Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / White Chili in the Crock Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    White Chili in the Crock

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on April 25, 2002

      This was good! Everyone in my family really liked this chili even my 3 year old. I did use chicken instead of turkey, I added a can of diced tomatoes, and when I served it I put shredded cheese on top and served it with chips. I also only added a 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper because I was afraid it would be too spicy for my kids. It had a wonderful Mexican flavor and the next day we put it in flour tortillas and made burritos out of it. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2002

      Yummy!! I actually just finished eating this. I also used chicken and diced tomatoes, which were both great. I used the full amount of all of the spices and have to say that it definately is spicey...but that's how I like it!! It does turn out more soupy than chili i'm used to...but it was so good!! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      I thought this was great! (Dh didn't really care for it, but I'm overriding him.) I added some jalepeno and omitted the celery. I also used leftover turkey that I had frozen. Thanks so much for sharing. I'll be makilng this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      Excellent chili! I had to substitute black eyes peas as we were low on beans, but that was just a slight change and made the chili awful pretty. I shared my first batch and can't wait to make another tonight! Thanks for a great recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      This was good. I wanted to try it since it had molasses which I had never seen before. Though- I didn't really notice any huge flavor difference. We garnished with diced avocado, shredded white sharp cheddar and corn chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2005

      Very tasty. I used two cans of beans, instead of dry. I substituted paprika for the cayenne powder and chicken for the turkey. I omitted the cilantro. Last change was that I used a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies, instead of the can of green chilies. I added it an hour before we were ready to eat. It was very good, my only complaint was that it turned out more like soup rather than chili. That could have been due to all my changes though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2004

      Sorry, I had a disaster with this one. The beans just didn't cook properly and were firm. We ate it any way and then paid the price gastro-intenstinally. And I have a stomach of steel! I think I cooked it on low in the crock ... maybe it needed to be on high? I think it needs a can of tomatoes, too ... but don't add them till the end, or the beans won't cook (well, in my case, they didn't anyway!). Still wondering what I did wrong with this one ...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2004

      I thought this was very tasty. I made some changes based on personal preferences and what I had on hand (I skipped the chili powder, celery, and cilantro; added 1/2 tsp. each ground coriander and Cajun seasoning, and halved the salt). I made it with chicken breast seasoned with lemon pepper seasoning. It made a great, flavorful stew and was really easy in the crock. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2003

      Fantastic recipe!! I have made this twice since I found it and plan on making it tomorrow. My entire family loves this, but I did use a bit less of the chili powder than was called for. My husband likes it mild, so I add more to my own bowl. I cooked the leftovers down a but so it was pretty thick - we scooped it up with chips, rolled it into tortillas, etc. Thanks for posting it - it's now in our official family favorites cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2002

      Great way to use leftover Turkey...and even my picky-eater son loved this one! It was quite "beany," but very spicey and tastey. Thanks! I loved topping the dish with the fresh, chopped cilantro...a perfect touch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2002

      Wonderful! Thank you for providing this recipe, that will now be in our family's menu rotation. Modifications that I made: Left out beans, Cooked on the stove, Base was made by cooking two turkey thighs (bone-in) with 2 cans chicken broth (Fat Free), freshly ground pepper, 4 cloves garlic (chopped), kosher salt, 2 celery stacks chopped (with leaves), once meat was fully cooked, removed and took meat off of bone, returned bones to stock, and continued simmering of stock while I cut up the turkey meat into small peices. Then stained broth, removing everything, and returned stock to pot, added another can of Chicken broth (Fat Free), and resumed original cooking instructions (@ #4). I also doubled the cumin, cayenne pepper, celery, and garlic. I also added fresh chopped ciantro to the pot, along with the spices. Finally, I ended up adding an additional 2 cups of water to make the recipe more "soupy" and served it in a bowl, with a little fat free sour cream and a little fat free shredded cheddar cheese! Try it, you will like it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for White Chili in the Crock

    Serving Size: 1 (231 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 240.2
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    27%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 51.4 mg
    17%
    Sodium 727.6 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 23.0 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes