336 Reviews

I made this for our wedding cake and used all vanilla; I used joy of cooking cream cheese frosting. It was VERY very popular (as noted by the other reviewers). Very straightforward recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephmeans August 20, 2012

I love this recipe. It's dense enough for tiering yet moist and great flavor. The first time I used it was for my daughters wedding cake. I have since used it for all of my cakes and get great feedback everytime. I used the chocolate variation for a garden party cake and everyone loved it. Thank you for this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cltee July 26, 2012

I love this cake and so does my family. I didn't use the almond extract but instead I used butter pecan extract. It was great. My sister makes a home made cake but it is not moist but has good flavor. I think this one tops it and so does the rest of my family. This is going to be the cake that I make from now on. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tmhaendel July 25, 2012

I made this recipe in white, chocolate, and lemon flavor for my Son's weeding in April 2012. It was awesome. I mistakenly used flavored coffee when I made the chocolate cake. Took it to work for the taste testing by my coworkers before the wedding. They said it tasted like I put coconut in the cake. They loved it. Well, I had used Snicker Doodle flavored coffee and it gave the cake a wonderful flavore. So I make one of the cakes for my son's wedding that way. Someone came up to me after and said it was the best chocolate cake she had ever tased. The wedding cake was a hit. Thanks for this recipe -- I will use it over and over.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swilford July 21, 2012

I've been making this cake since 2009. It turns out perfectly every time. I make the 12 x 18. I've made the vanilla and the chocolate. I've even used the vanilla recipe for tres leche cake...PERFECT! It always gets rave reviews.
LOVE this recipe. Thanks Donna M.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eliz10 February 15, 2012

I have made this cake several times for different family get togethers, and every time it has gotten rave reviews. It is so moist, and the flavor is incredible. I add a little cream bouquet to the cake batter as well as the buttercream icing to give it that little something extra. I actually wanted to make this cake for my wedding (in cupcakes)....it is that wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WarEagle7186 January 17, 2012

Wow! What an awesome cake! I love the variations on the bottom to make this as a chocolate cake or a lemon cake. Very easy to half and make in a 9x13 pan. Superb!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MNCupcake January 01, 2012

Absolutely loved this recipe! I had a sweet tooth after watching Cake Boss on TLC and went searching for a new cake recipe. I found this one, baked it up and had everyone say how great they are!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K&Ks Mom December 05, 2011

I made this recipe yesterday as one of the many testers for my daughters Wedding cake coming up in 3 weeks time. All I can say is WOW, what a wonderful recipe, moist and delicious. I had to leave the almond extract out as we have some nut allergy people attending the wedding, but replaced it with the lemon flavor that you also supplied and it was wonderful. Thank you for this recipe as it is a clear winner and I don't have to make any more "tester" cakes. I suggest to anyone looking for a wedding cake recipe to "look no more" as this is a good base for any flavor cake and with all the sizes, there is no guessing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
simmo526 September 16, 2011

This is great and love the way all the different sized pans are catered for, no need for scaling up, gets my top vote!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madeitwithlove August 18, 2011
White Almond Sour Cream Wedding Cake