Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Foods Hot Chocolate Mix (with 3 Options) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Foods Hot Chocolate Mix (with 3 Options)

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on December 21, 2008

      Loving it. We bought some black forest hot chocolate mix when we were in the States, but haven't been able to find it at home, so when I came across some cherry flavouring, I decided to try to duplicate it. I followed the instructions, and added .25 ml of cherry flavouring. I have now made a batch for my brother and sister in law, and one for my parents. I'll be going back to this recipe... the possibilities are endless!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2013

      Thank goodness I found this recipe! I cringe when I think of non-dairy creamer and even more when I read the ingredients on the store bought box of hot cocoa mix, so this recipe is exactly what I needed. Super easy and even better when I ran it through the food processor (can also use a blender). I'll be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      I LOVE hot chocolate and this recipe is my first attempt at making my own. I was very pleased with the traditional cocoa recipe and it will probably save me lots of money this winter! I also tried the spiced version and did not like it at all... way too strong. I might try it again whith significantly smaller amounts of the spices.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2011

      Made hot chocolate mix as per reciped. Tasted good. Easy to make. Kids enjoyed. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      I love the flavour of this mix. I usually make the Java Cocoa Mix and add cinnamon. I also like the fact that it doesn't use coffee creamer as an ingredient.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      Yummmm! My mom drinks hot chocolate every morning, so I made this mix as a gift for her last Xmas. Of course, after I tasted it, it is now in our home as well. I used the traditional mix, but look forward to trying the others as well. Thanks for posting, daisy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      This was awesome! I made the spiced cocoa, and the cardamon gave it such an extra punch of flavor - very different from the 'normal' hot cocoa. I also used "special dark" cocoa powder, which made this VERY rich. This recipe will go in the keeper cookbook for gift giving in the future. Made for the Comfort Cafe, Jan 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      I have made a similar recipe for several years. I really like the options that were listed in the recipe. In place of the sugar, I used Splenda granular. I look forward to trying the spiced version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      Yikes! This did not turn out good for me at all. I wonder is powdered milk and dry milk the same thing? But I like the idea of not using the non-dairy creamer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      TEN STARS!!!!! This is the BEST hot chocolate mix for two simple reasons: No coffee creamer and no powdered sugar. The granulated sugar makes it sweeter amd does not dilute the richness of the chocolate. My husband and I filled 4 cases of pint jars (gifts for co-workers and neighbors) with the traditional cocoa mix, attached a red card with directions printed on it, tied with green rafia. We added chocolate chips to the top of the jars before adding the lids which make the mix even more chocolatey. My husband made each batch x 12 so 12 C of powdered milk and so on. He mixed it in a very large tupperware container and sampled each batch before jarring. Thank you Daisy! And THANK YOU WHOLE FOODS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      I have finally found my hot chocolate keeper recipe!! THANK YOU, THANK YOU. I only made the tradtional (I subbed Splenda and used non-fat powdered milk). The food processor made this a perfect texture. The taste is perfect. You don't know how many hot chocolate recipes I have tried, I had almost given up due to creamer (really gross in my opinion) being a popular ingredient.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      I used the basic mix, adding it to coffee. Very good. I'm looking forward to trying the spiced version! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      This is it! I've been testing a half-dozen cappucino/hot chocolate mixes from 'Zaar, and this is THE best -- best flavor, best texture. I'm thrilled that it doesn't use instant chocolate drink or non-dairy creamer. I made all three variants in one batch -- I used all the spices, and added two tablespoons of espresso powder. (And I used your recommendation and whirled it through the food processor -- good idea). This is as good a hot chocolate as I've ever found, and this is the one that'll be in holiday gift baskets this year. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      We had this available for Thanksgiving and everybody gave it a thumbs up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      I usually make hot chocolate on top of the stove, but started wanting a quick option to fall back on that wasn't full of the scariness so many of the boxed brands contain. This is it! I made the traditional mix exactly as called for, and followed the suggestion to zizz everything in the blender. It's *so* much better than any powdered hot chocolate I've used in the past.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2005

      This is delicious. I really like that it doesn't use non-dairy creamer. I made the traditional cocoa mix this time, but I'm planning on doing the java variation next. It wasn't quite sweet enough for us, so we did had to add a bit more sugar for our taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Foods Hot Chocolate Mix (with 3 Options)

    Serving Size: 1 (37 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 7

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 157.5
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    30%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 17.7 mg
    5%
    Sodium 91.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 21.4 g
    85%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites