89 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum!! Love almond extract!! Thank you for sharing. Almond extract makes things much richer tasting without adding more fat!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
db74105 March 07, 2009

I'm sorry, but I didn't enjoy this at all. I made it exactly as written and the cake turned out flat, greasy, and bland. It didn't taste like cake to me at all and, like another reviewer mentioned, it had a very strange texture. Overall, it kind of reminded me of a really greasy cornmeal muffin. I hate to waste food - especially cake! - but I don't want a second piece and I'm too embarrassed to let anyone else eat it. :(

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly8023 April 29, 2006

The wonderful marzipan flavor improves after a day so I always make this a day ahead. I use Greek yogurt instead of sour cream with no change in flavor or texture, and sometimes I've swirled raspberry jam with the frosting for extra WOW. This recipe is a keeper fer shure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Ma September 04, 2014

This is the BEST cake! I have made this many times following the instructions as written. However, this Christmas season I have made it twice for potlucks. I replaced the almond flavoring with peppermint extract and have replaced the nuts with crushed candy canes. After crushing the candy canes I took the larger pieces and mixed that in the frosting. The remainding "dust" I just sprinkled over the top of the frosting. It was very pretty, gave it a little sparkle.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmileyJannie December 18, 2013

Eek!! Can't believe I forgot to rate this!! I've made this many times in the past year & never a crumb left!! I've mainly made it for potlucks & everyone raves about the moistness & almond taste.Thanks for posting.. it's one of my standby recipes now!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KristinB October 23, 2013

Awesome cake. I've taken this to work several times and it's always a hit. Everyone loves it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ala200269 August 21, 2013

Really great almond flavor. I just made half the frosting . I think it may have been too sweet for us if I had made a whole batch. The cake turned out nice and moist with a really nice texture. I think I'd like to try making it using vanilla or coconut extract sometime. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview August 01, 2013

I made this into a pineapple cake. Just cook as instructed. When cooled, poke holes in it and pour abt 1/2c pineapple juice over it. Then fill with pineapple cake filling and frost. I've had multiple cake orders for this in the last week.

Or you can pour a small can of crushed pineapples (with juice) over the cake and top with whip cream and chopped nuts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DMSO February 09, 2013

This cake was awesome! I personally think it was as good as my wedding cake! I made it for my daughter's birthday party this past weekend and received many compliments on it. I loved the almond flavoring and I made it as a double layer cake. I omitted the walnuts since it was for children. The only difficulty was spreading the icing. It dries quickly so I can see the need for spreading it on the warm cake. I kept sprinkling water on it and stirring to keep it easy to spread but it was still quite a bit of work . All in all, an awesome tasting cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5stringjg January 31, 2013
White Texas Sheet Cake