99 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My husband, a big fan of white cakes, loved it. I usually don't care for them but this one was GOOD. I alternated the flour & milk to prevent the batter from getting too thick & it didn't hurt the cake.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris in Cocoa February 26, 2003

I doubled the recipe & used a 9 x 13 pan. Very good!! Nice & moist, very tasty, & easy!! Made this for dh's birthday (frosted with choc. icing)& it went quickly. Will definitely make this again!!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KristinB August 22, 2003

Very nice texture to this cake, and super easy to put together. I made cupcakes, which were done in about 20 minutes. My husband is a cake fan also, and he gave this more than one compliment, which is quite impressive for him! :^)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi April 07, 2003

Great cake!! Nice and flavorful with a great texture!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kirstin in the Couv April 03, 2003

Light and fluffy and perfectly textured! LOL... way too much Japanese TV. I really like this cake! It's simple and easy to make, though it did get quite thick before the milk was added so be careful with your handheld mixers, bakers. Baked up golden and white on the inside. I'm going to use this for an easter cake later- just seperate about 1/4 cup of batter and change it's colors then run that through the cake itself. I used two 8-in rounds and did a set of mini-bunt cakes by doing 2.5 of the recipe. Truely a winer, thank you Rani!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*Sarah*~ February 25, 2003

My husband doesn't like sweets very often, but when he does he likes them to be simple. This was the perfect cake for him. I used splenda instead of sugar, butter buds (dry) for the butter, skim milk and egg substitute. Thank you for the recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jamb September 09, 2002

Sounds Great! More then once I needed a cake and did not have a mix (had to make a trip to the store) Now that will not happen again! Sounds easy and I always have all the ingredients on hand!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaigeParkerMomma September 09, 2002

Excellent! I can't think of a single negative comment, criticism or even a suggestion as to how this could be better; it's perfect as it is. The only variation I made was slight; I added half the flour mixture then half the milk, then repeated, rather than adding all the flour then all the milk (merely habit). The instructions are clear, the ingredient list is simple with items normally kept on hand, and the baking timespan is correct; mine was done after 30 minutes. The cake is not as light and airy as a boxed mix, but is not as heavy or dense as a pound cake either. I thought the crumb and texture was superb, and particularly liked the buttery vanilla flavour. The batter is quite thick; I used a heavy-duty stand mixer though, which had no problem with the thick batter. I know I will make this cake often.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie October 21, 2003

I was worried at first because the batter was VERY thick, but the cake turned out great. I followed the recipe exactly. As a previous reviewer said, it reminded me of a pound cake or crumb cake in texture.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jibbajabba123 August 04, 2003

I am so uncouth, I just put all the ingredients in a bowl and beat them together with a hand mixer. Cake turned out great. I'm not sure what difference adding them a little at a time would have done. For being made from scratch it is pretty easy and there are not to many ingredients. I will use this when I don't have a box mix. Nothing is faster/easier than cake in a box.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Todd777 February 04, 2011
White cake