60 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This has become my standard white cake when I decorate a cake. I typically double the recipe because I like a nice tall cake for presentation. The texture is nice and it holds up well to decorating. I typically use vanilla extract, I found the almond extract to be a little much. I've tried it with whole eggs and just egg whites, and to be honest I don't know which one I like best, it works well either way. Thank you for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mgw68 March 26, 2009

I made this recipe a number of times with excellent results. This time however, I wanted to make a Pineapple Coconut cake so rather than water I used pineapple coconut juice with rum extract instead of almond. WOW! Unbelievable. I used the "No Cook" 7 minute frosting from Zaar and made a simple pineapple filling. My ML loved her birthday cake! SECOND REVIEW - I had to let everyone know that this method works great with chocolate too! I like to fill alot of my cakes and using premeasure box mixes works for my lifestyle, but they tasted like a box mix. They won't now!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MacChef August 30, 2007

This is a good recipe. I'm a little torn on how I feel about it. I liked it but it was not exactly what I was looking for this go around. I would not recommend it for anyone looking to carve a cake. Even after I froze the cake, it was still crumbling as I was carving. I thought the flavor needed a bit more power so I added a few different extracts and more then the suggested amount. I did two sets of cakes, the first one I made the mistake of using cake flour, and I highly recommend not using any substitutes on the flour. The second cakes I made exactly as directed. The one I made as directed came out perfect, fluffy and moist. Like I said though, it's not as dense as I was looking for. So I may toy around with this a bit more. Thanks so much for posting! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Proud Veteran's wife September 14, 2011

Delicious and easy prep work:) I used this recipe to make a double layer PACMAN birthday cake for my brother. I added yellow food coloring, used 3 whole eggs, and used the Flour Frosting recipe. Next time I will use parchment paper b/c the cake did not remove cleanly from the bottom. I made it on Monday, wrapped it in plastic wrap and stored it in the refrigerator. Frosted it on Wednesday and served it on Thursday night. The cake was still fresh and the frosting stayed creamy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
onwisc95 April 16, 2010

Great! I was looking for a white cake that was a little more firm (not as airy) as a box mix for decorating. This fit the bill perfectly. I used all three whole eggs and less water as suggested.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bratty March 22, 2010

This was great! Really moist and it did taste just like a wedding cake! Update: I tried the version last night using the 3 whole eggs, and decreased water amount - YIKES! It was not a pleasant experience. The original recipe is the way to go!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bug'sMom October 28, 2009

I used this recipe for my cousin's Sweet Sixteen birthday cake. She requested a vanilla cake, so that was the only ingredient I substituted. The cake was so easy to decorate and everyone thought I made it from scratch! I will never try another cake recipe again. Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvbakn May 28, 2009

Fixed this for my great grandmother's birthday, as she requested white cake with chocolate frosting. Everyone LOVED it. The almond extract really adds a little something extra to it. Very moist, easy to frost, and tasty! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SaraEMiller June 09, 2008

This cake is wonderful and yummy and will be the white cake i make forever! I tried 3 white cake recipes before this one and kept getting the disapointing "cornbread" taste. Finally on the day before an important coworkers birthday I tried this one. The cake is light and fluffy while also silky as well! I used the same icing as the previous review - Decorator's Buttercream #95416 and was absolutely perfect. Served the cake at work and everyone raved. People came from way across the building and begged for a piece too. THANKS!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chloe.sarno October 17, 2007

I ended up making this cake twice==once with 1/4 cup of oil and once with 1 Tbs of oil. The 1 Tbs of oil (to me) gave a much better cake--the 1/4 cup of oil was much too moist and the cake didn't hold together well for me. The flavor, however, is excellent! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dwynnie May 05, 2007
White Wedding Cake