Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / White Bean Piccata Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    White Bean Piccata

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on September 13, 2008

      Enjoyed this tasty dish. It actually took much less time to make than the recipe suggests. Minced the onions and garlic. Then started the oil heating while I got the broth going. By that time the oil was hot enough to add the onions and garlic. Gave that a good stir and while it was doing it's thing, I got the rest of the ingredients ready. Then it was time to add the flour and follow the rest of the steps. I wanted to add some color and also didn't want to have to fix a salad or other side, so after the sauce thickened, I add two big handfuls of freash spinach, covered the pan and let that sit for about 5-6 minutes until the spinach wilted. I'd thought about serving with rice because beans and rice is a combo I'm more familiar with, but I'm glad I stuck with noodles because the sauce really clung to the pasta well. Two things I would do different next time is use more beans and less lemon juice. We did use capers and that might be why the tartness was a bit too strong for us. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      This is a wonderful recipe, which I prepared as directed by the instructions, just adding a bit of spinach at the end and not using the capers. I did prepare this ahead of time, fully intending to serve over spaghetti for dinner. However, upon tasting it , I said to heck with the spaghetti and just heated it and ate it as a soup. I just love the fresh clean flavor that the lemon juice gave the beans. Who needs veal or chicken? The beans hit the spot. However, the next time I would like to try it with the capers and serve over spaghetti, to be true to the recipe. Yummy! Thanks EGA!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2005

      My first piccata! I love lemon and am always looking for a new way to use beans so this was perfect! I cooked 1 c. of dry navy beans, which probably made too many beans, but I used them all anyway. Also doubled the garlic and omitted the capers (never had them but you all convinced me they must be really gross!) I didn't serve it over noodles either-it was plenty starchy on it's own (for me) and I liked the flavor so much I didn't want anything to detract from it! Thanks~

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2012

      Just made this for the 2nd time and really like it but with some minor changes. My first time making it, I only added 4 Tbls. lemon juice (after tasting it, I thought 5 Tbls would be too sour for me) and one can of beans. The second time, I also sauteed 1/2 cup celery with the onions, used Better Than Boullion with water for the veg broth, and a can of great northern beans as well as a can of pinto beans. Served on whole wheat rotini. Update 8/26/12 Wanted to add that, yes, I did use the capers, which I love. I guess I don't understand the aversion to them. They're nothing but pickled flower buds from a caper bush.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2012

      I liked this a lot. Next time I will add sauteed fresh mushrooms and swiss chard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Delicious! Both I and the DH love capers (if you do too, see my recipe for fish fillets with lemon and capers -- #394159), so I was pretty sure this would be a hit. Added 2/3 of a green pepper (chopped) and two handfuls of baby spinach as recommended, and served it over penne, which is what I had in the house at the time. Yummy, and will definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      This is very yummy! I made as suggested except I added some red peppers in with the onions just to add a splash of color and a couple of handfuls of spinach per little_wings suggestion. Very good I will be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      This was a great pasta dish! The only changes I made were to omit the salt--at least with my veggie broth and the capers, it was PLENTY salty already--and to add about 1/4 cup of white wine. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      Wow, this was a hit with the lemon lover I married. It was a bit intense for me but other than that this was a terrific dish and benefits greatly from the addition of some chopped fresh herb(s) just before serving. I used whole wheat flour and pasta and thought they both worked well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      This was delicious and my husband liked it too. I found it was easy to make. I would serve it with egg noodles instead of spagetti. I almost always add way more lemon than recipes call for...but this one was just right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2007

      I had been wanting to try this for ages and with my local farmers market closed for a few weeks over the new year, we were reduced to cupboard staples! We added the capers and felt it enhanced the taste of the dish (we used wholegrain penne - stronger in flavour than white pasta). We also added some finely slivered flat leaf parsley just before serving for a bit of colour, and think mint would also work quite well. I love lemon and couldn't get enough of this sauce! Delicious, easy and budget friendly. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2005

      Simple yet delicious. For dietary reasons I used 3/4c broth and 3/4c. water and omitted the salt and capers to reduce the sodium content . Despite this the sauce did not lack in flavor. The lemon blends extremely well with the beans and when served with pasta, makes for a rich hearty meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2005

      Very, very delicious, Angie. I doubled the garlic because I never cook anything with less than 2 cloves of garlic. That is the only minor addition I made. I loved the lemony flavor and it wasn't too strong for me. But I would recommend adding it to taste because some people are very sensitive to lemon flavor. Satisfied my starch/comfort food craving and was healthy too. Thanks for sharing this--will return to it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2004

      This tastes a lot better than it sounds or looks! It is all beige, except for the capers (which I love even though I'm not usually a big fan of anything brined or pickled). You've got beige beans in a gooey sauce over beige pasta. It doesn't taste beige, though; it tastes sunny from the lemons and capers, but has a starchy, warming, comforting texture. I was wondering how this would work, because I do make snapper or chicken piccata fairly often, which involve fillets of things, rather than the small individual beans. This does indeed have a different texture despite the similar ingredients; with a filet of something you flour and brown it and the flour mostly sticks to it. It would be hard to get flour to stick to beans, so this (as I cooked it) had a thicker sauce and a slightly different taste because the flour was not browned. Overall, this had a nice comforting flavor and makes a healthy alternative to most starchy casseroles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2004

      Wow! I was pretty sure this was going to be really good or really bad and fortunately it was the former! I don't think I've ever had a piccata before, but I love it with the cannellini beans! I did omit the capers since I didn't have any (like EdsGirlAngie I think they're gross) and followed RĂ©eLani's lead and used chicken broth. Really a tasty and filling meal! I used whole wheat pastry flour for the flour actually and served over whole wheat pasta... we almost strictly eat whole grains, but I just wanted to mention that whole wheat flour works fine for the roux and the flavors of this are strong enough that they can take on a hearty whole wheat pasta. I did add a splash of cream to the mix, because I felt it was wanting a bit of richness and we served with plenty of fresh parmesean. Really terrific dinner. In all honesty, considering the amount of 'sauce' I have left in my pot, I think I might have been able to get up to 6 servings out of this! Very quick and easy supper, especially with the canned beans. Oh! I also only used 4 Tbs lemon juice, to taste, but I think my juice is tarter than some. Served with Amazing Garlic Bread (#46183) on the side. Great dinner! BF and I were both surprised at how much we liked this (and how filling it is!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2004

      Mmmm...simple to prepare and so lemony good! I used chicken broth instead of veggie broth 'cause that's what I had in the cupboard. Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for White Bean Piccata

    Serving Size: 1 (229 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 326.1
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    27%
    Total Fat 10.0 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 964.5 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 15.2 g
    60%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 12.8 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites