16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I also used canned beans and found this recipe to be super easy to put together and so bright and flavorful! The leftovers were whizzed in the food processor with a little sour cream and made a delicious dip for veggies and whole wheat chips. Will definitely do this one again and again! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SloppyJoe July 12, 2010

This was very good, but I agree with using less oil. I also used canned great northern beans, cooked some bacon and cooked the onions in the bacon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Everything Sweet June 19, 2012

This was yummy. I followed other reviewers by halving the oil and sauteeing the onion. I also doubled the parsley. Nice combo of flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito December 24, 2010

I really enjoyed this recipe. So easy using canned beans but I did cut in half the olive oil and the cayenne pepper. I love beans and will be making this again. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie in Indy February 28, 2010

Great salad! Would be a great addition to a picnic lunch or potluck. Nice, light yet filling!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) February 24, 2010

I made a couple of changes to this recipe. I used canned northern beans. I also cooked the onion & added some preserved lemon. DH loved it. Made for Ramadan Tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh August 27, 2009

Great salad - a meal in itself.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NannyMarvel January 17, 2009

Great, lemon and cumin flavor. I Substituted Fresh Cannellini Beans from the garden and turned out GREAT. I tagged this recipe and what a great choice it was. Thanks for posting, this one is on it's way to my Salad Cookbook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby November 16, 2008

Great recipe, Annacia, but I'm also very grateful to the photographers who enticed me to try it, and suggestions from several earlier reviewers. If you're working full time, who isn't going to look for shortcuts so, yes, I used canned (cannellini) beans! I also used only 3 tablespoons of oil - which was ample - and omitted the cayenne pepper or rather substituted it with freshly ground black pepper (personal taste preference). Just loved the blend of the olive oil, lemon juice and cumin in the dressing: love all those ingredients. And I'm certainly keeping in mind Evelyn/Athens' suggestion of adding some canned tuna (or salmon, I'm thinking, and some dill) to this recipe to turn it into a fabulous summer one dish meal. Made for the Went to the Market Tag Game. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder November 02, 2008
White Bean Salad With Lemon and Cumin