Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / White Bean Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    White Bean Chowder

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 17, 2010

      This soup was adapted for the slow cooker as follows: cooked the dry beans in the morning. Sauteed onion, garlic and celery in a small amount of olive oil. Added all ingredients except for can of green chilies to the pot and cooked on LOW 4 1/2 hours. Milk was added the last ten minutes of cooking and heated through. Fresh chilies were sliced up and served on the side along with Cornbread. Reviewed for Veg Swap #19.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

      Very good soup. Made it as is. A couple a little tweaks, extra garlic. My preference, I used chicken broth vs veggie, but you mentioned either. I used white cheddar again because I had it on hand, but no difference in taste and I used 1/2 cream, and 1/2 milk because the milk I had was 2%. It worked out fine. And the carrot, I just fine diced, but again no change in flavor. I used cannellini vs great northern, but either or, basic same flavor and texture; besides that way I didn't have to go to the store. I loved it, very hearty, great flavors that all blended very nicely. Loved the cumin, spice and the cilantro to finish it off.

      I did do mine stove top as I was in a hurry, but sauteed the veggies, added the broth beans, seasoning and just simmered. Very very easy to put together.

      I will definitely be making this again. I love to have an all veggie soup sometimes for a change. It was excellent!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      Great taste and easy to make. If you don't have a lot of time, get Mirepoix (a mix of chopped carrots, onions, and celery) either in the produce or frozen vegetables section. Then you only need to throw everything together, a matter of minutes.
      And I just realized another advantage...this recipe can be low-sodium. There is some salt in the beans and cheese but when you rinse the beans that removes some of the salt. Just use low-sodium broth and you're on your way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2011

    • on December 19, 2010

      This was even better than I thought it would be! Even DH liked it a lot! Made exactly as directed using white cannellini beans since I couldn't find great northern beans and wouldn't change another thing. Thanks, StarryNews! Made for Veggie Recipe Swap 29, December 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      Very nice soup! I took Cookgirl's lead and sauteed the veggies stovetop then dumped everything in the crockpot for about 3 hours on low. I then put it on the stove again and brought it to a boil then simmered for about 5 minutes to get it really thick. The only sub I made was to use lowfat Velveeta for the cheddar. I also added salt and some Trader Joe's 21 Seasoning Salute for extra flavor at the end. I ended up using 3 cans of beans instead of 1 and next time I would add more carrots too. I HIGHLY recommend making this a day ahead to give it time for the flavors to develop fully - it is SO much better on day two!!! Hubby actually went back for seconds. Served this with a side of garlic bread topped with goat cheese/tomato and broiled. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      This was really good. We had the odd craving to put peanuts on it, and it actually worked nicely! I also cut the cayenne in half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      Fabulous chowder. I loved the spiciness. It was just enough, without being overpowering. Even my kids, who don't typically like beans, ate this soup and talked about how good it was. I'm packing some of the leftovers for my lunch today! Made as is and it was perfect. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      Easy, warm, filling. I made this on a snowy, cold day, paired with cornbread muffins. I adapted it for dried beans; I didn't have any carrot; and I subbed 1 Tbsp flour for the cornstarch. I didn't add the spices til it had simmered awhile, b/c I ladled out some for my toddler before spicing it up. I'd make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      Fabulous, simple to prepare and delicious! I'm not quite sure what Great Northern Beans are, so I used butter beans, which worked very well. I also didn't have celery, altho I thought I had, so I used zucchini instead - otherwise, exactly as per recipe. Using vegetable broth. We very much enjoyed this thick, nourishing, easy to prepare soup, fabulous when I come home from work, this is a definite make-again for me. Made for veg*n swap#19, thank you, Starrynews!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      Made this for lunch today...very quick and simple which was a plus. The only change I will from now on is to leave out the carrot and celery as we all felt they didn't blend well with the seasonings. This will become a regular on our winter lunch rotation because of the ease...which makes it an ideal meal for our busy homeschool schedule. Made and Reviewed for the Feb-Mar 2010/Special Event Potluck Tag Game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      We do love bean soup around here, & this makes for one that is GREAT TASTING, for sure! I did follow the recipe, with but one exception ~ I added a can of cream corn & thought that worked well! I particularly liked the inclusion of the green chilies & garlic! A very nice keeper of a recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed for my chosen chef in the Vegetarian/Vegan Recipe Swap 19]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      This was a total winner for me too. I was a bit hesitant about the milk but forged ahead and was glad that I did. It made a soup that has a very mild Southwestern influence and is smooth and creamy tasting. I used navy beans, veggie broth and a med cheddar. If you like something with a bit more bite just increase the Cayenne.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      This was yummy! I didn't add the milk - I was almost out and need it for the kiddos cereal! But we added sour cream or doritos to our bowls and it was very good. Thanks for sharing, this is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      Very delicious sweet, almost smokey flavor. Nice change-up from the sausage bean soups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for White Bean Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (332 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 354.5
     
    Calories from Fat 107
    30%
    Total Fat 11.9 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 31.1 mg
    10%
    Sodium 183.0 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.4 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 10.4 g
    41%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 19.3 g
    38%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes