9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy! Once again my pickey husband who is from Mexico City liked this one. A bit spicy for kids, but we sure liked it. A keeper it is. Low fat, just my style. Reminds me a bit of Mexican Pozole.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chattycathy642 November 27, 2002

This was a really great dish, the tomatillo salsa really makes it. I used cumin seeds, more garlic, and doubled the hominy (only because they don't sell small cans where we live). This is so good, you don't need any toppings. We ate this as an entree and it served 5 - instead of 10.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito April 12, 2012

Very tasty pot of goodness. It was a bit more like a soup, even though I used twice the hominy, but that's ok by me. I did add a squeeze of lime juice, just for a little extra zip. Mine was done in about 4 1/2 hours, but I did make it in the big crockpot, probably could have made twice more in that.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte November 16, 2010

Served this at a Teacher Luncheon along with Tortillia Chips and Cheese. A BIG hit. I omitted the Hominy. The Green Tomatillia salsa adds lots of flavor! EASY and GOOD! Loved that I could take and serve in the Crock Pot too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
REALtorFOOD February 24, 2010

Wonderful!!! I made this with chicken from "Roast Crock Pot Chicken" so I skipped browning the chicken and I also added a can of white beans because I like them. This is incredibly easy and most delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugaree October 12, 2009

For taste, I'd give this 4 stars, but the simplicity bumps it to 5. For me, it came out more like a soup than a chili, but was a hit nonetheless. For the cumin, I used ground not whole since the recipe didn't specify. I also used fat-free, low sodium chicken broth. For the green chilies, I used the diced. I diced the chicken as suggested, but shredded would have more visual appeal. Will definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
willjoa October 10, 2007

We loved this, especially my husband who adores spicy food. I couldn't find hominy, so I used frozen corn. I used ground pork instead of chicken, though I more or less kept the pork in "diced" portions. Also opted for the jalepenos. This is a definite keeper. Can't wait to find the hominy. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrairieHarpy February 08, 2007

Well, I made this last night for a soup day at my office. It was gone in an hour and I received 2 "outstanding" compliments! This recipe's definitely a keeper- thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MeghanS December 08, 2004

YUM YUM! I used jalapenos instead of green chilies, and it waas really hot, so I garnished with lots of sour cream. I do think the recipe makes more like 5 servings than 10. This is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carianne April 15, 2003
White Crock Pot Chili (With Tomatillo)