Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    White Texas Sheet Cake

    Average Rating:

    88 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 88

    Sort by:

    • on July 04, 2011

      I miss read the method and added the wet ingredients to the dry and than beat it. Despite this, it turned out very moist, smooth, rich and dense, similar to a mud cake, nothing like a sponge. I only used 1 cup of sugar and upped the flour by 1/2 cup. I really enjoyed the almond essence and think this would be easily adapted for any essence. Used my own frosting. Thanks for posting this hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2011

      To me this resembled the taste of corn bread muffins without the cornmeal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      This cake came out so well, that my friend wants me to make her son's wedding cake using this recipe.

      I made a couple of changes though to cut the sugar factor. I made a topping out of real whipped cream instead of frosting with 1-2 tbs of sugar and 1tbs of vanilla. I then covered it in coconut. On the side I made a beautiful fresh peach strawberry compote using water, a little corn starch, and very little sugar. It was tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      This cake is delicious! It was very easy to put together and very moist and yummy! The frosting was pretty hard/stiff and I didn't think it would cover the entire cake, but it did. It was slightly difficult to spread but not too bad. I might add a little bit more milk next time. I did not use walnuts in the topping since my kids don't like them. This was loved by all. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      Well I was slightly sceptical when I first read this recipe but this is an amazing cake! I prefer vanilla instead of almond extract, and slightly less sugar. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      I wish that I had put two teaspoons of almond extract in the cake batter. I was worried, because some one had mentioned that the almond flavor was too strong, but it wasn't overly strong at all. I used McCormick Pure Almond Extract... maybe they used a different brand. I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract to the frosting as well as 1/4 tsp. of salt. This cake tastes even better the second day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      This was delicious! My only complaint is that it was really thin so I had to make two batches just to make a 2" cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      This is so good! I've eaten this cake once and craved it ever since... this recipe was exactly what I had remembered. SO great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      This is really good. I've made chocolate Texas sheet cakes for years so this was a nice change. The almond extract flavor was a little different to my taste but not bad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      This cake was so easy to make, and so moist and delicious! I never seem to have sour cream (or to be able to plan ahead) so I usually substitute full fat yogurt and it is still wonderful. The frosting compliments it well, but it is also good plain with a sprinkle of powdered sugar or as a base for strawberry shortcake. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      So good! I made it for a baby shower and got lots of compliments. I'll be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      I made this for a friend's birthday. his dad said it was the best cake he had ever eaten! everyone else loved it too. i will make this again (and again!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      I love this recipe, I now use this as a base for anything that I need a cake mix for It is very versatile and makes my Strawberry Cake go from good to AWESEOME! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      My family loved this especially my teen boys. I sprinkled nuts on half since my daughter does not like them. Very moist!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      This was a very good cake. I do think that next time I make it I will either cut back on the almond extract or sub vanilla. Sometimes I find almond extract to be very potent. The texture of the cake was great and the icing was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      My mother is addicted to the chocolate sheet cake but the white is just more awesome. I made it just as directed and it was great. I also changed the extracts like coconut cake and chocolate icing . Orange cake vanilla icing. Today I am trying rootbeer cake and vanilla icing. Thank-you so much from the family where chocolate is the best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      Buttery, almondy heaven! This is a rich cake and just perfect to match with your favorite frosting. I used cream cheese frosting (store bought...I was in a hurry!) and sprinkled that with toasted coconut flakes...YUMMY! The cake is so good! Be sure to make it in a 'sheet cake' pan. It is a dense flat cake...that is what it is supposed to look like. I might...MIGHT try taking to butter amount down a little next time I make this. Thanks for posting this recipe!! (My house smelled like heaven as well!!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      Oh my goodness. This is the BEST cake I have ever made. The flavor was amazing. My guests raved about the wonderful almond flavor and how moist the cake was. Thank you - this will be a recipe I use frequently.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      Easy and Fast... Great recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      I've made this cake several times and my recipe was actually the same as this one. I love the flavor of this cake with the hint of almond extract. I failed to read the instructions on the icing and let my cake completely cool. Then I mixed my frosting in a bowl with the margarine cold, it turned great that way but next time I try and remember to read ALL of the instructions before hand :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for White Texas Sheet Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (108 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 511.7
     
    Calories from Fat 219
    42%
    Total Fat 24.3 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 12.5 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 73.2 mg
    24%
    Sodium 394.3 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.0 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 58.5 g
    234%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites