89 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made this cake several times and my recipe was actually the same as this one. I love the flavor of this cake with the hint of almond extract. I failed to read the instructions on the icing and let my cake completely cool. Then I mixed my frosting in a bowl with the margarine cold, it turned great that way but next time I try and remember to read ALL of the instructions before hand :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
True Texas March 03, 2008

incredible,just make exact recipe given.Almost too good to be sooo easy,I intend to make a sheet,freeze, to be cut into squares as needed for shortcake.AHHH.Kudos to Ratherbe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hera February 24, 2008

Just made this recipe this morning. I was a little hesitant about the directions stating to stir the rest of the ingredients in. So, I did just that . . . stirred using a wooden spoon until the batter appeared smooth. I then distributed the batter into 12 muffin liners to make cupcakes (I halved the recipe). I was very disappointed to see the cupcakes did not rise very high or evenly. The tops of the cupcakes were dimpled, although they tasted quite good. I was planning on serving these for my daughter's 1st birthday party tonight, but was so disappointed in the appearance of the cupcakes that I decided to try baking another batch. This time I beat the egg with my electric beaters first, and then beat all the ingredients together until they were very smooth. Baked again and the results were . . . the same! No difference. Again, though they taste good, filling the cupcake paper 2/3 full the cake did not even rise to the top of the paper. I guess I'll have to use lots of icing to beautify these! I like the taste, but wish they were a bit lighter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Ducky February 22, 2008

I have been looking for a true white cake, and this was it! Even my hub's Grandma was blown away by the taste of this!!!! Thank you so much!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noodleme20 November 23, 2007

My family thought this was ok, it was heavy and tasted predominantly like butter but it wasn't bad. I would make it again but I can't say I'd make it often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarahcw80 November 11, 2007

This recipe was pretty good. The texture thing that was mentioned earlier was just an issue of firmness, I think. I just made the cake today and enjoyed a piece after dinner. Many reviews mentioned that it gets better the longer it sits, so hopefully it will be a little moister tomorrow. The almond was a little much, so the next time I make it I will probably decrease the amount, but that is just personal preference. The cake overall was pretty easy to make. I had never boiled butter and water together to make a cake, so was hesitant, but everything went off without a miss. Thank you for the recipe ratherbeswimmin'!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FACS Teacher October 08, 2007

This is a family favorite that is often requested...seems we just can't get enough! The last time I made this, I discovered that I had no sour cream, so I replaced it with 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt & decreased the sugar by about 1/2 cup. Worked like a charm and no one could tell the difference! We're not fans of overly sweet icing, so I always 1/2 the frosting ingredients--there's always plenty to go around. Many thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jug O'Mud September 10, 2007

I adore white cake with chocolate frosting. I made the cake portion of this recipe using some others recommendations and frosted with my chocolate frosting. OMG - it was awesome! The cake is light and the almond extract was perfect. Thank you for posting an awesome recipe that I will make again and again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ August 26, 2007

I made this cake and took it to work. I must say I'm not a big fan of almond, but this cake was delicious! It was easy, fairly quick, and baked really nicely. Really nice flavour, and moist! I used 4 c powdered sugar and I did find that the icing was a bit thick, a little hard to spread but I got it done. I sprinkled the walnuts on top and just pressed them in a bit so they'd stay. Many many compliments from work, people loved it! Like someone else said, especially the men! I will make this again, exactly how it is but with 4 c powdered sugar again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iglowforyou August 24, 2007

I made this cake for a customer who was having a champagne party. I did double the recipe in order to make a 1/2 sheet cake. I only used 1/2 teaspoon of almond because everyone is not a huge fan of almond, myself included. I added 1/2 teaspoon of butter flavoring and one teaspoon vanilla flavoring. The cake tasted o.k., if my customer says different I will let you know. I used Butter cream frosting #155251. The verdict is in and they said they loved the cake. She said she could barely get a slice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Real Cake Baker June 10, 2007
White Texas Sheet Cake