15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This soup was adapted for the slow cooker as follows: cooked the dry beans in the morning. Sauteed onion, garlic and celery in a small amount of olive oil. Added all ingredients except for can of green chilies to the pot and cooked on LOW 4 1/2 hours. Milk was added the last ten minutes of cooking and heated through. Fresh chilies were sliced up and served on the side along with Cornbread. Reviewed for Veg Swap #19.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookgirl February 17, 2010

Very good soup. Made it as is. A couple a little tweaks, extra garlic. My preference, I used chicken broth vs veggie, but you mentioned either. I used white cheddar again because I had it on hand, but no difference in taste and I used 1/2 cream, and 1/2 milk because the milk I had was 2%. It worked out fine. And the carrot, I just fine diced, but again no change in flavor. I used cannellini vs great northern, but either or, basic same flavor and texture; besides that way I didn't have to go to the store. I loved it, very hearty, great flavors that all blended very nicely. Loved the cumin, spice and the cilantro to finish it off.

I did do mine stove top as I was in a hurry, but sauteed the veggies, added the broth beans, seasoning and just simmered. Very very easy to put together.

I will definitely be making this again. I love to have an all veggie soup sometimes for a change. It was excellent!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook December 08, 2010

Great taste and easy to make. If you don't have a lot of time, get Mirepoix (a mix of chopped carrots, onions, and celery) either in the produce or frozen vegetables section. Then you only need to throw everything together, a matter of minutes.
And I just realized another advantage...this recipe can be low-sodium. There is some salt in the beans and cheese but when you rinse the beans that removes some of the salt. Just use low-sodium broth and you're on your way!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slh1078_7720168 October 10, 2011

This was even better than I thought it would be! Even DH liked it a lot! Made exactly as directed using white cannellini beans since I couldn't find great northern beans and wouldn't change another thing. Thanks, StarryNews! Made for Veggie Recipe Swap 29, December 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees December 19, 2010

Very nice soup! I took Cookgirl's lead and sauteed the veggies stovetop then dumped everything in the crockpot for about 3 hours on low. I then put it on the stove again and brought it to a boil then simmered for about 5 minutes to get it really thick. The only sub I made was to use lowfat Velveeta for the cheddar. I also added salt and some Trader Joe's 21 Seasoning Salute for extra flavor at the end. I ended up using 3 cans of beans instead of 1 and next time I would add more carrots too. I HIGHLY recommend making this a day ahead to give it time for the flavors to develop fully - it is SO much better on day two!!! Hubby actually went back for seconds. Served this with a side of garlic bread topped with goat cheese/tomato and broiled. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride September 22, 2010

This was really good. We had the odd craving to put peanuts on it, and it actually worked nicely! I also cut the cayenne in half.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito May 12, 2010

Fabulous chowder. I loved the spiciness. It was just enough, without being overpowering. Even my kids, who don't typically like beans, ate this soup and talked about how good it was. I'm packing some of the leftovers for my lunch today! Made as is and it was perfect. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood March 29, 2010

Easy, warm, filling. I made this on a snowy, cold day, paired with cornbread muffins. I adapted it for dried beans; I didn't have any carrot; and I subbed 1 Tbsp flour for the cornstarch. I didn't add the spices til it had simmered awhile, b/c I ladled out some for my toddler before spicing it up. I'd make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newspapergal March 22, 2010

Fabulous, simple to prepare and delicious! I'm not quite sure what Great Northern Beans are, so I used butter beans, which worked very well. I also didn't have celery, altho I thought I had, so I used zucchini instead - otherwise, exactly as per recipe. Using vegetable broth. We very much enjoyed this thick, nourishing, easy to prepare soup, fabulous when I come home from work, this is a definite make-again for me. Made for veg*n swap#19, thank you, Starrynews!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth February 19, 2010
White Bean Chowder