20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

With a few tweaks, these could be pretty tasty. I made these the other night, with only a couple changes: one whole egg, 2 T canola oil instead of the oil and applesauce called for (I wanted to use butter, but didn't have any that wasn't frozen, lol), and added a t of vanilla, and about 1/2 t almond extract. I also sprinkled the tops with sugar before putting them in the oven. The texture of these muffins is pretty good, but they had very little flavor. I was very glad I put the sugar on top, because that definitely helped. Next time, I will use butter, and probably add a bit more sugar and extracts. Oh, and I also soured the milk with lemon juice instead of vinegar, and I ended up with 11 muffins, rather than 13. Will probably make these again in the future.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
qotw13 February 12, 2011

Not sure what happened, but these muffins had absolutely no taste. They don't taste BAD...there's just no taste. I followed the recipe exactly so I'm not sure what happened. Thanks for sharing anyway!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LillyZackMom October 24, 2010

Followed your recipe right on down & used frozen berries (Still haven't found great looking fresh blueberries anywhere around these past 2 weeks!) & the muffins were very nice ~ Easy to make & great on the taste buds (& the waist, for that matter!) Thanks for sharing this great keeper! [Made & reviewed as a THANK YOU for playing with us in Please Review My Recipe during the recent tour]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 10, 2011

These weren't bad but weren't really memorable either. Like the previous poster, I found they had very little flavor and I also ended up with 11 muffins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Hughes June 02, 2011

These were great, and they froze well. Next time I make them I'll try substituting stevia extract for the sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ilovecookingsomuch October 14, 2010

These are good for being healthy. I was looking for a recipe that didn't call for butter and this fit the bill and actually tasted good as well. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef rmshill June 25, 2010

These were pretty good. They have that "healthy food" taste, so I couldn't really compare them to regular muffins, but they were still good. I also used Splenda and used lemon juice instead of vinegar to make the buttermilk, I also grated a little lemon zest in as it goes very well with blueberries and brings out their flavour. Definitely a good recipe for those watching the waist or wanting to get more fibre in their diet, but I don't know that I'd consider them a viable substitute for normal muffins. They're closer to granola bars! :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GrumpyIrishLady March 10, 2010

My DH and I loved these muffins! Very tasty and low fat. I used splenda for the sugar and egg substitute. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hazeleyes January 24, 2010

Wow. You'd never know these muffins are low fat. Although mine may be a little higher on the caloric content as I didn't use oatmeal. I have two boxes of blueberry frosted mini wheats that I bought for the kids (they won't eat it) that needed to be used. I substituted a 1/4 cup of ground up mini wheats for the oatmeal and it turned out great! Thanks for the tasty recipe and way to use up the uneaten cereal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hunkle November 09, 2009

I'm a total health freak so I'm always trying out these low fat recepies! These weren't the easiest to bake, lol I'm pretty new at this so I was wondering why the heck I needed sour milk! silly me! but I mad a quick call to my mom so I was set ^^ also had a hard time fiding apple sauce... I ended up switching the sugar to splenda, adding a tsp of vanilla and some raseberries for the heck of it! In the end, the muffins were great, awsome even :D! My bf loved them! I'm deffenetly making these again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vermillion17 September 30, 2009
Whole Grain Blueberry-Ful Muffins