24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We are trying to eat healthier and have less meat, so I made this with half smoked tofu (in stuff I swear it's good) and low fat turkey. I also used just a splash of cream and 1% milk. The

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anderson.sara March 08, 2014

I love this gravy. The ultimate breakfast comfort food. I used ground turkey since that is all I had. I used a cream. I couldn't use pepper due to allergies in the family, so I used some garlic powder and it was delicious! I added a wonderful savory flavor to the gravy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coconut-water August 01, 2013

This is a very good gravy and biscuit recipe. I used sausage and also a little bit of cream (had to use it up) and it was rich rich rich. We loved it though. I will make again, as we couldn't get enough of it. Great flavor and it cooked up so nicely. Thank you for sharing this with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour August 20, 2011

Very good! It thickens nicely, although the stirring is time-consuming! I would give it 5 stars but I think it lacks flavor as written. Besides salt and pepper, I added smoked paprika. That was good, but it still needed more of something... I guess I could have been heavier on the salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn December 31, 2010

Really good with some Cajun spice. Used sausage. Not so good on the figure 2 days before Christmas!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IndyEater December 23, 2010

I made this for my husband using sausage, he gobbled it up big time! He's a Georgia boy so he loves biscuits and sausage gravy and with the half and half it made it just right. Thanks! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carolinerenee September 09, 2010

I made this tonight for our supper. Since you mentioned we could use either ground beef or sausage, I decided to split the difference and use 1/2 of each. It was good, but next time I would like to try it totally with sausage and serve it for breakfast. I didn't have any half and half, so I used whole milk. Instead of canned biscuits I made Buttermilk Biscuits. My husband scarfed his down and told me how good it was. My oldest son was hesitant to try it, but after nibbling a bite, he liked it. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelles3boys February 22, 2010

I guess I am white trash too, because this is FANTASTIC! It's rich and comforting. My daughter did not want to eat this stating she did not like sausage gravy and biscuits. I said "Sweetie, you haven't tried THIS recipe yet". Now my daughter never eats too much, but she had SECONDS!!! If that alone does not testify to the flavor of this recipe then nothing does to me. We toasted the biscuits, which really added a nice counter balance to the rich creamy gravy. Potsie, this is going to be made ALOT here over the winter and beyond. Thanks for sharing your sisters favorite recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. December 09, 2009

Very good and very rich. Made it just as written.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 December 08, 2009

The white trash sure knew how to cook! This stuff is soooo good. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mountainbaby October 01, 2009
White Trash Hamburger Gravy and Breakfast Biscuits