48 Reviews

Never reviewed this but I just wanted to say that I make this one all the time. I just substitute 2 8oz packages of portebello mushrooms for the spinach. I slice and fry the mushrooms some to get the moisture out.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dessertcher May 26, 2010

DH and I had this while watching the LOST series finale. Just like our favorite program, it did not disappoint! :) SO good! I subbed cottage cheese for the ricotta and it was great. The only thing not to like is the nutrition facts. Yikes. But still a great "splurge" dinner. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Empire920 May 24, 2010

I served this with homemade spaghetti and meatballs (#26947 and #32618) for my mother in law's birthday. It was very well received. I thought it was tasty and elegant and a very good "company" dish. I made it the day before and refrigerated it overnight, then baked for a little over an hour. Delicious!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmberMomOfTwoBoys May 03, 2010

Wow, what a treat! This was delicious. I added sauteed mushrooms to the sauce which turned out nicely. I only used half the spinach as I don't like it but next time I would use it all as it tasted quite nice. I only used 3/4t of salt and next time would only use 1/2t. It was a bit runny after 10 minutes of cooling but did thicken up after that. Thanks for a great supper. DH actually requested that I make it 1x a month! He never does that!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WinnipegWoman April 26, 2010

AWESOME RECIPE! Everyone who had some just RAVED!! I did use fat free half and half for the milk, and I used fresh baby spinach for the spinach layer. Oh my this was sooooooo tasty!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melanie Adrienne January 27, 2010

I'm glad I tried this recipe. I had used low-sodium chicken broth and per other reviewers suggestions 1 pkg of frozen chopped spinach. I bought a store-roasted barbecue chicken. I thought the lasagna was a tad too salty so I may reduce the salt to 1/2 teaspoon next time, or none.It might have tasted saltier because of the store-roasted chicken. My family loved it and I received nothing but rave reviews from those at a potluck. I got mixed up when I put it together so I think I might draw myself a little diagram for the layers. I wish I had a piece in front of me right now. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
svv17 November 27, 2009

No, this is not health food. This is creamy, cheesy, decadent goodness. I made it for Sunday dinner to feed my parents, my inlaws and my kids and everyone loved it. I used rotisserie chicken and, like other reviewers suggested, cut the salt back to a half teaspoon. My only caution is this: the 20 minutes prep time that the recipe suggests is a daydream. I would guess that if you're perfectly efficient AND you don't start your 20 minute timer until your chicken is cooked and cubed, your spinach is thawed and drained and your onion and garlic are chopped, it might be POSSIBLE to have this thing in the oven 20 minutes after you start. Maybe. It took me closer to 45 minutes. Additionally, the lasagna will need to sit for a minimum of 10 minutes after you take it out of the oven before you should try serving it. Allow yourself more time than you think you'll need to make this-- but do make it, it's excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rainwalkersarah June 15, 2015

I had to give this the highest rating because I NEVER eat any of the lasagna recipes that I make and I absolutely loved this one! There is a deli that my husband gets chicken lasagna from for his faculty and they love it, so he wanted me try to re-create it. The difference between yours and theirs (we think) is the cheese used (we use alot of Provel here in St. Louis) and maybe a little more garlic. I will be using your recipe again but will try to use Provel cheese instead and maybe add a little more garlic. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon the Rocket February 02, 2013

Delicious! I subbed one layer of pasta for a layer of 1/4 in. thick sliced, uncooked zuchinni and left out the chicken. Did not precook pasta. Next time I'll cut flour down to 3/4 c because I thought I could taste it a little in the finished product. All in all, it was great! Will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teneillr April 12, 2012
White Cheese Chicken Lasagna