Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / White Trash Hamburger Gravy and Breakfast Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    White Trash Hamburger Gravy and Breakfast Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on March 08, 2014

      We are trying to eat healthier and have less meat, so I made this with half smoked tofu (in stuff I swear it's good) and low fat turkey. I also used just a splash of cream and 1% milk. The

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2013

      I love this gravy. The ultimate breakfast comfort food. I used ground turkey since that is all I had. I used a cream. I couldn't use pepper due to allergies in the family, so I used some garlic powder and it was delicious! I added a wonderful savory flavor to the gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2011

      This is a very good gravy and biscuit recipe. I used sausage and also a little bit of cream (had to use it up) and it was rich rich rich. We loved it though. I will make again, as we couldn't get enough of it. Great flavor and it cooked up so nicely. Thank you for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      Very good! It thickens nicely, although the stirring is time-consuming! I would give it 5 stars but I think it lacks flavor as written. Besides salt and pepper, I added smoked paprika. That was good, but it still needed more of something... I guess I could have been heavier on the salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      Really good with some Cajun spice. Used sausage. Not so good on the figure 2 days before Christmas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2010

      I made this for my husband using sausage, he gobbled it up big time! He's a Georgia boy so he loves biscuits and sausage gravy and with the half and half it made it just right. Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      I made this tonight for our supper. Since you mentioned we could use either ground beef or sausage, I decided to split the difference and use 1/2 of each. It was good, but next time I would like to try it totally with sausage and serve it for breakfast. I didn't have any half and half, so I used whole milk. Instead of canned biscuits I made Buttermilk Biscuits. My husband scarfed his down and told me how good it was. My oldest son was hesitant to try it, but after nibbling a bite, he liked it. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      I guess I am white trash too, because this is FANTASTIC! It's rich and comforting. My daughter did not want to eat this stating she did not like sausage gravy and biscuits. I said "Sweetie, you haven't tried THIS recipe yet". Now my daughter never eats too much, but she had SECONDS!!! If that alone does not testify to the flavor of this recipe then nothing does to me. We toasted the biscuits, which really added a nice counter balance to the rich creamy gravy. Potsie, this is going to be made ALOT here over the winter and beyond. Thanks for sharing your sisters favorite recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      Very good and very rich. Made it just as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      The white trash sure knew how to cook! This stuff is soooo good. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      I love love love me some good old fashioned white trash SOS hamburger gravy! This excellent! If you ever want to switch it up, use cream of mushroom soup to this! There you go again Potscrubber, taking me back to my white trash roots!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      Tasty. I used nonfat milk in place of whole milk and half-and-half cream (makes it a bit healthier). I had to add a little more flour to thicken it up. Paired it with my homemade biscuits. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      This is VERY good, we have had it over toast, and baked potatos and it is just soooo flavorful! We will be using this again and again. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      So tasty! Ate over biscuits. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      "DELICIOUS" is what my Dad said after his first forkful of this great dish. The whole milk and cream really change the flavor for the better. I followed the recipe exactly but made BOTH biscuits and mashed potatoes and had peas as the side dish. Everyone ate a different combo - gravy on the potatoes, biscuits on the side, gravy on both, etc. My 1-year old twin granddaughters Alanna and Brenna LOVED the Hamburger Gravy, mashed potatoes and peas all mixed together. This was PURE comfort food for my Dad and everyone else loved it too! Thanks again Potsie for another great (and easy) recipe that we will have often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      I made this for my DH and he wanted it over mashed potatoes, so whatcha gonna do? He enjoyed it and said next time he would eat it over biscuits. Thanks Potsie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      My Gosh! I know as a kid I probably ate my weight in this stuff over the course of every month. This was always a favorite at our house. Of course, the bicuits were homemade, but Oh, Oh, what a memory. I still make it from time to time....even for breakfast! It's much like the renowned sausage gravy without all the spices. This is wonderful comfort food, especially during the winter! Thanks for sharing, and the memories it brought back. This also takes very well to freezing, so when I make it, I'm sure to prepare enough for leftovers. I just spoon portions into cheapo zip sandwich bags, squeeze out all the air, and lay flat in the freezer til frozen, then put all my little baggies of gravy into a larger heavy duty zip bag, label, and toss back into the freezer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2007

      Absolute comfort food. This really, really hit the spot today!!! Next time I need to make a double batch. I wish I could give you more stars for this, Potsie! This means I'm white trash, too - right?? *smooch*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      I think we are related! My mother & grandma made this often when I was growing up. This is one of those dishes that we never had a recipe, didn't even think of writing one. It was just a regular staple at our house. Sometimes we used canned biscuits, sometimes we would toast white bread (store bought of course, we would not think of wasting grandma's homemade white bread for this stuff!). Thanks for the memories Potsie, I'll be making this again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2007

      I have also made this one for years- serve on biscuits, mashed potatoes or rice. YUMMY! I have also made it with ground turkey or spicy sausage. DH and I love cajun food so I tend to add a bit of cajun seasoning to it and sometimes onion and white wine if I'm feeling feisty! :) Always a hit!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for White Trash Hamburger Gravy and Breakfast Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (140 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 347.2
     
    Calories from Fat 238
    68%
    Total Fat 26.5 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 14.5 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 89.4 mg
    29%
    Sodium 190.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    18%
    Protein 15.2 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes