Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / White Bread Plus Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    White Bread Plus

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2007

      Excellent bread. I made the it into braids as suggested. I laid them side by side on a cookie sheet, brushed each with the egg wash and then sprinkled different toppings on each: poppy seeds, sesame seeds, parmesan cheese, and Krazy salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2002

      I love to cook but stay away from the pastry/baking area. However, those with the same phobia should try this recipe. Followed it to a T, using veg. crisco and all-purpose bread flour because I wasn't sure. Fantastic Bread!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      YUUUUUUMMMMMMM! With just a bowl and spoon this turned out great! I make it every Saturday morning and by 1PM at least two loaves are gone. The only extras are cold milk and butter on the table next to my bread knife. The first batch I used Crisco instead of lard. The second batch I used sho nuff LARD and there was a definite difference. I am now LARDMAN! For cooking, not size - yet. Thanks for a great, easy recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2012

      This is the best bread recipe! I had tried it at a luncheon and I was instantly hooked. It was better than any dessert there!!! I have made it several times since then and my family eats it faster than cupcakes or cookies. This is by far my favorite bread. (Lard is the best with this bread...BIG difference)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      Delicious! I made this just as written except for using standard yeast as opposed to the fast-rising. This recipe does take a longer time to execute due to all the rising time, but it is most definitely worth it. Good things come to those who wait.... mmmmm so true!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      For years I baked 'White Bread Plus' - then my mother's 1950's version JOC came apart, and I moved without all my recipe files. Thanks ever so much for adding it to RecipeZar on the Internet. I'll share it with friends. DixieYankinHIandMI

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      This recipe is fabulous!!!!! Be patient with it. I made a loaf of bread and rolls for Easter. Oh, my god, too good!!!! Thank you so much, Jill!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2007

      I have used this recipe for years with some adjustments. Tried different oil, butter, shortening & KEPT COMING BACK to the LARD !!! Keeps it much fresher & tender. Also 2 eggs (we had LOTS of them) & used instant milk instead of the 2 cups of water If this recipe is TOO BIG - divide in half & use 2 smaller loaf pans for part of it and make the rest into Hamburger Buns - WORKS GREAT !!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      I have made this bread many times over the past couple years and have given out the recipe to others who requested a good soft white bread recipe. I only have one complaint and that's it makes too much for our small family at once, and it gets a very strong yeast flavor and odor before we can eat it all.Could be my yeast, ut havent had the problem with other recipes yet. I tried cutting the recipe down once but then had unexpected visitors and didnt have enough....so go figure. Thanks for posting it. ( :

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      I was looking for a firm and moist white bread that would hold up to gravy for our annual after Thanksgiving hot turkey sandwich marathon. I found this recipe from Jill and will never use any other white bread recipes. I didn't have lard so substituted Crisco. It made 2 large loaves. I've been baking for 40 years and this is simply the best white bread we have ever tasted. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2005

      Excellent recipe. I made the braided loaves. Got lots of positive comments. I think I have a new family favorite. Sincerely Kay

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2005

      I made this today, it was easy to make, excellent instructions, yeilded 3 loaves, and was really delicious. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2005

      I too liked it. I can stop looking for a bread recipe. I used butter instead lard. Lard is too expensive. The only problem is it makes so much; however after the first taste I don't think it will be enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2004

      One of my favorites, too! Try it sometime half whole-wheat and honey instead of sugar. yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2004

      Bread is my downfall but right now I need some for handy sandwiches etc. (It is going into the freezer so I am not tempted further but I did taste one heel MMMmmm). I don't think I have ever made bread with an egg in it so decided to try your recipe and am I ever glad that I did - three beautiful loaves, even in texture and they rose til I nearly said STOP. I did not have any Aunt Jane's Krazy Mixed up salt so obviously didn't use any. Your instructions are clear and easily understood you have earned a 5 star all around award thanks Jill for a great bread recipe. The pictures tell it all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2003

      This is very good. Made it last night, 2 loaves and 1 braid. Will probably make again. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for White Bread Plus

    Serving Size: 1 (116 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 421.8
     
    Calories from Fat 88
    20%
    Total Fat 9.8 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 23.6 mg
    7%
    Sodium 300.1 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.5 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 8.9 g
    35%
    Protein 9.3 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes