Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / White Machine Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    White Machine Bread

    Average Rating:

    58 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 58

    Sort by:

    • on April 01, 2009

      Very nice bread! I'm sure I'll make it again and again. Did the dough cycle in the bread machine, let rise for 30 mins., bake @ 350 for 30 mins. Perfect loaf!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      Very tasty! I used regular flour, and didn't have dry milk, so I used about half a cup of soy milk and half a cup of water for the liquid. This bread is velvety soft, and slightly sweet. I think the butter gives it the soft texture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2013

      Perfect every single time. Followed the recipe using the dough cycle and baked in the oven at 375 for 25 minutes. Both crusty ends are gone before the bread has had a chance to cool down. My husband would have both ends if I let him. ?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2013

      I love the smell of homemade bread thru out my home! This recipe is the exact recipe for my bread machine to which the directions for has long since disappeared. I'm thankful for this recipe being made available. My whole family really enjoys homemade bread as well. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2011

      A simple basic white bread. I had to add a little extra water, as another reviewer said, 1/2 teaspoon at a time because the dough ball was a little stiff. Ended up with a nice crust and texture. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      OMG!! I have finally found the perfect white bread. From now on, this is the only recipe for white bread I will use. This was so delicious and easy to make.
      Thank you so much for posting Sandi!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2011

      Bread was pretty good. The bread was soft and tasty. Like another reviewer said...the crust was very crusty. I have a Zo bread machine...I will try it in my Breadman to see if it is better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      this is amazing! I just got my bread machine and this was the first recipe I tried and will probably be the only white bread recipe I'll use from now on. i did use the suggestion on replacing the milk powder with 1/2 cup of milk and changed the 2 tspn of yeast to 1 1/2 tspn for bread machine yeast

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      No frills just perfect delicious white bread begging for a pat of butter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      I've made this 3 times in one week, with slight variations to rising and cooking times, and my husband and I are hard-pressed to chose which version was better. We didn't have dry milk, so I substituted 1/2 cup of skim milk. I employed the French/Italian Bread cycle on my Cuisinart Bread Machine and took it out a bit early for a light crust. I also baked one loaf in my oven - but the dough was a bit wet so it was messy when I transferred it from the bread machine. This recipe is great because the bread comes out springy and soft in the middle with a crunchy crust. It goes head-to-head with the best fresh bakery bread I've had outside France. I keep meaning to take a picture, but we eat it up too fast! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      Fool proof, perfect every time. Watch when it starts mixing add water 1/2 t at a time if needed to form a soft ball.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      The taste was wonderful, the ingredients were simply, but I found it quite crumbly when I sliced it - think I will add some oil to the recipe next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      I purchased a bread machine because my grandson has horrible food allergies and cannot eat one loaf of bread on the grocery store shelf. This was the first bread I made and it was fabulous. The texture was perfect. It is soy free and egg free. Thank you so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      it was the perfect white american bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      OMG I tried this recipe tonight and it was out of this world! It was tender and delicious. I used plain white flour like someone else had done. I also didn't have dry milk and I wasn't going to spend $7 on a huge box of it so I bought dry buttermilk mix and used that. I also bought a jar of bread machine yeast and used 1 1/2 teaspoons. Put the water and butter in the bottom of the pan and the rest of the ingredients on top. Set it for 1.5 lbs and in 3 hours I had my whole house smelling like a bakery. I will certainly do this one again! Thank you Sandi for an outstanding recipe. My bread machine will be out of the cobwebs now. The box mixes were starting to taste too boxy to me and store bought bread is getting way too expensive. 10 stars for you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      This is a good bread recipe. I'm not sure where it came from either, but it's the same one my mom used to make all the time when I was growing up. She used to make up a dozen or so ziploc bags with the dry ingredients and butter measured into each one. Then, she would freeze them and whenever she wanted bread she would just grab a ziploc bag, dump it into the machine, and then add the water and yeast. I've never bothered to do it that way, but I'm sure glad my mom did. It made it easy for me to start the bread as soon as I got home from school. (That was a really long time ago!) :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      This is now our everyday bread. So easy to bake a loaf in the morning. I have frozen it successfully, and everyone wants sandwiches and toast made with it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      This bread is amazing!!! My daughter says it was nice and light. Used basic light cycle on my machine and got a wonderful loaf. I used about 1 3/4 tsp of yeast because that was all I had, but it still rose wonderfully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      I have been searching for the prefect white bread and I finally found it. The texture is wonderful. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      I made this bread y'day and it came out very good. Will make it often for breakfast. Also, am going to see if I can substitute wheat flour for all-purpose flour to be a bit healthy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for White Machine Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 432.5
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    15%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 17.1 mg
    5%
    Sodium 643.9 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 79.4 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    29%
    Protein 11.0 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes