11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I added 1 1/2 cups of diced tasso but you could use pancetta or even ham or bacon. It gave it a richness of flavor. I also recommend getting a good parmasan cheese like regianno, not the already grated kind. We loved it! This will become one of my staple winter soups.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky November 19, 2001

I substitute whole wheat bow tie pasta to increase fiber. This is delicious.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheri October 30, 2001

This is the most wonderful soup that we've had in a long while. It's so flavorful. I add a little smoked bacon to it. I gave it to several people and the comments were the same. You have a winner here! Happyclip

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happyclip1 December 03, 2001

I had really mixed feelings about this soup. On the one hand it was easy to make and I almost always have the ingredients on hand. On the other hand, I had to add a LOT of salt. First I tried adding more sun-dried tomatoes and some balsamic vinegar but it was still kind of bland, so in went the salt. Also, the farfalle really sucked up a lot of broth. I think orzo or ditalini would be a better choice for the pasta unless you're going to eat the entire batch right away.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chiclet March 29, 2008

Loved this recipe! I used celery as this is what I had on hand and I used vegetable broth as I am a vegetarian. I also used whole wheat rotini instead of bow tie pasta and I subtituted thyme as I did not have any bay leaves on hand. Very "earthy" tasting, will be making again! Thanks for sharing! BTW, this is very good to eat when you have a cold :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannon Holmes August 16, 2007

We loved this!! I used a can of cannellini beans that I added in at the end and I threw in some extra garlic! Didn't reconstitute tomatoes and will add cooked, shredded chicken next time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino p.o. prn January 25, 2007

Just finished eating this and everyone loved it!! We had garlic bread with it which complements it really nicely. I actually made mine in the crock pot and it turned out great. Will be making this again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mom_of_4 January 09, 2007

My husband made this for us and it was delicious! He used celery, a teaspoon of fennel seeds, and orzo pasta. He also cut back a little on the sundried tomatoes since we only have the kind in oil and he thought it might be too salty. The soup was thick and flavorful, but the hint of fennel was was what made it phenomenal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Literary Mom March 27, 2006

I have to agree with everyone else that this soup is delicious. I followed the trend of the other reviewers and added some bacon. Other than that, I stuck to the recipe. Thank you very much for posting it. PS I want to add that when eaten right away the consistency of the soup was perfect. However, after letting it sit for 3 or 4 hours the pasta absorbed most of the liquid. It is still delicious, but not exactly soup anymore. So if you're planning to keep some for later eating it may be better to cook the pasta separately and add as needed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mianbao February 08, 2004

Easy and tastes even beter the next day

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jim McVey October 19, 2002
White Bean and Pasta Soup With Sun-Dried Tomatoes