10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were AWESOME!! I used great northern beans- but kept everything else the same. I used my crockpot after I soaked the beans overnight. Put the beans in 1st and let them cook alone for 1 hr. on high. I sauteed the vegetables then added the ham to the skillet for about 10-15 min. I then placed it in the crockpot and let it cook with the beans all day on low. Served over rice. These were enjoyed by everyone. Thank you so much!! Made for herb of the month tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellychris February 17, 2010

My family likes their beans meaty so I added smoked sausage in addition to the ham. The diversity of this dish reminded me. I've always had the opinion that there is one thing with which I will never become bored...eating.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng September 25, 2011

Delicious! I took a major short cut by using 2 cans of beans after sauteing the onion, peppers, celery, and ham. My ham wasn't very smoky so I added a packet of Goya Sazon. I let this simmer while the rice was cooking and it turned out great, very warm and hearty. I will definitely be make this again but as written. Thanks for sahring!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLBoyle January 12, 2012

Delicious! I used great northern beans and smoked pork chops, as well as ham hocks. I couldn't find a small enough package of good ham; the pork chops worked beautifully. Also I used 1 T salt and 1 Tony Chachere's seasoning rather than 2 T salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbryT July 09, 2011

This was very good, however when I tasted the liquid I felt it was a bit bland so I added about 2 tablespoons of chicken bouillon and tons of black pepper along with more cayenne than it called for. I did not make the rice simply because I ran out of time. I am not fond of beans but my husband lives for them and he liked this very much and what is surprising is I did too, I can't wait to have them again tonight as a side dish, I bet they are even better today!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Robyn~ February 05, 2010

I made this last weekend and we just finished off the last of it today. It made a ton! We cooked in our crockpot on low and the house smelled yummy all day. Very filling and great flavor. The only change I made was reducing the salt by half. Thanks Jennie! Made for PAC Spring 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slatts April 24, 2009

This is exactly how my Daddy liked his white beans. I made them and substituted Tasso for the Ham, just to give it a little kick. Served it with a skillet of Cornbread, some fresh picked green onions and sliced tomatoes from the garden. Yum. Brought back nice memories of my Dad. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cajunhippiegirl May 27, 2008

I make this for the kids at my son's school - and it's loved by all. As most of the children are vegetarian, I omit the ham and add tomato instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lana_Herrington April 18, 2008

This is also the way I've been making it since my father taught me to cook. I'm from New Orleans and white beans don't get any better than this! Kit

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kit in NO December 31, 2007

DELICIOUS!! As a Cajun living away from home, this one brought me back! To me this equates childhood comfort food!The recipe is great JUST as it is written! I encourage anyone and everyone to TRY THIS! Thanks for sharing it with us.* Made for PAC.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bert's Kitchen Witch May 04, 2007
White Beans & Rice