Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    White Texas Sheet Cake

    Average Rating:

    88 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 88

    Sort by:

    • on February 24, 2008

      incredible,just make exact recipe given.Almost too good to be sooo easy,I intend to make a sheet,freeze, to be cut into squares as needed for shortcake.AHHH.Kudos to Ratherbe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      Just made this recipe this morning. I was a little hesitant about the directions stating to stir the rest of the ingredients in. So, I did just that . . . stirred using a wooden spoon until the batter appeared smooth. I then distributed the batter into 12 muffin liners to make cupcakes (I halved the recipe). I was very disappointed to see the cupcakes did not rise very high or evenly. The tops of the cupcakes were dimpled, although they tasted quite good. I was planning on serving these for my daughter's 1st birthday party tonight, but was so disappointed in the appearance of the cupcakes that I decided to try baking another batch. This time I beat the egg with my electric beaters first, and then beat all the ingredients together until they were very smooth. Baked again and the results were . . . the same! No difference. Again, though they taste good, filling the cupcake paper 2/3 full the cake did not even rise to the top of the paper. I guess I'll have to use lots of icing to beautify these! I like the taste, but wish they were a bit lighter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      I have been looking for a true white cake, and this was it! Even my hub's Grandma was blown away by the taste of this!!!! Thank you so much!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      My family thought this was ok, it was heavy and tasted predominantly like butter but it wasn't bad. I would make it again but I can't say I'd make it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      This recipe was pretty good. The texture thing that was mentioned earlier was just an issue of firmness, I think. I just made the cake today and enjoyed a piece after dinner. Many reviews mentioned that it gets better the longer it sits, so hopefully it will be a little moister tomorrow. The almond was a little much, so the next time I make it I will probably decrease the amount, but that is just personal preference. The cake overall was pretty easy to make. I had never boiled butter and water together to make a cake, so was hesitant, but everything went off without a miss. Thank you for the recipe ratherbeswimmin'!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      This is a family favorite that is often requested...seems we just can't get enough! The last time I made this, I discovered that I had no sour cream, so I replaced it with 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt & decreased the sugar by about 1/2 cup. Worked like a charm and no one could tell the difference! We're not fans of overly sweet icing, so I always 1/2 the frosting ingredients--there's always plenty to go around. Many thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      I adore white cake with chocolate frosting. I made the cake portion of this recipe using some others recommendations and frosted with my chocolate frosting. OMG - it was awesome! The cake is light and the almond extract was perfect. Thank you for posting an awesome recipe that I will make again and again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      I made this cake and took it to work. I must say I'm not a big fan of almond, but this cake was delicious! It was easy, fairly quick, and baked really nicely. Really nice flavour, and moist! I used 4 c powdered sugar and I did find that the icing was a bit thick, a little hard to spread but I got it done. I sprinkled the walnuts on top and just pressed them in a bit so they'd stay. Many many compliments from work, people loved it! Like someone else said, especially the men! I will make this again, exactly how it is but with 4 c powdered sugar again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      I made this cake for a customer who was having a champagne party. I did double the recipe in order to make a 1/2 sheet cake. I only used 1/2 teaspoon of almond because everyone is not a huge fan of almond, myself included. I added 1/2 teaspoon of butter flavoring and one teaspoon vanilla flavoring. The cake tasted o.k., if my customer says different I will let you know. I used Butter cream frosting #155251. The verdict is in and they said they loved the cake. She said she could barely get a slice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      WOW! What a fantastic cake! It was very easy to make and we all really enjoyed it. I love the almond flavor! Thanks! I can't wait to make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2007

      This rich golden yellow cake was much better after one day as the flavours mellowed, so take the time to prepare in advance.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

    • on March 03, 2007

      I really like having this alternative to take to functions along with the traditional chocolate texas sheet cake.It's nice and moist too. love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      Another winner Nurse Di. I didn't serve warm but it still was gobbled right up. The almond extract makes this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      There isn't one thing that I disliked about this cake, it is absolutely wonderful. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      What is it about almond flavor that just sends men over the moon? Every man in my house absolutely loved this cake. I did too, but the men were pushing each other away from the pan. Thanks, I will make this often, it was just to easy and such a crowd pleaser. I sprinkled red and green sugar over the icing to give it a festive look although I did cut down on the amount of extract that I put into the icing. A+ recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      I LOVED the frosting but the cake wasn't what I expected. The cake came out too flat...perhaps the pan size indicated in the recipe was too large? The texture of the cake was unusual.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      I've made this many times and forgot to review it, but it deserves more than five stars like many other reviewers have said. We love the almond flavoring and this cake gets even better-tasting the next day so I always make it a day ahead of time if I'm taking it to a potluck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      This cake was fabulous!! I've never made a cake from scratch before. Made it for my husband and another couple and it was so rich that we could only eat one piece. But this was an excellent cake....maybe next time I will just put the almond extract in either the frosting or in the cake, not both. It was a different taste though we enjoyed it! Thanks Nurse Di!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2006

      Very, very good. Very rich too. Thank you for a new version of the Texas Sheet Cake. Instead of sour cream I used 1/2 cup milk soured with 1 TB of vinegar. Worked great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for White Texas Sheet Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (108 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 511.7
     
    Calories from Fat 219
    42%
    Total Fat 24.3 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 12.5 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 73.2 mg
    24%
    Sodium 394.3 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.0 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 58.5 g
    234%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites