20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I make a similar version that is much easier and tastes exactly like a White Castle. Brown 1 1/4# ground beef, drain and add 2 tbls. mayo, 1 pkg. Lipton onion soup mix and 6 oz. shredded cheddar. Use 3 pkgs. Pepperidge Farm dinner rolls (12 per pack) cut in half horizontally but not split into individual rolls. Spread meat mixture evenly over rolls and add a pickle slice on each roll. Replace top, wrap in foil, place on sheet pan and bake in upper third of 350 degree oven for 25 min. Excellent!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clairecooks February 11, 2011

I will tell you how long I have been eating White Castle "Belly Bombs". At first on one or two weekends a month in Queens New York they were on sale for(ready)? Six (6) for 25 cents. As I aged a little and picked up a few innocent bad habits we found that IF you had a beer hangover these were the only things that helped you return to normalcy. Now living far away from those wonderful gastronomic killers (don't get me wrong) which I love and my almost 80 year old body will still accept as norishment I was so pleased to get this recipe. Thank you, thank you. One of my Christmas wishes has been fullfilled. Cap'n Jack

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Firehousecook AKA Cap'n Jack December 07, 2008

I made these for super bowl and they were very good! I held mine in oven at 210 degrees with wet paper towels and foil over top. Next time, I will also add wet paper towels to bottom of dish when reheating. Bottoms got kinda crunchy. I made a double batch of this and rolled out on cookie sheet with rolling pin (plastic wrap over meat) then rolling. The next time I fix these which will be soon, I am going to add more dried onion, salt and pepper. I used hot dogs buns cut into thirds. Served with American cheese and pickle. YUMMY!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buzzsau February 08, 2010

I made like a 'zillion' of these for our Nascar party this year. Everyone loved them. I cheated and put them on a baking sheet and stuck them in the oven (with onions on top) worked very well and I was able to make 50 of them at a time!! I broiled the buns to toast them.
Don't forget the pickle slice!! Yummy!! Thank you Miss Erin!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie in the UP March 08, 2012

Very good. Still having trouble getting them thin enough, but the taste is awesome.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annheim January 21, 2010

I have made these before, only I mix a package of lipton onion soup mix to 2 pounds of hamburger, then press in a cake pan, prick the meat with a fork, bake about 10 minutes, then I cut into little burgers, put cheese on each, and then put the top side of dollar buns on top. Very easy to lift out of pan and place on the bottom half of bun. I love these!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grammabobbie January 29, 2008

Being from Chicago I have craved them for a long time, Thanks for the recipe they are great, I used dried onions, leave the onions in water for about 15 minutes then put them on a hot flat griddle then placed the meat (frozen) on top of the spread out onions then put the buns on top of the meat till cooked. Put a sliced pickle and a little ketchup on it and close the bun and your done!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Johnney November 21, 2003

Oh Erin, you just made my day! I left the Mid-west 10 years ago, and that White Castle craving never goes away! Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bekah~ May 27, 2003

I really have to try these ,I am a WHITE CASTLE fan , I have never seen a reviews as postive as these are.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janrob45 November 17, 2011

I am currently living in Korea so they don't have a anything like a White Castle. When I suprised my husband with these for lunch he tought I had found a Whitle Castle here. They were sooooo good. Thank you!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nclpalacios September 28, 2011
White Castle Cheeseburgers