Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / White cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    White cake

    Average Rating:

    97 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 97

    Sort by:

    • on February 26, 2003

      My husband, a big fan of white cakes, loved it. I usually don't care for them but this one was GOOD. I alternated the flour & milk to prevent the batter from getting too thick & it didn't hurt the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2003

      I doubled the recipe & used a 9 x 13 pan. Very good!! Nice & moist, very tasty, & easy!! Made this for dh's birthday (frosted with choc. icing)& it went quickly. Will definitely make this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2003

      Very nice texture to this cake, and super easy to put together. I made cupcakes, which were done in about 20 minutes. My husband is a cake fan also, and he gave this more than one compliment, which is quite impressive for him! :^)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2003

      Great cake!! Nice and flavorful with a great texture!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2003

      Light and fluffy and perfectly textured! LOL... way too much Japanese TV. I really like this cake! It's simple and easy to make, though it did get quite thick before the milk was added so be careful with your handheld mixers, bakers. Baked up golden and white on the inside. I'm going to use this for an easter cake later- just seperate about 1/4 cup of batter and change it's colors then run that through the cake itself. I used two 8-in rounds and did a set of mini-bunt cakes by doing 2.5 of the recipe. Truely a winer, thank you Rani!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      My husband doesn't like sweets very often, but when he does he likes them to be simple. This was the perfect cake for him. I used splenda instead of sugar, butter buds (dry) for the butter, skim milk and egg substitute. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      Sounds Great! More then once I needed a cake and did not have a mix (had to make a trip to the store) Now that will not happen again! Sounds easy and I always have all the ingredients on hand!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2003

      I was worried at first because the batter was VERY thick, but the cake turned out great. I followed the recipe exactly. As a previous reviewer said, it reminded me of a pound cake or crumb cake in texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

      I am so uncouth, I just put all the ingredients in a bowl and beat them together with a hand mixer. Cake turned out great. I'm not sure what difference adding them a little at a time would have done. For being made from scratch it is pretty easy and there are not to many ingredients. I will use this when I don't have a box mix. Nothing is faster/easier than cake in a box.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2003

      This white cake was easy to make, baked well and looked nice. I thought the texture was a little heavy, not as light & fluffy as I thought it would be. It reminded me more of a pound cake. Very good taste, but I thought average overall.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      I made these cupcakes last night and frosted them this evening, and these are the MOST delicious cupcakes I've ever had. These are even better than a box mix! I baked them for 17 minutes and they are so moist! I will NEVER a buy box mix again. These took about the same amount of time as a box too. LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      Good flavor, but HORRIBLE texture. Very dry & crumbly. I made this recipe for a layer cake. It broke into pieces & was unusable. I noticed that a lot of users had to modify the recipe. If a recipe requires that much modification, it's definitely NOT a good recipe! I

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      I use this recipe all the time as a substitute for box cake mix. It's easy and delicious! Just don't forget to double it for 2 9-inch cakes, as I've made that mistake before!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2003

      I thoroughly enjoyed whipping this up last night on a whim. It was really simple and quick!! Altered it a little. I added 100g of white chocolate to the mixture, and I added some mini M&Ms. And I had a M&Ms cake!!! Yes I did change it quite a bit, but I think it just proves to show this recipe is really versatile. Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2003

      Excellent! I can't think of a single negative comment, criticism or even a suggestion as to how this could be better; it's perfect as it is. The only variation I made was slight; I added half the flour mixture then half the milk, then repeated, rather than adding all the flour then all the milk (merely habit). The instructions are clear, the ingredient list is simple with items normally kept on hand, and the baking timespan is correct; mine was done after 30 minutes. The cake is not as light and airy as a boxed mix, but is not as heavy or dense as a pound cake either. I thought the crumb and texture was superb, and particularly liked the buttery vanilla flavour. The batter is quite thick; I used a heavy-duty stand mixer though, which had no problem with the thick batter. I know I will make this cake often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2003

      The first time I tried this I looked, as I always did, rather skeptically at the half cup of butter. Yes, I know cholesterol is probably a better risk than trans- fats, and that some fat is good in any diet - but still, I looked at it skeptically. That time I did use half a cup of butter, despite my reservations, and of course it turned out lovely. It was a nice small square cake that baked deep golden outside, and ivory yellow on the inside, beautiful, tasty, and my family raved over it. However, most recently I tried creaming only a third of the required butter, or it might have been a quarter - that's all we had left! Perhaps it was the full butter/sugar creaming I did this time, perhaps it was the greatly smaller size (mini-cupcakes, lined with baking paper), but these ones turned out - if it's possible - even more beautiful than the first. My family raved further! Not too sweet, and not boring in the least. The lowered fat didn't hurt anything, that I noticed - although that might have been due to the greater surface area - and now there are only two left on the plate. Even my astute father had praise for them. Thank you, Ranikabani! This recipe's definitely going into the collection.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2003

      Super easy and quick to make. I made two at one time and left the vanilla out of one on accident. It was still delicious and went great with sweet vanilla cream chease frosting and strawberries stuffed with blue berries.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2014

      I used this recipe to make a birthday cake for my husband who was tired of chocolate cake. He asked for fluffy and moist, sadly this did not turn out fluffy. It was pretty moist but over all it's a bit more dense than I was expecting. It's similar to a pound cake texture so it's still yummy but just not "fluffy". We added sprinkles for a confetti style cake (he loves sweets and is a big kid) No one complained but for me it wasn't great. I uploaded a picture of the decorated cake. I have taken a liking to decorating cakes the past few years!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2014

      Made Healthier...Turned out great. Used half the recommended butter and added as much fat free sour cream. Used half white flour, half whole wheat pastry flour. No liners for cupcakes gave a better shaped cupcake. Sprayed cupcake pan, baked 18 mins --perfect! (The cupcakes where I used paper liners, didn't rise as high.) Removed from pan after resting 2 mins. EXCELLENT recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      Loved the recipe, delicious and fluffy, made it into a colorful rainbow cake, will do it again soon :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for White cake

    Serving Size: 1 (740 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2519.6
     
    Calories from Fat 970
    38%
    Total Fat 107.8 g
    165%
    Saturated Fat 64.5 g
    322%
    Cholesterol 633.1 mg
    211%
    Sodium 1654.0 mg
    68%
    Total Carbohydrate 352.5 g
    117%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 201.6 g
    806%
    Protein 36.9 g
    73%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites