10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used boneless pork loin chops and increased the wine to 2 cups. Mouthwatering good!!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennismom80 January 20, 2003

Wow! This was excellent, plate-licking good. I made the recipe as it is written with only one change; I thickened the gravy a bit at the end with a mixture of arrowroot and water. You could use flour or cornstarch to thicken instead. I used cheap grocery store white cooking wine and that was fine. Next time I'll also lower the salt to 1/2 tsp. I have set this recipe into my "company recipe" file.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mosscom September 29, 2002

Okay, I pulled a mad scientist because I had 2.5 lbs of leftover pork roast to use up after making Bergy's Easy Mexican Pozole #10893 and because I didn't have enough time to crock-it per Yooper's To Die For Crock Pot Roast #27208! I used Yooper's seasoning rub, and GinnyP, I followed your directions steps 2-8, sliced thinly and froze it with the sauce. It came out SO JUICY! Very yummy with buttered egg noodles and green beans. The wine was just what I wanted instead of the normal tomato-roast sauce. Thanks, GinnyP!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sidMILB February 11, 2004

I added mushrooms and onions to the pan drippings prior to adding sour cream. It made for a yummy sauce for over noodles. Thank you for this recipe. Pork roast was moist and tender. Even with my over-cooked pork stylings ( I just can't do rare pork). Left overs were gobbled up by my teenaged son that night.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mollypie December 22, 2012

This was a really nice different roast. The sauce was tangier than I would like, and that was even BEFORE I added the sour cream. I served the roast sliced over parslied spatzle and with the sauce drizzled over. I think next time I make it I will try half chicken broth for part of the wine to see if it cuts back on the tanginess a hair. But I will make it again for sure. I also served this with oven roasted baby carrots which worked out well visually and for the palate.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. January 24, 2010

I thought this was excellent. The sauce was so tasty. I used light sour cream and I could not tell the difference.(usually I can tell the differencs. Excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tlhuff2416 January 04, 2007

I rate this a five, dh rates it a four. I had a little over a two pound roast. Added extra wine..about 1 1/2 cups. The rub in really made the roast. I added sage and garlic powder. Will keep this on my to make again. Very moist and tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise in NH February 26, 2006

Oh my! What a wonderful, out of this world taste! I did add a little cornstarch because the sauce was too thin for us without it. Will be doing again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rjhoward1211 February 08, 2005

I made this recipe with a boneless pork loin roast.I did use a oven proof skillet,and I think that helps a lot with the flavor. I used the 1/2 cup of sour cream,and unlike others I didn't have to thicken the sauce. I thought it was perfectYour recipe is a keeper Ginny.Thanks for sharing:0)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 920429 November 29, 2004

Thanks soooo much for posting this. I just finished doing the dishes after dinner, and just couldn't wait to write my review. didn't change a thing, and now that i've had it, I wouldn't change it anyhow. Thanks again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KIM WILSON August 11, 2004
White Wine Pork Roast