Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / White Batter Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    White Batter Bread

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on October 27, 2002

      This is my mom's recipe that I have lost and it is only fitting that Inez had it (you are a wonderful cook dear and my mentor in the kitchen!) I love this bread, especially for stews and soups. It makes the greatest toast. Thank you for sharing ;-) Even people who can't cook can't go wrong with this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2003

      I was so excited about trying this bread after reading so many 5 star reviews, and Inez's recipes speak for themselves in any case. However, I was disappointed in how unmanageable the dough was, incredibly sticky and it rose so fast and so high. The resulting bread from this batch was delicious, although very crumbly. I spoke with Inez, initially I thought I had done something wrong. After reading her suggestions, and the suggestions of others, I decided to try the bread one more time, this time adding some more flour if the dough was too sticky. I also made sure that I used the amount of yeast that Inez called for (I checked with her about the weight of American yeast packages). Again, the dough was very sticky, I couldn't handle it at all except to scrape it into a pan. Again, it rose at an alarming rate, especially in the over, where I thought it would get to high and collapse over the pan. Again, the bread itself was delicious, but very crumbly. So the recipe initally gets 5 stars for yumminess, but I took off 2 stars for the difficulty that it gave me. Inez, I'm so pleased that this works for you and for others, keep posting your amazing recipes. I'm sorry I couldn't rave over this recipe as I have with other recipes of yours. You're one of the most respected chefs here at this site, and I guess this is just one of those cases where "it's not you, it's me" ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2002

      God help me, this is the best bread I've ever made. Usually, I by my dough from an expensive resteraunt 20 minutes away. But today it was snowing, kids home from school and I just picked this recipe and did it. Let me tell you, that resteraunt should be ashamed of themselves! I will never get dough from there again! This was so wonderful, we ate 1 whole loaf as soon as it came out of the oven. I made one braided loaf, and one round loaf. I didn't use loaf pans, and they are gorgeous! I want to make this at least once a week! Thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2003

      I decided to try this recipe myself after seeing Mirj's and Inez' discussion regarding it on the boards. Like Mirj, I've really enjoyed Inez' recipes and will be making more of them. Unfortunately, also like Mirj, I had the same problems. I ended up making it a second time and still was not satisfied with the results. Both times I made the recipe as is, but the second time, I baked it sooner as it was mentioned in the discussion that it should not be allowed to raise beyond the top of the bread pan before beginning to bake. It does have a delightful flavor and since I have a toaster/convection oven, I was able to work with the crumbliness the following day by toasting it (when I tried using the uncut loaf the following morning to make DH's sandwiches for work, it tended to crumble apart). This is an extremely quick bread-making recipe so I really wish it would have worked out for me. Thank you for giving me an opportunity to try it though Inez!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2003

      I tried this recipe for the first time on 2-2-03. I had 'dough' and not 'batter'. I wasn't very careful in measuring the flour and I think I added too much. The resulting loaf was quite heavy, but nicely moist. I just made two more loaves of this bread last night (2-8-03) and they turned out just perfectly! I experimented and in one loaf I added 2 Tbsp potato flakes and 2 Tbsp dry powdered milk. I wanted to see if it would make a difference in the texture. I mixed each loaf up separately (halved the recipe). I used exactly 3 cups flour in each loaf, which made a batter that was very thick and sticky. The one with milk and potato raised just slightly faster than the plain one, and it had a smoother looking top surface. I used all-purpose flour instead of bread flour. I find I like the texture of loaves made with all-purpose better. I followed the times for rising exactly as in the recipe. I put the covered loaves in my oven to rise after turning it on briefly for a few seconds to warm it slightly, and then left the light on to maintain the warmth. I used nine-inch pans so I didn't let it rise quite to the top since the pan was larger, however it was pretty close to double in bulk. Since this is a very sticky batter, I didn't want to cover the rising loaves with plastic wrap in case it might stick to it so I inverted a large plastic storage container, using the lid as a tray to sit the loaves on and then covered it with the container. My container was clear so it was easy to see the rising progress. After rising I put the loaves in the cold oven and then turned the oven on to bake. Baked exactly the length of time in the recipe. Both loaves are equally moist. Comparing this to other breads (non batter breads), this bread comes out VERY moist. It is so moist it is almost doughy tasting when sliced hot from the oven. Today is the second day for my loaves and they are still very moist. The texture is close to perfect. It is fairly fine grained, but not heavy at all. I would actually almost classify it as fluffy. It is not crumbly at all and slices cut well and hold their crumb just fine. I think one factor that is critical in success for this recipe is to catch it at just the right stage in rising. Too little rising = heavy bread, too much rising = crumbly bread. Since this recipe rises quite quickly you must watch it closely to catch it just right. Oh, and the comparison of the potato/milk version with the plain version - I really couldn't see that much difference in texture, moistness, or flavor. It was pretty much a wash, which actually surprised me. Thanks for a yummy and easy bread recipe Inez!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2003

      My first attempt at making home made bread was an UNBELIEVABLE success due to this recipe!! Thank you so much for posting this one, Inez!! I halved the recipe due to supply issues, but I am going to scrimp and save so I can make both loaves next time--my house smells like HEAVEN and my mouth is watering..even a blundering baker like myself couldn't mess this one up..easy as pie and twice as yummy!! Too bad five stars is the max--I'd give it 20 !!!! Thanks again!! Teresa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2003

      Wonderful simple bread recipe! This was the easiest yeast bread I've ever made - what could be more simple than no kneading. I was so thrilled to find that the recipe produced a hearty bread (not fluffy and airy). I cut myself a slice of bread right out of the oven, as you suggested, and smeared it with butter - thought I was in 7th heaven. What a surprised for my family when they had homemade bread for dinner. Think I'll be making homemade bread more often in the future. Thanks for another wonderful recipe Inez! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2003

