Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / White Pasta Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    White Pasta Sauce

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on August 06, 2001

      This is simple and good. Also, important to note I already had the ingredients on hand. I used scallops instead and it was just as delicious. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2014

      I put a lid on for about 6 minutes after I turned off the stove to help thicken it. I also added a about a tablespoon of flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      I was really surprised at how great this came out! It was fantastic. I added some garlic powder to flavor it up a bit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      yummy but never got thick...I think the milk must need to be tweeked as it was still liquid after boiling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      Like most of the other reviewers, I decided to add sauteed garlic, mushrooms, and chicken and chicken to this recipe for more kick. I also had a jar of "four pepper blend" laying around, so I used that instead of white pepper. I love the sauce, but you MUST add seasonings, because on its own it's terribly bland. This was my first time making pasta sauce, so I wasn't sure how many noodles I should use. I used about 1/3 of a pound of linguine and am very happy with the proportion. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      This is a good base sauce but as a sauce on it's own, I would find very boring. I dropped a little garlic in the butter, added the flour then cooked that for at LEAST a minute, to get rid of the flour taste. After the sauce was made I dropped in a few teaspoons of premade Pesto sauce from TJ's and about 1/3 to 1/2 cup of parmesan. A winner for a simple base sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      Thank you so much for an amazing recipe :) i minced some garlic and added in mushrooms. I also added to the sauce some corriander, a very tiny pinch of cinnamon, a small pinch of paprika and some seasonings. It turned out great. I also added two cubes of low fat cream cheese. But it thickened so much so i just added in more milk. It was marvellous. Thank you so much, that was really the white sauce i've been searching for :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      Tasty, simple cheese sauce. I served it over penne pasta and chicken tenders and everybody enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      Nice and easy recipe. Just needed white sauce for some mushrooms, so didn't add shrimp, but would certainly try it later. Added garlic for extra flavour. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

    • on May 31, 2008

      excellent!Today was the first time I ever made pasta at home and I tried your recipe and Im glad i did!! I also added some mushrooms and a dash of tabasco cause we love spicy food and it was just fine for the first time....i messed it up a little though...added too much flour cause i didnt see it getting thick so later on it became reaaaally thick but it still tasted perfect...thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      the sauce is pretty good. I ended up adding more than 2 tablespoons of flour in because the sauce is not thickening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      This was a pretty good pasta sauce. It was, however, missing something--even though I used salt, pepper, and Italian seasonings. Also, it took a long time to thicken--much longer than a minute or two after it reached a boil. I think that measurements for the cheese would have been a useful addition to this recipe, as I wasn't sure how much to use. I understand that the idea is to let the cook add it to taste, but I still feel that approximate measurements would be helpful. Anyway, thanks for this simple, fairly speedy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      This an awsome WHITE SAUCE recipe. It's very universal and is great for even the pickiest people. I served this with shrimp over rice. Got the thumbs up from all 5 family members. Thanks for the great recipe Janic12!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      I'm going to have to politely disagree with the other reviewers here. I made this sauce with fresh minced garlic, sans shrimp, and found it to be tasteless, heavy, and wholly unappetizing. I suggest skipping this one and seeking out a true alfredo sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2007

      This is delicious, and SO easy to make!!! I made it without the shrimp, and put it over Spaghetti noodles. My 5 picky eaters ate it all up!! Thanks for a kid friendly meal!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2006

      A wonderful alternative to an alfredo sauce. The best part is that i always have the ingredients (minus shrimp) on hand. We had this over thin spaghetti for lunch. It was a great lunch since the sauce was so easy to prepare. We added canned mushrooms, salt, pepper, parsley and basil to it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2006

      So good and soooo easy. Makes a great mid-week meal served with some vegetable bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2005

      Great sauce!!! We had it with tortellini and I also added a little cheddar cheese to the sauce and it was perfect. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe with us. Ri :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2004

      This was great! Very simple to make, quick, and very tasty! I put it over penne with some chicken and it was really good. I didn't have fresh parmesan but I used the Kraft stuff and it worked well enough...can imagine how much better if I had used fresh cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for White Pasta Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (172 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 188.1
     
    Calories from Fat 128
    68%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.9 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 44.2 mg
    14%
    Sodium 75.9 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites