69 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was wonderful and easy. I put the onions UNDER the chicken with some mini carrots. I put the sauce ingredients (minus onions) in a mini processor and poured it over. This will make some great chicken broth. I just leave the bones and stuff in the crock pot, add water and let cook on low overnight. Then I strain and put in containers in the freezer.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead September 05, 2007

"Cut food into chunks or small pieces to ensure thorough cooking. Do not use the slow cooker for large pieces like a roast or a whole chicken because the food will cook so slowly it could remain in the bacterial "Danger Zone" — between 40 °F and 140 °F — too long." http://www.fsis.usda.gov/News_&_Events/NR_013106_01/index.asp

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SRF68 January 20, 2009

Excellent recipe, I'm so happy to have found a whole chicken crockpot recipe that's delicious and easy! I did thaw the 5.25 pound chicken overnight and then cooked it on low for 8 hours. I increased the ingredients by about 1/3 (except the kosher salt) because of the size of the bird, but next time I think I'll cut down the amount of honey to 1.5 tbs and up the salt. I also added about 1 cup of rice to the broth mix and bumped it up to high for 30 minutes thanks to another reviewer's awesome suggestion. Thanks so much for the keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz December 08, 2010

Oh my God!!!!! This was the best chicken I have ever cooked!! I would give it 20 stars if I could.!! Thank you so much for the recipe. I didn't use a frozen chicken, but kept everything else the same. The broth was outstanding. I added rice the last 1/2 hour of cooking and it was beyond words!! Fellow foodies, this recipe is a must and a big keeper!!! Thanks again!! Jules

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jules1962 September 22, 2009

Awesome and easy chicken!! I didn't have the mushrooms for the bottom. I also used a defrosted chicken and put it in for about 6 hours on low. I made this up with Jalapeno Mashed Potatoes. It was so moist and flavorful. I've got all kinds of ideas for the lefovers, too! Thanks, MizEmerilLagasse!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady March 15, 2008

Fantastic! Used a 4.25 lb. FRESH (not frozen) chicken in a large oval crockpot on LOW for 6 HOURS and it was falling off the bone, moist & cooked perfectly. Such an easy way to cook chicken for soup, casseroles, burrito fillings and more without heating up the house with a traditional oven.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BerrySweet September 04, 2007

Very good! The chicken came out moist and delicious. The drippings were great with mashed potatoes. I suggest keeping a close eye on this one if you're using a large crockpot. Mine got close to drying out. I added about a cup and a half of water and that was perfect. Thanks for a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindi Bunch January 10, 2005

very good and tender. I threw all ingredients in the crockpot and left, I didn't even blend them first. Lots of flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hanson1326 August 31, 2011

The only amendment I made was to replace butter with olive oil to keep the receipe kosher. It was amazing! Everyone thoroughly enjoyed and the chicken was moist, but not falling apart.

The only thing I noticed was the puree turing a bright green as it cooked, I think it was an oxidation - but I turned the chicken over in the last hour and the end result was great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allrmine November 15, 2010

Followed recipe except for mushrooms since I didn't have any. I will be making this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
909692 June 26, 2009
Whole Crock Pot Chicken