      This was my first attempt at homemade bread too, and man was it a success! I made two round loaves and won't be eating dinner tonight as I plow through one of them with butter, jam, cheese and anything else I can get my hands on. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2002

      This recipe is identical to the one that I always used .My kitchen ate the recipe card so I haven't been able to make it for a long time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2003

      Amazing recipe!! This is simple to make and is super good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2003

      I have made this recipe twice with different but delicious results. The first time I made it, I don't think I let it rise enough the first rise, and ended up with a white bread with the dense, moist texture of a "banana bread" (definitely like a batter bread). The second time, I let it rise more, and ended up with more of a traditional white bread texture. Both ways were delicious! I also don't have two 8"X4" loaf pans, so I did one loaf in a 1.5L corelle casserole dish with great results. This recipe is also much faster than even the bread maker, so it is so easy to have fresh bread anytime!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2003

      Very good! The dough was as mentioned- more doughy than battery- so don't worry- I noticed other reviews said they thought they didit wrong- but it turned out just wonderful! Thank you Inez!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2003

      Sorry Dani. I live in Canada and the bread turned out perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2003

      The reviews on this recipe intrigued me so I did some homework and gave it a whirl. The reason some are having problems are that quick/easy mix bread methods can not be done in Canada. Differences (according to Better Homes & Gardens) in our yeasts make it impossible. Even changing and reducing the liquids as you must for high elevations; it just won't work out. I'm in the Southern US-made the recipe according to directions, measuring flour precisely. I had no problem with stickiness. It was slightly sticky, but floured hands pulled it right off the mixer paddle. I sprayed the paddle with PAM before beating it the 30 seconds in the final stage. It was easy to handle and I used hardly any additional flour dividing the dough and hand rolling it into two braided wreaths. Because I wasn't doing loaves, I increased baking temp to 375 and baked for about 25 minutes until just lightly golden. Then I took a naughty stick of butter to it and rubbed it down good while it was hot. This is a great recipe. It has a great flavor and texture (especially for white bread). I think it's perfect for soup and to take to a neighbor. Not crusty or crumbly at all. We were having it for dinner but I'm afraid I've already eaten a third of it! Four stars only because it wasn't really any faster than other bread recipes. It took just as long as if I'd kneaded; with the exception of shorter rising time. But do note-this is my new white bread recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2003

      I made a half recipe to "test it out". My son and I ate half of the loaf before it could cool. FANTASTIC recipe, terrifice toast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2003

      Hi Inez; WOW & more WOW! This bread turned out just super-great. I followed your recipe exactly, perfect amounts you specified. I made 5 mini-loaves instead of using the 8 inch loaf pans. The dough rose above the pans beautifully. Baked them at 325 F for 35 minutes, browned perfect. The texture of the bread was absolutely perfect. I also rubbed the top of each loaf with some butter and this kept the crust from getting hard. I ate 1/2 the mini-loaf soon as I could cut it. I used butter and fresh liquid honey, Oh GEEZ, talk about wanting more, WOW!!! The recipe is so easy to make and I just cannot see why anyone would have trouble getting the dough just right. This is a must to bake every week. Thanks so much Inez. \

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2003

      What an easy, tasty recipe. I think would be a great recipe for a beginner to try, as it was very easy to follow and requires no kneading. The directions were very precise and resulted in two lovely loaves of bread. The crust is a bit on the crunchy side - you may wish to peek at them a bit earlier than 45 minutes. We really enjoyed this. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2003

      OH MY GOODNESS...where do I start? This bread was so good...no great...no wonderful! I have never ever made bread on my own before and this recipe was so easy. I have to admit though...while the bread was rising I was going over everthing in my head to make sure I did everything right, I came to realize that I forgot the shortening...Ooops! The bread still came out fantastic in my book. The last 10 minutes of baking I rubbed butter on the top. When I took it out of the oven I had to have a hot piece right then and there. I took a slice and put a little more butter and sat there and ate it with my eyes rolling to the back of my head :) My husband and I couldn't stop talking about how good it was. I will definitely be making this again. No more refrigerated dinner bread or rolls for us again. I have found my new bread recipe! Thanks for a GREAT post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      Love, love, love this bread! I tried this just on a whim, not expecting much, I was just too lazy tp knead bread that day and I haven't regretted the decision to try it! I was making it with all purpose flour and it came out perfect and delicious every time, but now I use this recipe for my whole grain bread too and it comes out just perfect, better than any recipe I have used that I have to knead. I scale it down to one loaf usually, use 1 1/2 cups whole grain flour, 1/2 - 1 cup oat bran and about a cup of all purpose flour or buckwheat flour (whatever is in reach at the time! lol) and of course I have to up the water slightly as well. I know that I will never ever use another recipe for whole grain bread again because this makes the most beautiful loaf. Also I just wanted to mention that I am in Canada and have never had a problem with this at all. Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2004

      Like Donna, I had 'dough', not batter. Not that that is a bad thing, just different than what I thought. By the end, I was using my hands to incorporate the flour as it had gotten pretty stiff (but still a sticky dough). I liked the result - not crumbly at all, slices nicely, nice light texture. It's been very cold lately and w/the heat going constantly my apartment is bone-dry ... perhaps I didn't need as much flour under those conditions? One other thing, I put the sugar in the water when I proofed the yeast, then added the flour, then the salt.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for White Batter Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 140.6
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    21%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 292.4 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites