stickiness would have been helpful in binding the mixture together. Mine were slightly fragile, but SO delicious. They do satisfy my sweet tooth when needed! My daughter thought they were really good, too. Thanks, Heather, for posting. Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado March 19, 2007
Whole-Grain No-Bake Granola Bars