60 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used this to make cupcakes for a decorated cupcake tree for a baby shower and was tickled with the results. The extra flour created a firmer top which made it far easier to work with and decorate. Even better, the inside was still moist and tender and tasty. Baking time for the cupcakes was 18-19 minutes. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni April 13, 2007

My family really like this one. No fake vanilla taste to this cakemix recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
strong coffee August 05, 2005

Wonderful!! Used this to make a cassata cake for my birthday. I will say, I doubled the recipe and I'm glad I did. I was having a large party plus cutting each layer in half to add filling in between. The layers would have been too thin without doubling the recipe (made in 9 inch pans) Might have been ok if I was just making a simple cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Francine88 March 20, 2013

I am so glad my friend directed me to this recipe--it is perfect, and receives rave reviews from family and friends.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sassykat1213 November 10, 2012

This recipe worked fantastic for my first trial test run on wedding cake ideas for my sisters wedding cake! Super easy and very tasty. I used egg whites. It was very easy to work with and was not too crumbly at all, stayed together beautifully. Thanks for posting this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
livie July 19, 2012

Used this for an 8 year old neighbors birthday cake... kids and moms said it was the best cake they'd ever had. That's quite a statement, but it was unanimous! I haven't tried it, but I'm making cupcakes for SuperBowl (blue cake/red frosting!) so I will get to try them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tia Mouse February 02, 2012

We loved the flavor of this cake; delicious even without any sort of icing! It really held up well to handling and was moist without being too mushy. I used a French Vanilla cake mix as that was what was on hand; really tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WhoKnew? August 27, 2011

I know you don't need any more positive reviews, but I just have to let you know how thankful I am for this recipe. It is fabulous!! I used it to make wedding cupcakes for my cousins wedding, and they were SO good! Ha ha I even ate a few without any frosting, and they were still excellent. They were moist, and the texture was just perfect. I did use vanilla instead of almond, and I baked the cupcakes for about 20 minutes. Thank you for such a great recipe! I will use it time and time again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lnz August 25, 2011

Delicious cake! Very nice crumb and texture. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hazeleyes May 28, 2011

This cake is delicious! Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef belle taine February 11, 2011
White Wedding Cake