89 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this and served it at baby shower. It was so yummmmmmmmy. Rich and moist. The icing is very sweet. The almond flavoring is a subtle nice touch. All the ladies commented that it tasted delicious. Many wanted the recipe. Thanks for a great recipe.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunflower August 05, 2002

This is an incredible cake! I made a few changes after making this very popular cake 3 times in 2 weeks, and the changes made it even better. I added an extra half cup of flour, reduced the sugar by a half cup, and added a teaspoon of baking powder. These changes make the cake lighter without loosing any taste.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mbn April 24, 2003

This cake buckled the knees of all the men in my house. It's about half gone between the three of them already. Awesome - deserves more than 5 stars.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bogey'sMom January 05, 2003

60 odd good reviews can't be wrong. I doubled the recipe and made a big double decker cake. As everyone else said, I have never made a cake that way, but it absolutely works and here we are 3 days later and it's still as moist as the day it was baked, better even. I love the almond flavour. I had some troubles icing it, I don't know if the cake was still too warm or not. I think next time I'll just make sure both the icing and the cake are at room temp. I followed the advice in someone elses's review and added orange zest to the cake - superb, and o.j. to the icing. I also added an extra 1/2 cup of flour and some baking powder as was suggested by a reviewer. This is a breeze to whip up - just watch your oven, mine was quite burnt around the edges with the oven at 375. But I cut those off and had a nice rectangular cake. I'm sure this will be a regular birthday party offering. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner October 27, 2009

Yum! This is a really tasty cake! I was a bit skeptical about the directions. I melted the butter with the water, and used my KitcheAid to beat everything except the flour (and butter), when the butter was cooled off a bit (I was afraid of cooking the eggs) I mixed it with everything else and finally added the flour. I also added an extra 1/2+ cup flour because the batter seemed too fluid for the rainbow cupcakes I made. This will be my go to recipe for cakes from now on!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Herb-Cat May 22, 2009

To the lady who tried to make these into cupcakes: there is no leavening agent in this cake. Traditionally, Texas Sheet Cakes are dense and short... not for "pretty" cakes. That is why they're frosted and served out of the pan!!! I think this recipe is amaaaazing!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily C March 13, 2008

This cake had a VERY weird texture.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tiriola July 25, 2005

We all thought this cake was worth much more than 5 stars. The texture was very soft and tender. The delicate almond flavoring was scrumptious and the rich sweet frosting just put it over the top. I made this for Christmas but it would be good for any special occasion. Thank you so much.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annalisa Dixson January 03, 2003

It was very good but wasn't very fluffy. I would make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alisha95 July 03, 2013

I am one of those unfortunate people who had it turn out with a strange texture... I thought the batter had a weird consistancy for a cake, but I used it anyway... it's tough and "eggy." My boyfriend can eat it, but I cant. it makes me want to retch.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
corelila May 24, 2012
White Texas Sheet Cake