Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    White Texas Sheet Cake

    Average Rating:

    87 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 87

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2002

      I made this and served it at baby shower. It was so yummmmmmmmy. Rich and moist. The icing is very sweet. The almond flavoring is a subtle nice touch. All the ladies commented that it tasted delicious. Many wanted the recipe. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2003

      This is an incredible cake! I made a few changes after making this very popular cake 3 times in 2 weeks, and the changes made it even better. I added an extra half cup of flour, reduced the sugar by a half cup, and added a teaspoon of baking powder. These changes make the cake lighter without loosing any taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2003

      This cake buckled the knees of all the men in my house. It's about half gone between the three of them already. Awesome - deserves more than 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      60 odd good reviews can't be wrong. I doubled the recipe and made a big double decker cake. As everyone else said, I have never made a cake that way, but it absolutely works and here we are 3 days later and it's still as moist as the day it was baked, better even. I love the almond flavour. I had some troubles icing it, I don't know if the cake was still too warm or not. I think next time I'll just make sure both the icing and the cake are at room temp. I followed the advice in someone elses's review and added orange zest to the cake - superb, and o.j. to the icing. I also added an extra 1/2 cup of flour and some baking powder as was suggested by a reviewer. This is a breeze to whip up - just watch your oven, mine was quite burnt around the edges with the oven at 375. But I cut those off and had a nice rectangular cake. I'm sure this will be a regular birthday party offering. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      Yum! This is a really tasty cake! I was a bit skeptical about the directions. I melted the butter with the water, and used my KitcheAid to beat everything except the flour (and butter), when the butter was cooled off a bit (I was afraid of cooking the eggs) I mixed it with everything else and finally added the flour. I also added an extra 1/2+ cup flour because the batter seemed too fluid for the rainbow cupcakes I made. This will be my go to recipe for cakes from now on!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2005

      This cake had a VERY weird texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2003

      We all thought this cake was worth much more than 5 stars. The texture was very soft and tender. The delicate almond flavoring was scrumptious and the rich sweet frosting just put it over the top. I made this for Christmas but it would be good for any special occasion. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2013

      It was very good but wasn't very fluffy. I would make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2012

      I am one of those unfortunate people who had it turn out with a strange texture... I thought the batter had a weird consistancy for a cake, but I used it anyway... it's tough and "eggy." My boyfriend can eat it, but I cant. it makes me want to retch.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      Yum!! Love almond extract!! Thank you for sharing. Almond extract makes things much richer tasting without adding more fat!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      To the lady who tried to make these into cupcakes: there is no leavening agent in this cake. Traditionally, Texas Sheet Cakes are dense and short... not for "pretty" cakes. That is why they're frosted and served out of the pan!!! I think this recipe is amaaaazing!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2006

      I'm sorry, but I didn't enjoy this at all. I made it exactly as written and the cake turned out flat, greasy, and bland. It didn't taste like cake to me at all and, like another reviewer mentioned, it had a very strange texture. Overall, it kind of reminded me of a really greasy cornmeal muffin. I hate to waste food - especially cake! - but I don't want a second piece and I'm too embarrassed to let anyone else eat it. :(

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2013

      This is the BEST cake! I have made this many times following the instructions as written. However, this Christmas season I have made it twice for potlucks. I replaced the almond flavoring with peppermint extract and have replaced the nuts with crushed candy canes. After crushing the candy canes I took the larger pieces and mixed that in the frosting. The remainding "dust" I just sprinkled over the top of the frosting. It was very pretty, gave it a little sparkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2013

      Eek!! Can't believe I forgot to rate this!! I've made this many times in the past year & never a crumb left!! I've mainly made it for potlucks & everyone raves about the moistness & almond taste.Thanks for posting.. it's one of my standby recipes now!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2013

      Awesome cake. I've taken this to work several times and it's always a hit. Everyone loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2013

      Really great almond flavor. I just made half the frosting . I think it may have been too sweet for us if I had made a whole batch. The cake turned out nice and moist with a really nice texture. I think I'd like to try making it using vanilla or coconut extract sometime. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2013

      I made this into a pineapple cake. Just cook as instructed. When cooled, poke holes in it and pour abt 1/2c pineapple juice over it. Then fill with pineapple cake filling and frost. I've had multiple cake orders for this in the last week.

      Or you can pour a small can of crushed pineapples (with juice) over the cake and top with whip cream and chopped nuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2013

      This cake was awesome! I personally think it was as good as my wedding cake! I made it for my daughter's birthday party this past weekend and received many compliments on it. I loved the almond flavoring and I made it as a double layer cake. I omitted the walnuts since it was for children. The only difficulty was spreading the icing. It dries quickly so I can see the need for spreading it on the warm cake. I kept sprinkling water on it and stirring to keep it easy to spread but it was still quite a bit of work . All in all, an awesome tasting cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2011

      Wow this cake is delicious!! We just used the cake part and not the frosting as my the box cake my husband made tasted awful and had all the ingredients for this cake on hand. What a lifesaver and well worth the extra work it took over a box!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2011

      I miss read the method and added the wet ingredients to the dry and than beat it. Despite this, it turned out very moist, smooth, rich and dense, similar to a mud cake, nothing like a sponge. I only used 1 cup of sugar and upped the flour by 1/2 cup. I really enjoyed the almond essence and think this would be easily adapted for any essence. Used my own frosting. Thanks for posting this hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for White Texas Sheet Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (108 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 511.7
     
    Calories from Fat 219
    42%
    Total Fat 24.3 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 12.5 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 73.2 mg
    24%
    Sodium 394.3 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.0 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 58.5 g
    234%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites