Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / White Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    White Cake

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2010

      Although I love the taste of this cake, it didn't rise much and it is a bit hard. It is moist, don't get me wrong, and delicious, but not fluffy. I followed the recipe exactly, but don't know why it came out so firm. update: I followed the advice of the previous reviewer who suggested to put part of the flour in first, and then part of the milk, and then more flour, and then more milk, and it worked out just fine. There is a chemical reason for doing it this way and I read the suggested article from the previous reviewer and it worked out wonderfully this time. Love the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      My niece requested a white cake for her birthday instead of a healthful one, so I obliged and made this one. I followed the directions given and the result was a tough cake. People didn't finish their pieces. Had I thought about the mixing methods I used in making my favorite cakes from years ago, I would have realized the directions listed here were off. I double-checked on the web and found a page that explains how to mix cakes in the correct steps to avoid it tough. I would suggest that anyone making this cake should first check www.baking911.com/howto/mix.htm. The section that explains the 3-2-3-2-3 Cake Mixing Steps is at the bottom of the page. The flavor seemed to be good, so I think that following those steps would solve the problem I and some of the other reviewers had, but as the recipe was written, I had to say I didn't like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

      Made the cake and the flavor was great! It was really dense. Next time I make it I'm going to experiment with sifting the flour or using cake flour. Just want it to be a little more fluffy. Thank you for the recipe though, it was delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      I really enjoyed this cake, it was moist and a little dense (which I like, not a fluffy fan) the only thing I changed was how the ingrediants were applied. I mixed the drys and alternated them into the creamed sugar mix with the milk in 3 layers as I was mixing, I will be using this recipe from now on!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      The best of the white cake recipes I have tried so far in my quest to find something approaching a box mix. Dense, but very nice taste. I used just a bit more milk to get the consistency I was looking for.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      Nice standby recipe. I used it to make a poke cake with strawberry jello, although the cake was moist and flavorful without it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      This was a great cake. I made 12 cupcakes and one 8x8 cake. I used all 1 1/2 cups milk...using my hand mixer, alternated adding flour and milk until it was the right consistency. They were dense as others noted, but good! Frosted with strawberry icing. Great cake using everyday pantry items.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      This cake is excellent! It is a cake you are to able change the flavor. I was not going to use this recipe because of one complaint, decided to use in spite of, I am so glad I did. THANK YOU! THANK YOU! Very easy. I used 3 eggs instead of 2, two sticks of butter, instead 2/3 cup of butter. Ray

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2006

      I came across this recipe while searching for a cake to make for a cake decorating course I'm taking. This cake was easy to make. I followed all the instructions, and used the ingredients as listed w/ no changes. I'm disappointed by this cake. Prior to making the cake I read the reviews and thought -okay this will be perfect. I was not pleased when the cake didn't even rise. It pretty much stayed flat. I was wondering at first if I used the wrong ingredient like baking soda, instead of the baking powder...nope I used baking powder, and still the cake was flat. The cake is moist, but feels very dense, almost to the point of a pound cake texture. It has a pleasant taste, is not too sweet but still there's a subtle hint of "flour" even after the sugar and vanilla has been added. I will have to resort to a cake mix for tonight, and maybe use the cake I made w/ this recipe as a base for strawberry shortcake instead.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2013

      This cake is scrumptious under crushed strawberries and wipped cream. It has a wonderful consistency. I did add part of the flour first then part of the milk and repeated. I would give it a 5 star rating for a white cake. I am going to try it next time with 7 minute frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2012

      I made this cake for my very special friends birthday cake. I beat the wet ingredients up to and including the vanilla until very light and fluffy. Put all the dry ingredients into a bowl together and whisked them to combine, then added 1/3 of the dry alternating with 1/3 of the milk, beating each time until I could see almost a gluten forming before adding the next. After baking I poked holes in each layer and slathered with coconut cream... then frosted with a white coconut confectioners sugar frosting... topping it off of course with 1 small package of coconut. This turned out the way I made it to be a very moist, tender, and delicious cake that received rave notices from the Birthday Boy who had specifically requested a White Cake with White Frosting and coconut. I am giving this 5 stars as if made the way I did it, you will find this recipe to be more than satisfactory if not superior to most. Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2011

      Fabulous! So moist, tender, and plush! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2011

      Made this cake this morning, instead of milk I used International Delight "Almond Joy" coffee creamer. The batter was pure "Almond Joy" flavor, however, after baking it tastes like buttered corn bread - but it's the most wonderfully textured white cake. Obviously the flavor is not due to the recipe, so I give this 5 stars because it was simple and it is a great texture, will make again using plain milk, haha. It rose full in the pan for me also; I alternated flour/milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      I made this cake for my sons 4th birthday today. He loved it! I thought it was good and really easy to make, I wasn't exactly sure how much milk to put in since the cup and a half was just approximate so I used just UNDER a cup and a half, next time I will probably use all the milk, maybe more. It was a very moist cake, just a bit dense, but that is probably because I didn't add enough milk. I will try again for sure!! This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2006

      i was really skeptical to try this recipe due to a negative comment posted but im glad i did. Really great recipe for light, delicious cake and it was so easy to make. I used approx 1/2c more milk than the recipe called for to make it the perfect batter consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2006

      great cake for a special event or just because. cake has great consistency and very moist. also used white frosting recommended. definitely a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2006

      Moist white cake. One of the best I have tried. Easy to prepare. Used frosting #68356. Withthe frosting it tasted like wedding cake,. Will be adding this cake recipe to my collection. Thanks Kelly Gould. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2006

      I made this vegan by substituting margarine and Ener-G egg replacer. The result was an easy to make, delicious, moist, perfect white cake. My friends were amazed that it was vegan and from scratch. Better than any cake from a box!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2005

      very lovely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      my swettie loves this cake its very moist !! and super easy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All < 60 Mins Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for White Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (113 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 350.9
     
    Calories from Fat 112
    32%
    Total Fat 12.5 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 62.5 mg
    20%
    Sodium 387.6 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.7 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 29.3 g
    117%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites