186 Reviews

My husband loves to make this. We took it to church one night and had people ready to climb into the crockpot! :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wrenne October 02, 2012

I really like this but made a mistake of going a wee bit too happy with cayenne pepper. I absolutely love everything spicy but DH's tummy may go on a riot. LOL! This is how I cooked it~ I followed the recipe and the only changes I made was to add a teaspoon of cumin (well, and nearly doubled the amount of cayenne pepper). I cooked everything on stove top and later move it to crock pot. I cooked on low for 6 hours (our home smelled heavenly!) and added half cup of milk instead of cream. Very good and I am pleasantly surprise how the green chillies took this dish to the next level. Wonderful! Thank you, Renita!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
7Seven October 01, 2012

Seriously the best white chili I've ever had or made! I substituted turkey (to get rid of thanksgiving leftovers) and added cumin as suggessted. Wonderful flavor!!! Made turkey quesodilla (sp) as a side dish. Thank you for such an easy delicious meal!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danielle hain November 28, 2010

Great recipe. Everyone raved.... but I really liked the flavor pre-cream and sour cream. Next time, I'll try it with half the sour cream and cream. Maybe add more beans, too. Thanks for a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan D in Indianapolis, IN November 17, 2010

This soup is awesome!!! I pretty much stayed right with the recipe, but did make a few adjustments...First I used a rotissarie chicken from the store because they are convenient and have such good flavor. Also, I added one minced jalopeno and fresh minced garlic when cooking the onion. I also did one can northern beans and one can butter beans. Lastly, I added smoked paprika (about 2 tsp.) and it was wonderful!!!! I used more chicken broth too (just kinda eye balled it). Will make this again and again...thanks!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill4man October 29, 2006

Fantastic recipe! I made a few alterations to make it a little more healthy (kinda sorta maybe?) I mashed one of the cans of beans (I used cannelis,) used one fresh jalepeno rather than the canned green chiles, omitted the cream and added a can of creamed corn instead for a bit of sweetness. The mashed beans and creamed corn made it thick enough without the sour cream and whipping cream and gave it a bit of sweetness, and the jalepeno made it just spicy enough with a fresher taste than canned chilis. Definitely a make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bskalaski October 23, 2015

Delicious! Definitively the best white chicken chili I've ever had. I followed some of the other reviewers suggestions & added rotel and cumin. Also, instead of cutting up the raw chicken, I sautéed the onions then added the spices/broth & poached the whole chicken breasts for 30 minutes. When they were done, I shredded them, added back to the pot & continued with the recipe. I think the texture of shredded chicken goes much better with the recipe than cubed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the accidental glutton October 05, 2015

good for left over chicken. I used left over whole chick and also made the broth. I didn't use the cream. My husband doesn't like white sauce, but it was good without the cream or sour cream. I added sour cream to my bowl, stirred until creamy, and yummy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lvedahl September 25, 2015

I made this on the stove-top and it came together so quick and easy. I added 1 teaspoon ground cumin (a must, in my opinion) and topped with shredded cheddar and more sour cream. Delish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks June 14, 2015

I have been making a version of White Chicken Chili for close to 20 years. I was surprised to see this version. Mine has no oil, cream or fat. It adds 5 cans of beans, a can of Rotel, and a big Tbl. of Cumin. Most of the time, I use a store bought rotisserie chicken and shred it up. My family devours it!!! We really love this recipe. We find that it is best to cook in crockpot all day, or simmer for a few hours. It's always better the second day as well! I can hardly wait until the first cool day of the season, and make a huge pot of this!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mel in OKC area Oklahoma November 03, 2013
White Chicken Chili