Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / White Chocolate Buttercream Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    White Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on June 07, 2013

      I made a profile, just to rate this frosting. Yes, it is that good. It has a luscious, smooth and fluffy texture, thanks to the whipping cream. For those who say it is too sweet, yes, with an overly sweet cake/cupcake, I suppose it would be. My favorite pairing for this is a white cupcake with a tart fresh raspberry puree filling. The tart filling and frosting are a match made in heaven! I would also like to note that I have made a milk chocolate frosting using this exact same recipe with a milk chocolate baking bar. I did have to add a tbsp of cocoa to amp up the chocolate a bit, but it made an incredible milk chocolate frosting as well Thanks Kittencal, simply amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      It took a while to hit the first fluffy stage (After 5 minutes I turned my beater up to a medium speed and had to give it 5 minutes more)--but when all was added and mixed, I ended up with a super-airy, creamy, sweet frosting that went perfectly atop a blue velvet cake. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2006

      this is good second time i made it, i did add extra powdered sugar to thicken, just added 1 tbs cream but to the previous comment about too sweet, you really need beat this, stand mixer with whip attachment works great, it incorporates the sugar not as sweet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2012

      This has to be one of the best frosting recipes I have tried. It had the perfect consistency being nice and fluffy and not at all greasy tasting. I did make one change to it by adding a 1/4 tsp of salt to the recipe just to cut down on the sweetness and it came out perfect. I used on top of vanilla cupcakes filled with passionfruit cream. The combination was to die for!
      This recipe will most def be one of my to-go buttercream frosting recipes for the future.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

      The texture of this buttercream is silky smooth, and the recipe works well. The only problem was that the white chocolate made this frosting almost unbearably sweet, so I ended up using only a very thin layer on my cupcakes. I also tried substituting Girardelli milk chocolate in this recipe. It turned out wonderfully, and the level of sweetness was much better than with the white chocolate.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      I have always used the Internet to try new ideas but this is the first time I have ever signed up so I could rate one! I LOVE this, I swapped out the whipped cream for our famous Devonshire clotted cream! It was to be used as a filling aswell as frosting so I had to add another 2 cups of icing sugar to get it stiff enough for the job, but oh my word is this stuff just to die for! We have a friend with a stupidly sweet tooth whose birthday is this Wednesday he loves chocolate and cream and all things similar and his wife my bf has asked me to make a cake so decadent, even he won't be able to eat too much, so we have a pure milk choc vanilla cake with this frosting as a filling and crumbcoating then wrapped in milk choc paste and topped off with the frosting surrounding the sides with chocolate straws and topped with White and milk maltase's, I defy anyone to be able to stand more than half a slice lol!!!! No doubt he will manage it though! Thank you soooooooo much for this truly stunning frosting! X

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2014

      This frosting was very easy, very good- I put it on top of yellow coconut cake and topped it with toasted coconut and almond slices :) It got rave reviews from work. This is now my favorite go-to frosting (unless I want peanutbutter)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2014

      great one. especially for a beginner like me made this today for my lill ones birthday will post the photo later

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2013

      This is a pretty good frosting! To prevent chunks of chocolate in your buttercream, take a big dollop of your beaten sugar/butter mixture and mix it into the melted chocolate. It will look like a hardened, funky mess, but mix that together until you get a cohesive glob. Seriously! Then drop half of that back into the big bowl and beat it, scrape down, and drop in the other half. <br/>I liked this a lot, but I think it would benefit from just a pinch of salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2013

      Oh man...this is good. By itself is is super creamy and sweet (as icing is supposed to be?) It also makes a great base to which to add a liqueur. I made a Kahlua filling for this year's buche de noel. Very fluffy but firm enough to stand up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2011

      AMAZING! Great basic buttercream recipe!! When I make this (of course incorporating my own special alterations, like adding raspberry curd!) I feel like a five star pastry chef. I just want to point out lovingly to everyone that it says to add the cream a little at a time so it doesn't thin too much. I followed the recipe to the T and started out using only 3 tbsp. of half and half, and the recipe was perfect! THANKYOUTHANKYOUTHANKYOU for this recipe! <3 (P.S. My chef husband LOVES IT. He loved it so much, in fact, that he took it to work and gave it to all the waitresses and the executive chef, and they positively FAWNED over it! I'm fairly certain we'll be invited to all their barbeques this summer!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2011

      Rated 4 stars because I changed it slightly...

      Used 6oz. white chocolate plus a touch more I had some white chips left from a previous batch of crack bars... (aka 7-layer bars) --- also added a good 2 teaspons of vanilla bean paste w/ the flecks of vanilla... with that addition the flavor just goes even better!! Didn't need any liquid the consistency was just perfect and with the vanilla bean specs, it's gorgeous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      Kitten This is so yummy! I swear your recipes are the reason I'm on here! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2011

      Very nice frosting! Lovely and light with just the right sweetness. Yummmmmmmmy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2010

      This icing is fantastic! If I could give it more stars I would. Used with Sue B's Chocolate Cake to make cupcakes for a wedding. They were incredible as a whole, but the icing was the true star. Thanks so much for sharing yet another great recipe. You never let me down :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2010

      This frosting's flavor did not do much for me. I actually let the chocolate cool as directed. It had a great consistency, but the flavor was just so-so.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      Yum! This was really good. I wanted to eat the frosting and not the cake! Don't make my mistake: I melted the chocolate and tried to cool it faster in the fridge but it just made some of it harden again so my frosting came out chunky. I know that's not how it supposed to be so melt it thoroughly and don't let it harden again. But to my surprise my taster like the small bits of white chocolate in the frosting (I kind of did too).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      Wonderful flavor. I used this to frost chocolate cupcakes and added a strawberry on top. MMMmmmm. So good. I got lots of rave reviews. I made the mistake of not letting my white chocolate cool very much and the icing was SUPER thin...and then my cupcakes were not cooled enough so it just melted all over the place...so I stuck it in the fridge for about a half hour, along with the cupcakes, and then frosted. I have to keep them in the fridge or they start melting all over the place again. This frosted 24 cupcakes and there was still a bit leftover to probably do about 2 or 3 more cupcakes. (I didn't put a whole lot on the cupcakes).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      Another winner from Kitten. Made this to frost a chocolate layer cake. Having tasted this, I think my life is complete.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      I suspect that if I had Merkins or Lindt chocolate, it would have been better tasting. The frosting is very light and fluffy. The creamy texture is delightful in your mouth. I added some white cream de caco to help boost the chocolate flavor of my no-name white chocolate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for White Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (682 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1037.9
     
    Calories from Fat 656
    63%
    Total Fat 72.9 g
    112%
    Saturated Fat 45.7 g
    228%
    Cholesterol 167.2 mg
    55%
    Sodium 513.0 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 97.5 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 95.7 g
    383%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites