89 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow this cake is delicious!! We just used the cake part and not the frosting as my the box cake my husband made tasted awful and had all the ingredients for this cake on hand. What a lifesaver and well worth the extra work it took over a box!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dying2Live November 20, 2011

I miss read the method and added the wet ingredients to the dry and than beat it. Despite this, it turned out very moist, smooth, rich and dense, similar to a mud cake, nothing like a sponge. I only used 1 cup of sugar and upped the flour by 1/2 cup. I really enjoyed the almond essence and think this would be easily adapted for any essence. Used my own frosting. Thanks for posting this hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingpompom July 04, 2011

To me this resembled the taste of corn bread muffins without the cornmeal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pro home chef March 24, 2011

This cake came out so well, that my friend wants me to make her son's wedding cake using this recipe.

I made a couple of changes though to cut the sugar factor. I made a topping out of real whipped cream instead of frosting with 1-2 tbs of sugar and 1tbs of vanilla. I then covered it in coconut. On the side I made a beautiful fresh peach strawberry compote using water, a little corn starch, and very little sugar. It was tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mksuperstar March 14, 2011

This cake is delicious! It was very easy to put together and very moist and yummy! The frosting was pretty hard/stiff and I didn't think it would cover the entire cake, but it did. It was slightly difficult to spread but not too bad. I might add a little bit more milk next time. I did not use walnuts in the topping since my kids don't like them. This was loved by all. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5hungrykids June 07, 2010

Well I was slightly sceptical when I first read this recipe but this is an amazing cake! I prefer vanilla instead of almond extract, and slightly less sugar. :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rasully May 08, 2010

I wish that I had put two teaspoons of almond extract in the cake batter. I was worried, because some one had mentioned that the almond flavor was too strong, but it wasn't overly strong at all. I used McCormick Pure Almond Extract... maybe they used a different brand. I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract to the frosting as well as 1/4 tsp. of salt. This cake tastes even better the second day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri Lou April 09, 2010

This was delicious! My only complaint is that it was really thin so I had to make two batches just to make a 2" cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baking Bunny March 10, 2010

This is so good! I've eaten this cake once and craved it ever since... this recipe was exactly what I had remembered. SO great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lemmonhead896 January 06, 2010

This is really good. I've made chocolate Texas sheet cakes for years so this was a nice change. The almond extract flavor was a little different to my taste but not bad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
choco chip December 11, 2009
White Texas Sheet Cake