9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made quite a few changes to this recipe but the results were delicious so I'm rating this recipe five stars. I reduced the amount of chicken broth to 4 cups, added about 1/2 cup frozen corn, and 3 diced corn tortillas. Instead of stirring in the cheese, I garnished the soup with some shredded cheese and diced avocado. Really delicious. I will make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckas April 03, 2005

Made this for Fall Pick-A-Chef 2011 and I am glad that I picked this recipe. I cut it down for DH, his dad and I and added some extra beans (for thickness), corn and topped it with shredded cheese, some green onions and a few diced up tortillas (fried). One to keep in my files and bring out on another day when we go down to the beach and it's cool and foggy...Thank you for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf October 18, 2011

Turned out great. I did not add all the cheese. To me it was not needed. I did add 2 extra cans of beans. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aronsinvest September 21, 2009

I made this recipe for our holiday party over the weekend and it was a huge hit!! I'm sending the recipe of to a friend now. However, I made a few changes that seem to mirror what others have written: 1) I used 4 1/2 cups of chicken stock; 2) I used 4 cans of white beans (couldn't find great dry northern, but navy beans did the trick); 3) I added a little flour at the end to thicken the stock a bit; 4) I didn't add the cheese until the chili was at the level of thickness I desired. I highly recommend this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrskweaver December 11, 2007

I made this last night. It was WONDERFUL!! I added 4 cans of beans instead of 2. The extra beans made it thicker. Also, I used 2 cans of Great Northern and 2 can of Cannelloni Beans. My 6 yr old ate 3 bowls.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiffiny Turner December 08, 2007

I made this last night and loved it !! The only change I made was I used 8 oz of Montery Jack & 4 oz of Pepper Jack. That's what I had on hand. The next I make this I will add more beans. I also think I used extra chicken I used 5 breasts. This is a wonderful soup/chili. UPDATE: I have made this several times & now I add extra beans, cut the broth back to 2 cans and use only 4 oz pepper jack cheese. Just our personal taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janie Cooper April 12, 2007

Great recipe! A nice change from the same 'ol chili. I added 1 tbsp of chili powder and a can of Mexicorn.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ItalianMan March 03, 2006

I love this recipe! When i was young my family and i use to drive to the Blue Owl and I would always get the white chili. Being pregnant the spices couldn't go over with me very well but I added some carrots and some celery omited the cummin and pepper and served over 2 popovers and some cheese on top. YUMMY!!! everyone loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
expectanthousegirlfriend July 20, 2005

This is the same recipe used by The Blue Owl Restaurant in Kimmswick, MO. Delicious! A family favorite, I serve it with a dollop of sour cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie K May 12, 2004
White Chili