11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really wish that I could give this recipe more than 5 stars, because 5 stars doesnt even begin to describe how GOOD this bread is. I cut the recipe down to make one loaf, and made rolls out of it. The dough is just beautiful, and it raised so quickly! They taste SO amazing...so fluffy and soft. This is definitely going to be my perm. bread recipe for when I have a bit of extra time. Thanks so much!!!! I cant believe this has be posted for almost a year and has never been made. People reallllllllllly dont know what they are missing!!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
love4culinary July 10, 2003

Very good, easy to make! My daughter loves this for her PBJ sandwiches!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarabbismama November 23, 2010

Okay here is the thing... I had yeast in the cabinet havent use it ever decided to use it found this. didnt look at the serving size till have way in it and found it was for four loafs got a little upset at my mistake but in the end it was well worth it like love4culinary said "I really wish that I could give this recipe more than 5 stars..."

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pamedfor December 23, 2008

My husband and kids loves this bread!! All 4 loaves were gone in a few days.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shawnajean April 14, 2007

I decided to branch out and try some other bread recipes besides the whole wheat I have always used. I'm glad I did. I put 2 unbaked rounds into the freezer after the first rising and baked 2 huge loaves last weekend.My Kitcheaid couldn't handle the volume so I had to finish kneading by hand. I also used butter in place of the shortening and will do this again.Thanx for the recipe and for helping stock my freezer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NVirginian March 12, 2006

My mother-in-law, long deceased, made the best bread I've ever tasted. This matches it and that means a superb compliment. My wife says don't change anything in this recipe, but I did need to bake an additional 5 minutes to finish baking it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Johnny #2 April 17, 2005

Very easy to make. I needed to bake mine about 10 minutes longer to get it brown enough, but that was no big deal. This is an awesome recipe! Now the wifey is spolied because she's no longer gonna want the store bought bread. LOL!I will try this again with wheat flour and see how it comes out. Look for a rating soon using wheat flour. :::::makes happy face while stuffing face with fresh baked bread::::::

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoNuts4ThisHoney February 18, 2005

My family loved this recipe. They said that everytime I make bread I should use this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L Moore November 10, 2004

My b/f doesn't like wheat bread - I don't like store bought bread so this is a great recipe for both of us. The only thing I did different was add 4 teaspoons of gluten. I never would have thought of scalding the milk, but it MAKES the bread. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kim_michele July 12, 2004

So light and fluffy. VERY good bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sugarsweet Barbe January 01, 2004
White Bread