8 Reviews

This was smooth, creamy, light and delicious! I used a variety of 5 small (4"-6") eggplants (I have no idea how much this weighs) and added a touch extra lemon juice and parsley, but otherwise followed instructions exactly. I also peeled the eggplants. I will absolutely make this again and again - it's so great!! The only other note is that the prep/cook time isn't correct if you count in the cooking time of the eggplant for 20-25 min first. Next time I may double and roast the garlic too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rsnelling42 September 22, 2012

Absolutely incredible.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizs242 June 12, 2012

We are having dinner guests tonight and I made this recipe as an appetizer. I have already been sampling it and I love it. I copied it down and added it to my book of "keepers." This has wonderful flavor and consistency. I didn't modify the recipe at all. It is really nice as is. I'm serving it with pita chips. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny December 18, 2010

I used about 3 tbsp of water instead of the olive oil to lower the fat and calories since I'm doing Weight Watchers. It was worthy of a 4 star rating with the water but I'm rating it based on how I imagine it would taste with the olive oil. I think there's something wrong with the nutritional calculations. The olive oil alone adds over 600 calories and almost 70 grams of fat. The tahini is high in calories and fat too, so I think either the tahini or the olive oil was left out of the nutritional calculation. I served this with sliced cucumber and baby carrots.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcG December 15, 2010

Fabulous recipe here. I had an eggplant for the garden and this recipe put it to very good use. This tastes like a dressed up version of hummus. The consitency is light and creamy. The roasted eggplant and garlic really pump up the flavor. We love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood September 01, 2010

DH loved this! Beans in baba ghanoush is a little different for me but it was tasty. Made for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dana June 27, 2010

Very different from the Baba Ghanoush I usually make as my recipe does not incorporate beans. Having said that - this is a great version! I did add literally 2 drops of liquid smoke as I like to give baba ghanoush a slightly smoky flavour (and my family has come to expect it). Lovely. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 14, 2010

I have never had roasted eggplant before and I could have eaten the whole thing! It really works well with the chick peas. Easy to follow instructions to make this wonderful dip. Served this with homemade pita chips, cucumber and carrots. Made for ZWT 6

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susie cooks June 07, 2010
White Bean and Roasted Eggplant Hummus (Baba Ghanoush)