Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Grain Health Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Grain Health Muffins

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-35 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on January 20, 2008

    • on January 11, 2008

      My family really enjoyed these muffins. They are very moist and tasty! I love finding new healthy recipes especially something the kids like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      These muffins are outstanding! A new favorite!! I had to change things a bit ... I used a combo of white whole wheat flour, spelt and brown rice flour. I didn't have raisins or apples, so I used apple sauce and added some walnuts. And I didn't have brown sugar, so I used some organic sugar, maple syrup and a bit of blackstrap molasses to get the brown sugar taste. Yum! I think the batter was a bit runny, but they turned out wonderful non-the-less. I'm off to the market tomorrow so I can make the recipe as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      These are awesome! I used half whole wheat flour & half oat flour-used oat bran for the oatmeal. I used Splenda brown sugar (used less than what was called for). Sorry, not a fan of carrots in my muffins so I used all diced apples. I used a LOT of cinnamon & added a little Splenda. But I did use the raisins! They weren't dense at all & very yummy. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      I LOVE THESE!!! YUM! They are so good! They are very tender and moist with lots of flavor. I got 12 very generous sized muffins. Just one makes a very filling and satisfying breakfast! These muffins freeze beautifully too. The only thing I did differently was to omit the raisins and I used date sugar in place of the brown sugar. This is a must try recipe. I plan to make it again very soon! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      Overall, these muffins were very good!! I wanted to make something to satisfy the dessert cravings/sweet tooth without it being full of butter, oil and cholesterol. This was my first attempt at baking/cooking with flax seed. First I attempted to process them in a mini-prep which didn't work at all. The blender nicely ground the seeds but it did take at least 15-20 seconds before I began to see a change in texture. I used egg substitute but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The batter seemed a bit dry and stiff so I added a little more milk to loosen it which worked well...this was my fault because I may have added a little more than 1 cup each of carrots and apples. Baked for 15 minutes in foil muffin cups....they were definitely moist but maybe next time i'll add a little Splenda for some added sweetness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2006

      Great flavor. Used blackberries instead of raisins. My problem, the went bad too early. I guess I should have kept them refrigerated. Anyone else come across this?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2006

      This is an unbelievably decadent and delicious healthy muffin recipe. As has already been mentioned, the muffins are REALLY moist and have a lot of flavor. :) If you served these to someone, they'd never know just how healthy they are - they taste too good to be this good for you! I just added a bit more cinnamon than the recipe called for - about 1 tsp more. Yummericious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2006

      This needs 10 stars! This is the BEST no oil added muffin I've ever made. I left out the raisens because my daughter doesn't like them, but otherwise followed directions. Made 12 and baked 22 minutes. They popped out of stoneware muffin pan perfectly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2006

      These were excellent when warm. They were very tasty and filling. They also look nice. I used whole wheat pastry flour and omitted the raisins. My 3 year old loved them and kept requesting more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2005

      Liked these a lot. Nice and straightforward to make and tasted great, nice and moist. This was my first use of linseed, and now I've read up on it, it won't be my last. I gave a couple of them to my neighbours who couldn't believe that these were so healthy :) Definately a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2005

      very good muffin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2005

      These are wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2004

      So moist and yummy! I added more carrots and subbed barley malt syrup for the brown sugar to up nutritional value. Next time I may add some dates or something to sweeten them up a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2004

      It's amazing how rich flax seed and 2 eggs can make these muffins taste. Two of these muffins would supply a day's ration of cholesterol-lowering flax seed. They're absolutely delicious, especially when warm. Jo Anne, these have gone to the top of my list of favorite healthy muffins. I just wish I weren't so tempted to top them with a slathering of cream cheese frosting. They taste like carrot cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Grain Health Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (98 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 229.0
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    19%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 33.1 mg
    11%
    Sodium 372.2 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 23.2 g
    93%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites