53 Reviews

Very good recipe! Everyone enjoyed it a lot, even the kiddos. Very flavorful and not spicy at all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizP August 19, 2009

let me first say that as much as i love cooking everything with wine, dont with this recipe. i did and the flavor wasnt good at all in my opinion. so much so that after it cooking for 5 hours in my crock pot i actually strained 90% of the juices and added back 2 cups of chicken broth. having done that i lost a lot of the flavors so i had to dr. it up. i added a couple small cans of diced gr. chilis, hot mexican chili powder, taco seasoning and juice of a lime. i also just threw the raw chicken, onions and garlic into the crock pot, saving lots of time and effort. i did not know what great northern beans were and was afraid to just try any white bean so i just used my fav black beans. after all of that, it turned out awesome and i can bet that tonight it will be even better. thanks for the recipe, next time i will try it exactly as directed (if i can find the right beans) and then i will review again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cali~jenn February 05, 2009

Delicious!!! Thanks for a keeper! I would have to say that it wouldn't serve 6 though... maybe 4? At least in our house we wolfed it down...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TJ-Montana January 13, 2009

I made this recipe very close to the instuctions...except I used fajita marinated chicken thighs (they are plentiful and cheap at HEB grocery store). There was no extra spices necessary. I also added a small can of hominy for extra veggies. We ate in bowl with cheese on top, and chips and salso on the side. My husband loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy W. December 31, 2008

This is a good basic recipe, but I do recommend spicing it up a bit. I added 1/2 tsp. tobasco, chili powder and a bay leaf to the base; and topped it with avocado, scallions and shredded monterrey jack.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MLE from MN December 29, 2008

This was our first time trying white chili. While we enjoyed it, we all found it a little "boring" or bland. We finally added some salsa to it and that helped a lot...even though it made it Pink Chili!! LOL! It definitely needs a little more kick to it, but a nice change from traditional chili.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) December 20, 2008

Pretty good. We found it bland and ended up adding some chiles, extra spices, and squeezed lime over the top. A good start, but needs a lot added.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adopted Parisian December 01, 2008

What a through-the-roof fabulous tomato-free chili!! Made it just as written with a pinch of cayenne pepper for just a tad more heat. This is now "my" chili recipe, the one I'll use from now on. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glori-B June 27, 2008

Loved it but doubled the spices and added a can of green chilies and it still had no noticeable kick. I would add possibly some red pepper or some jalapeno. This was super easy, I did it on the stove and simmered for just a half hour or so. We will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Demandy May 15, 2008
White Chicken Chili