Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Crock Pot Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Crock Pot Chicken

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on September 05, 2007

      This was wonderful and easy. I put the onions UNDER the chicken with some mini carrots. I put the sauce ingredients (minus onions) in a mini processor and poured it over. This will make some great chicken broth. I just leave the bones and stuff in the crock pot, add water and let cook on low overnight. Then I strain and put in containers in the freezer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      "Cut food into chunks or small pieces to ensure thorough cooking. Do not use the slow cooker for large pieces like a roast or a whole chicken because the food will cook so slowly it could remain in the bacterial "Danger Zone" — between 40 °F and 140 °F — too long." http://www.fsis.usda.gov/News_&_Events/NR_013106_01/index.asp

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

      Excellent recipe, I'm so happy to have found a whole chicken crockpot recipe that's delicious and easy! I did thaw the 5.25 pound chicken overnight and then cooked it on low for 8 hours. I increased the ingredients by about 1/3 (except the kosher salt) because of the size of the bird, but next time I think I'll cut down the amount of honey to 1.5 tbs and up the salt. I also added about 1 cup of rice to the broth mix and bumped it up to high for 30 minutes thanks to another reviewer's awesome suggestion. Thanks so much for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      Oh my God!!!!! This was the best chicken I have ever cooked!! I would give it 20 stars if I could.!! Thank you so much for the recipe. I didn't use a frozen chicken, but kept everything else the same. The broth was outstanding. I added rice the last 1/2 hour of cooking and it was beyond words!! Fellow foodies, this recipe is a must and a big keeper!!! Thanks again!! Jules

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      Awesome and easy chicken!! I didn't have the mushrooms for the bottom. I also used a defrosted chicken and put it in for about 6 hours on low. I made this up with Jalapeno Mashed Potatoes. It was so moist and flavorful. I've got all kinds of ideas for the lefovers, too! Thanks, MizEmerilLagasse!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      Fantastic! Used a 4.25 lb. FRESH (not frozen) chicken in a large oval crockpot on LOW for 6 HOURS and it was falling off the bone, moist & cooked perfectly. Such an easy way to cook chicken for soup, casseroles, burrito fillings and more without heating up the house with a traditional oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2005

      Very good! The chicken came out moist and delicious. The drippings were great with mashed potatoes. I suggest keeping a close eye on this one if you're using a large crockpot. Mine got close to drying out. I added about a cup and a half of water and that was perfect. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2011

      very good and tender. I threw all ingredients in the crockpot and left, I didn't even blend them first. Lots of flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      The only amendment I made was to replace butter with olive oil to keep the receipe kosher. It was amazing! Everyone thoroughly enjoyed and the chicken was moist, but not falling apart.

      The only thing I noticed was the puree turing a bright green as it cooked, I think it was an oxidation - but I turned the chicken over in the last hour and the end result was great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      Followed recipe except for mushrooms since I didn't have any. I will be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2006

      This was a wonderful recipe. I put everything together the night before, and put the pot in the fridge, then just put it in the crockpot before I left for work, and the house smelled so good when I got home. THe cats noticed too, they were waiting in the kitchen, hoping for a handout. The chicken was wonderfully moist and so tasty. I used the stock to make rice and served it with a salad. My husband loved it and had seconds. Only thing I added to the recipe was to leave a couple whole chunks of onion in the pot and I also threw in some chopped porotobello mushrooms in there, and served them over top of the chicken. Thanks for posting this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2006

      WOW, very tasty, easy to prepare. I put onion in the bottom of the crockpot & some inside the chicken other than that I prepared it just like the recipe stated. The left over chicken was used in a casserole, New Mexico Style Chili Chicken Casserole was great. I will be using this recipe often. Thank you very much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2014

      Easy, tender and delicious. I love the touch of honey, it goes great with the rosemary. My chicken was not frozen, so I cooked it on high for about 4 hours. It was done by then, but I wanted it fall-apart-tender, so I turned the crock pot to low and continued cooking for a couple more hours. Wonderful! Don't forget to make chicken stock out of the bones!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2014

      I thought I had a whole chicken in the freezer, but it was a quarter chicken- so I modified the recipe. I used fresh rosemary instead of dried, bumped up the fresh garlic to abut 5 cloves, didn't have onion powder, forgot to add the honey, and added some fresh serano chili. I cooked it overnight (10 hours even for the quarter chicken) then took the meat off of the bones in the morning. It smells great and tastes even better. Wonderful recipe! Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2012

      This was really good and so easy! I also put the onions under the chicken with some mini carrots and put the sauce ingredients in a mini processor and poured it over. I definitely will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2012

      Excellent!! Made as directed only I used a 4 1/2 lb. thawed chicken. As another reviewer suggested, I added about a cup of rice towards the end. DH couldn't get over the rice, lovely blend of the broth, mushrooms and rice. Next time I will remove some of the grease accumulated from the chicken before adding the rice. This will be in my rotation~~Thanks Miz

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2012

      I love this recipe!! It's easy, I used the frozen chicken too and it's great!! thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      I just tried this today, and I had success!! I'm trying to encourage the family to eat healthy, and I am looking for different ways to cook chicken. I followed the recipe with the following exceptions:
      - Used coleman organic whole young chicken 5 lbs from Costco. It was not frozen. I took off all of the skin to reduce the fat.
      - 5 garlic cloves because the chicken was bigger
      -1 full tablespoon of salt because of larger chicken
      -5 tablespoons of olive oil to make up for lack of chicken fat. I'm replacing the bad fat with good oil trying to help preserve moisture in the chicken.
      -2 1/2 tablespoons of honey for the larger chicken
      -Based on the other reviews I cooked it on low setting for 8 hours rather than 10 because the chicken was not frozen.

      I was skeptical when I put all the ingredients in the crock pot as instructed. I kept thinking there is no skin, so will there be a broth? How will the paste sink down into the chicken and broth when it's such a thick paste? By hour four I did not see any soup or broth formation, and I was nervous about the outcome. I then ran errands, exercised, and ran more errands. I came back just as the timer hit 8 hours. I was flabbergasted. The crock pot was full of broth, and it looked delicious!

      My family, two teenagers and the wife, really enjoyed the chicken over rice. Per other review suggestions I told my son that he might like the soup over the rice, and he did. All of my family took seconds and thirds. Just as the other reviews stated, the chicken just fell off the bones.

      I have to say the breast meat was dry, but the dark meat was moist. I'm not a picky eater, so I was fine with the breast meat. I loved the dark meat, and I loved the flavoring that resulted.

      My wife asked me how I made the dish because she wants to use it because of its simplicity.

      I'd like to thank MizEmerillLagasse for sharing her recipe. Four years later it's still a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      AWESOME!! I made a few changes but kept the puree the same. My sched doesn't allow for crock potting so I made the puree, rubbed some of it under the thawed chicken skin and let it sit overnight. Then the next day I chopped up some potatoes and placed them in the bottom of a dutch oven along with 1/2 of the mushrooms. I stuffed the chicken with stuffing and placed the chicken in the ditch oven, breast side up. I poured the rest of the puree and the mushrooms on top and baked at 400 for 1.25 hours. The smell of the puree is deceiving, but it turned out DELISH! (Next time I might add some cyanne for a pop of spice!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      This was just OK. I was kinda sad after reading all the great reviews. My big issue was how greasy everything was. I used some of the sauce to make some rice as suggested and the rice was super oily. I took out the sauce after and tried to skim off the fat...got about a cup of oil out! The chicken was tasy but everything was greasy. The mushrooms were oily too. I felt like I had a wierd film in my mouth after. I did exactally was the recipe said, so I don't think I messed up. Made a good soup though with the leftover skimmed sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Crock Pot Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (254 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 635.6
     
    Calories from Fat 393
    61%
    Total Fat 43.7 g
    67%
    Saturated Fat 15.5 g
    77%
    Cholesterol 183.3 mg
    61%
    Sodium 1108.9 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 11.5 g
    46%
    Protein 41.6 g
    83%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites