73 Reviews

This was wonderful and easy. I put the onions UNDER the chicken with some mini carrots. I put the sauce ingredients (minus onions) in a mini processor and poured it over. This will make some great chicken broth. I just leave the bones and stuff in the crock pot, add water and let cook on low overnight. Then I strain and put in containers in the freezer.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead September 05, 2007

"Cut food into chunks or small pieces to ensure thorough cooking. Do not use the slow cooker for large pieces like a roast or a whole chicken because the food will cook so slowly it could remain in the bacterial "Danger Zone" — between 40 °F and 140 °F — too long." http://www.fsis.usda.gov/News_&_Events/NR_013106_01/index.asp

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SRF68 January 20, 2009

Oh my God!!!!! This was the best chicken I have ever cooked!! I would give it 20 stars if I could.!! Thank you so much for the recipe. I didn't use a frozen chicken, but kept everything else the same. The broth was outstanding. I added rice the last 1/2 hour of cooking and it was beyond words!! Fellow foodies, this recipe is a must and a big keeper!!! Thanks again!! Jules

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jules1962 September 22, 2009

Excellent recipe, I'm so happy to have found a whole chicken crockpot recipe that's delicious and easy! I did thaw the 5.25 pound chicken overnight and then cooked it on low for 8 hours. I increased the ingredients by about 1/3 (except the kosher salt) because of the size of the bird, but next time I think I'll cut down the amount of honey to 1.5 tbs and up the salt. I also added about 1 cup of rice to the broth mix and bumped it up to high for 30 minutes thanks to another reviewer's awesome suggestion. Thanks so much for the keeper!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz December 08, 2010

Fantastic! Used a 4.25 lb. FRESH (not frozen) chicken in a large oval crockpot on LOW for 6 HOURS and it was falling off the bone, moist & cooked perfectly. Such an easy way to cook chicken for soup, casseroles, burrito fillings and more without heating up the house with a traditional oven.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BerrySweet September 04, 2007

Awesome and easy chicken!! I didn't have the mushrooms for the bottom. I also used a defrosted chicken and put it in for about 6 hours on low. I made this up with Jalapeno Mashed Potatoes. It was so moist and flavorful. I've got all kinds of ideas for the lefovers, too! Thanks, MizEmerilLagasse!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady March 15, 2008

Very good! The chicken came out moist and delicious. The drippings were great with mashed potatoes. I suggest keeping a close eye on this one if you're using a large crockpot. Mine got close to drying out. I added about a cup and a half of water and that was perfect. Thanks for a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindi Bunch January 10, 2005

This was okay. I made this exactly as written (except I thawed my chicken in the fridge for a day) and all the breast meat was so dry. I even flipped it numerous times while cooking and never took the slow cooker off low. I think this lacked flavor and ended up using a sauce with this. I guess if nothing else, I'll get a good chicken stock of the remains and broth.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l.pink2013 October 29, 2015

I cooked the chicken for 8 hours and it fell off the bone with all the bones and other dark things when I took it out of the crock pot. I found we could only eat the breast without spending much time picking through the remains. The stock the recipe made was excellent in gravy. The preparation took too long for the reward.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmbcurtin October 23, 2015

I just tried this today, and I had success!! I'm trying to encourage the family to eat healthy, and I am looking for different ways to cook chicken. I followed the recipe with the following exceptions:
- Used coleman organic whole young chicken 5 lbs from Costco. It was not frozen. I took off all of the skin to reduce the fat.
- 5 garlic cloves because the chicken was bigger
-1 full tablespoon of salt because of larger chicken
-5 tablespoons of olive oil to make up for lack of chicken fat. I'm replacing the bad fat with good oil trying to help preserve moisture in the chicken.
-2 1/2 tablespoons of honey for the larger chicken
-Based on the other reviews I cooked it on low setting for 8 hours rather than 10 because the chicken was not frozen.

I was skeptical when I put all the ingredients in the crock pot as instructed. I kept thinking there is no skin, so will there be a broth? How will the paste sink down into the chicken and broth when it's such a thick paste? By hour four I did not see any soup or broth formation, and I was nervous about the outcome. I then ran errands, exercised, and ran more errands. I came back just as the timer hit 8 hours. I was flabbergasted. The crock pot was full of broth, and it looked delicious!

My family, two teenagers and the wife, really enjoyed the chicken over rice. Per other review suggestions I told my son that he might like the soup over the rice, and he did. All of my family took seconds and thirds. Just as the other reviews stated, the chicken just fell off the bones.

I have to say the breast meat was dry, but the dark meat was moist. I'm not a picky eater, so I was fine with the breast meat. I loved the dark meat, and I loved the flavoring that resulted.

My wife asked me how I made the dish because she wants to use it because of its simplicity.

I'd like to thank MizEmerillLagasse for sharing her recipe. Four years later it's still a hit!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yummy1yummy January 17, 2012
Whole Crock Pot Chicken