Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / White Bean Soup with Ham Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    White Bean Soup with Ham

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 09, 2011

      Delicious! I used 1 small onion, chopped fine. Wonderful! thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2010

      Multiplied the recipe 20 times (!) because I work in an industrial kitchen, it was fabulous! VERY simple, and inexpensive. I made 4 additions: sauteed the onions in butter before adding broth; chopped up some celery and sauteed with the onions, added a few bay leaves and some thyme during the simmering. I also soaked the beans previous to cooking. Otherwise, used the ratios exactly according to recipe and it was delicious! Thanks for sharing, it was my first time ever making this type of soup. Everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2013

      I use ham shanks they are meatier and the meat is better tasting then hocks and the have the same smoky flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2005

      So glad I didn't have to soak the beans overnite and the results were the same. I used 2 cups veg stock and 4 cups beef broth and 4 cups water. Also added a can chopped tomatoes and some garlic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      I am giving this five stars because it is really hard to make this type of recipe flavorful and your recipe is able to accomplish that with few ingredients! I used 12 cups beef stock. Instead of quartering the onions - I simply diced them. Thanks for a hearty winter-type easy recipe! Made for the September 2010 Aussie/NZ recipe swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      This is such a simple recipe and not time consuming. Since I am a diabetic I used chicken thighs and legs instead of smoked ham, along with low salt chicken bouillon cubes (to equal 3 cups chicken broth), plus 3 cups vegetable stock, 3 cups water, 3 cups beef broth, and vidalia onions. I saved the chicken to make chicken salad thereby creating another light meal for lunch. I love this web site of recipes. With so many varities of meals they save me so much time in the kitchen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      Anything by Mark Bittman is 5 stars in my booK! Simple and easy. I still add carrots and bay leaf - you can't beat him for the basics. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      This is a great and simple soup recipe. I like the added flavor of using chicken broth instead of just water. The onion also added another great layer of flavor. I didn't use ham hocks and instead tossed in a very meaty bone from our spiral baked ham. It was perfection, although my beans did need almost 2 hours to become tender. It wasn't a worry, as I cooked this on a lazy Sunday to enjoy later in the week for an easy dinner with Sissy's Can't Wait for Dinner Cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for White Bean Soup with Ham

    Serving Size: 1 (542 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 374.4
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    25%
    Total Fat 10.5 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 62.9 mg
    20%
    Sodium 557.0 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 32.4 g
    64%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes