23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Gross! RAW eggs?? That's a good way to get sick! This recipe tastes nasty. Never will make it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
comissiong January 30, 2010

I made this not even thinking of the RAW egg! And my family and I got sick, luckily my 3 year old only had a dabble so he wasn't affected. It was good in flavor but next time I'm going with a no egg recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
c.sinnott2011 September 23, 2013

Excellent...very easy, smooth, tastes good. A keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prov Lady 25 July 02, 2013

My mom raved about it... good, solid frosting recipe. Kids loved it. For me, it's 4 stars... but I'll go with what my mom and kids were saying.

I don't like the taste of shortening found in some frostings... so I used 2/3 butter and 1/3 shortening. This made for a great flavor, but not the very nice white color that would be perfect. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TanyaW October 04, 2011

excellant recipe used this to top off chocolate cupcaked filled with marshmallows. this was perfect for what I needed and after working with it.. this will always be my first choice for decorating... thank you for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WyomingMoonDust February 16, 2011

A little sweeter than I expected; based on other reviews. While mixing it looked a little dark from the vanilla, but the finished frosting was white.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shamrock & Thistle January 23, 2011

Thank you so much for posting! This frosting is delicious! Not too sweet, and so easy. The recipe is dead on for the perfect spreading consistancy. I can't recommend it enough. You will not be dissapointed-this is the best!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heatherly June 12, 2010

This is fantastic. I used butter instead of shortening, so it didn't turn out as white as probably shortening would. I loved it,though, and the consistancy is great for spreading. I used small eggs and added 1 more cup of powder sugar. I never would have thought of using eggs in a non cook frosting but I'm sure glad I tried it. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Binkie March 26, 2010

Great basic white frosting. I added an extra half cup of powdered sugar for a thicker texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WillsMommy November 04, 2009

This was an excellent white frosting! It has a great taste but it also keeps for long periods of time and doesn't fade [some frostings that I've tried seem to dissipate after time..] and is really fluffy. This is my new go-to frosting recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pat Grennan July 12, 2009
White Frosting