59 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Easy & good. Thought it needed something... lemon, artichokes, olives, red peppers??? Not sure what, but next time I'll experiment. Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BerrySweet June 13, 2010

This was a nice change from plain old tuna salad. I decreased the oil to 1 TBSP of canola, out of olive oil, and increased the vinegar to 2 TBSP. Added red onion in place of green and a stalk of celery. I only had a 15 oz can of beans and 5 oz can tuna, but the proportions seemed to work. I think I may try this with red wine vinegar next time or add some lemon, as I wanted a little bit more zip in the flavor. Topped with cracked pepper and kosher salt, served on lettuce with crackers for a great lunch. Thanks for posting!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 March 19, 2009

My new, favorite way to eat tuna. I had to substitute the cannellini beans for garbanzo beans (chickpeas), but I didn't mind because I love them! The flavor was great. I put the cans of beans and tuna in the refrigerator before I left for work which made it easy to throw together and serve immediately.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin Riger November 01, 2008

Great recipe! I used 3 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar and only 1 tablespoon of olive oil. I've already passed this recipe on to friends. Thank you!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mybirdzone January 24, 2009

Easy, healthy and light lunch. Served over arugula. Needed salt and pepper and Next time I'll squeeze some lemon juice over top.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u August 06, 2010

This was a very good tuna salad. Thanks to other reviewers, I added celery, garlic powder instead of garlic, red pepper chili flakes and little bit of mustard. Going into the keeper file. Thanks!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty December 01, 2008

AMAZING when served on a big bed of fresh baby spinach! I'm not a big green onion fan, so I just put in a bit of dried onion flakes. Next time I may try red or Vidalia. This is a definite keeper. Thanks so much for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LillyZackMom August 31, 2008

Yum! I omitted the white beans and used garbanzos instead. I also used white onions instead of the green. Not to mention I didn't have any balsamic vinegar on hand so I used lemon juice. I added goat cheese, italian seasoning, shredded carrots, fresh parsley, and a few ribs of celery. I will be making this again when I have all the ingredients to see how it tastes normally. Hopefully I can add another review.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hannah Habababa October 02, 2008

So good and good for you. I forgot to mention that I added diced avocado to this. Had it with pita bread along with tomato and cucumber slice's on the side for a great lunch :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daisygrl64 March 02, 2014

I really loved this recipe. My husband was a little unsure at first but the more we ate, the more he appreciated the clean flavors. I made mine with garbanzo beans and used garlic powder instead of fresh then placed it on a bed of mixed greens. What a low carb, delicious salad that I will make often. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Lynn~ June 06, 2012
White Bean & Tuna Salad