Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Grain Blueberry-Ful Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Grain Blueberry-Ful Muffins

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2011

      With a few tweaks, these could be pretty tasty. I made these the other night, with only a couple changes: one whole egg, 2 T canola oil instead of the oil and applesauce called for (I wanted to use butter, but didn't have any that wasn't frozen, lol), and added a t of vanilla, and about 1/2 t almond extract. I also sprinkled the tops with sugar before putting them in the oven. The texture of these muffins is pretty good, but they had very little flavor. I was very glad I put the sugar on top, because that definitely helped. Next time, I will use butter, and probably add a bit more sugar and extracts. Oh, and I also soured the milk with lemon juice instead of vinegar, and I ended up with 11 muffins, rather than 13. Will probably make these again in the future.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      Not sure what happened, but these muffins had absolutely no taste. They don't taste BAD...there's just no taste. I followed the recipe exactly so I'm not sure what happened. Thanks for sharing anyway!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2011

      Followed your recipe right on down & used frozen berries (Still haven't found great looking fresh blueberries anywhere around these past 2 weeks!) & the muffins were very nice ~ Easy to make & great on the taste buds (& the waist, for that matter!) Thanks for sharing this great keeper! [Made & reviewed as a THANK YOU for playing with us in Please Review My Recipe during the recent tour]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2011

      These weren't bad but weren't really memorable either. Like the previous poster, I found they had very little flavor and I also ended up with 11 muffins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      These were great, and they froze well. Next time I make them I'll try substituting stevia extract for the sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      These are good for being healthy. I was looking for a recipe that didn't call for butter and this fit the bill and actually tasted good as well. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      These were pretty good. They have that "healthy food" taste, so I couldn't really compare them to regular muffins, but they were still good. I also used Splenda and used lemon juice instead of vinegar to make the buttermilk, I also grated a little lemon zest in as it goes very well with blueberries and brings out their flavour. Definitely a good recipe for those watching the waist or wanting to get more fibre in their diet, but I don't know that I'd consider them a viable substitute for normal muffins. They're closer to granola bars! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      My DH and I loved these muffins! Very tasty and low fat. I used splenda for the sugar and egg substitute. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      Wow. You'd never know these muffins are low fat. Although mine may be a little higher on the caloric content as I didn't use oatmeal. I have two boxes of blueberry frosted mini wheats that I bought for the kids (they won't eat it) that needed to be used. I substituted a 1/4 cup of ground up mini wheats for the oatmeal and it turned out great! Thanks for the tasty recipe and way to use up the uneaten cereal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      I'm a total health freak so I'm always trying out these low fat recepies! These weren't the easiest to bake, lol I'm pretty new at this so I was wondering why the heck I needed sour milk! silly me! but I mad a quick call to my mom so I was set ^^ also had a hard time fiding apple sauce... I ended up switching the sugar to splenda, adding a tsp of vanilla and some raseberries for the heck of it! In the end, the muffins were great, awsome even :D! My bf loved them! I'm deffenetly making these again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      These are sure chock-ful of goodness and nothing else!! I didn't have the T of applesauce handy and so just added in a T of canola oil. Yum, Yum!~ Made for Veg-n-Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      I liked these muffins. They are kind of heavy but that might be because of the substitutions I made. I accidentally let an egg yolk fall into the batter and I used buttermilk instead of the soured milk. Plus, I added 1/2 cup of pecans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      These were delicious even though I made a few substitutions. I veganized them by subbing Ener G egg replacer for the egg whites, and soy milk (soured with vinegar) instead of dairy. I also used agave nectar instead of sugar and reduced the milk slightly. I used fresh blueberries. I loved the moist, fluffy texture and the not-too-sweet flavor of these muffins. I will make them again. Thanks for posting! Made for Veggie Swap 13.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      These were good whole wheat muffins! I used King Arthur's White Whole Wheat and 2% milk because that's what I have around here. I didn't have any applesauce, so I used 1 T more of canola oil. Yummy blueberry treat! Reveiwed for the July Veg*n Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      I made these muffins for breakfast today and everyone just gobbled them up! They are so super quick and easy to make and taste really yummy! The blueberries go really well with the oatmeal and make for a nice and fruity muffin with just the right amount of sweetness from the added sugar. To jazz them up a little bit I sprinkled some of them with Starrynews superb Spiced Sugar prior to baking, which went really well with them. Thanks so much for sharing this lovely recipe with us, smellyvegetarian! Made and reviewed for Veg'n'Swap #11 (PAV).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      These are nice, healthy, easy to make muffins that would have plenty of flavour options, I'm sure. The recipe made 10 muffins for me. They were delicious and while you could tell they were lower in fat, it was because they didn't have that heavy oily taste some muffins do. I used 2 tbsp applesauce and 1 tbsp oil, as well. Thanks for the awesome recipe! Made for PAC Spring '09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      I have tried to reduce the white flour in my eating so much, I don't have any in the pantry. So when a hankering for muffins struck, these were a perfect option. As another review suggested, I added a teaspoon of vanilla and also replaced the sugar with z-Sweet an organic natural sugar replacement. The muffins were smaller than I expected, especially since I made just a dozen but they were jammed with blueberries, light and tender. Made for Went to the Market Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      These are great when it comes to a low-fat/low-cal whole food lifestyle. I used soy-milk and had to add an extra 1/4 cup to loosen up the batter. This muffin is a perfect way to get my grains in the morning! Thanks for this great, easy recipe. -Blueberry Addict~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      I liked these muffins quite a bit. I did add 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp almond extract just because I felt like it. I really like how low fat these are and that there isn't a lot of added sugar, and they taste delicious. Thank you for sharing, I plan to make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      I halved this recipe and added 1/4 t. cinnamon. It made 5 regular size muffins. These are great blueberry muffins, not too sweet but full of whole wheat and oatmeal (something I love to use in baking). This will get a recipe card in my book! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Grain Blueberry-Ful Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (58 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 13

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 96.5
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    12%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.3 mg
    0%
    Sodium 138.3 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites