185 Reviews

Yum! I've never made White Chicken Chili before and found this recipe when I looking for a recipe using great northern beans. I used one bag of dried beans and since I didn't have any green chilis I used a little bit of salsa since it had them in it. Turned out great still! I had to use some heavy whipping cream also b/c that's all I had leftover from a dessert I made earlier this week. I will definitely make this again! My whole family devoured it! I like how you can really customize this recipe and it still works!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buttercup0009 August 30, 2012

Very good, very easy. Made as directed. Will be making this often. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
armymomx2 October 11, 2010

SOOO GOOD! One of my new favorite recipes for a cold day. We all loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Regan September 11, 2010

I added cumin like someone else suggested to give it that true chili taste. very good. My roommates are still talking about it. Served it over cornbread.

I would think adding white corn, lentils or even mushrooms would be good. I like chili a bit denser. But overall great taste. roommates just complimented again (twice during the time I am writing this review, that's a good sign)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kansasjosh August 19, 2010

Full of flavor! I did not use whipping cream. Used 1 hot cup of milk with 1/3 melted butter. Also added 1 can of corn. Chili came out great! Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodymoody December 05, 2009

I loved this! I had some white chili at a church function, but couldn't find the creator, this tasted very close. I start by boiling my chicken breasts in the broth, I use two boxes, and then add marjoram, bay and black pepper to make the chicken taste best. Then I add the spice, the oregano and some garlic and the green chilies with the beans...adding just sour cream at the end...it's so good, I've never had enough to put away at the end of supper! Even my kids like it. Might be good with corn added too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gusgirl March 07, 2009

This is an excellent recipe. I added evaporated milk instead of whipping cream and light sour cream to reduce the amount of fat and calories and it was delicious. It was just the perfect amount of spiciness for my whole family to enjoy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susan_ways January 27, 2009

My Grandma use to make a recipe very similar to this, and I love how it tastes. It is my husbands favorite meal. The main thing that I do different is I put in half a cup of monterey jack cheese (shredded) along with the sour cream and whipped cream. It makes it more creamy and adds alot to the taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cherylo April 05, 2008

This was ok, but needs some alterations to be really good in my opinion. I found it very bland (taste & look) as is. So use the recipe as a baseline, and add something at the end if you feel it needs more... like jalapenos, because the canned chilis don't have enough heat, or fresh garlic, more garlic powder/pepper/salt, etc. I added some chili powder (about half a pack!) which made the taste much more delicious and added a nice orangy/pink color. I also found that sprinkling cheddar and pepper jack cheese on top at the end was a delicious and important addition for us to really like it. Served with cornbread - very filling comfort food. Last note, I soaked my own beans and used 3 cups total post-soaking. I think the texture is always better than canned beans.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Asma March 05, 2008

Update--I'm making this again for Superbowl Sunday. It's become a favorite in my household. Great Job!! I decided it's worth it to add the sourcream (low fat, of course) and can't forget the cumin. This is definitely a "Must Try" recipe if you haven't had white chili before. OMG!! This is the first time I've made white chili and was it ever good! I even managed to get my chili-phobes to eat it. I only made 4 minor changes to the recipe. 1. I used trimmed and cubed boneless chicken thighs. The dark meat stayed moist and melted in my mouth after simmering for a couple of hours. 2. I used Caldo con Sabor de Pollo, a latino brand of chicken boullion instead of chicken broth (I use that for EVERYTHING that requires chicken broth). 3. I added Cumin. IMHO, no chili dish is complete without a generous dash or two of it. It added a new dimension to the flavors. 4. I dissolved 1T cornstarch in 3T water to thicken in lieu of the sour cream. I was afraid all that sour cream would make it taste, well, sour. For my presentation, I garnished with a dollop of sour cream and shredded Mexican cheese. I topped all that off with some Crystal hot sauce and can I just say, "WOW". I just finished the left overs and there's nary a drop left. This one is definitely a keeper. � Jan 15, 2006

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Habonia February 03, 2008
White Chicken Chili