Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / White Almond Sour Cream Wedding Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    White Almond Sour Cream Wedding Cake

    Average Rating:

    326 Total Reviews

    Showing 121-140 of 326

    Sort by:

    • on September 07, 2009

      I guess all the reviews got my hopes up, but this cake wasn't much better than just a plain boxed cake. The top wasn't very firm either and kept detaching from the cake when I was trying to frost it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      This is the tastiest cake I think I have ever made! I made a Pac Man Cake for my sister's 80s themed party and everyone raved about the cake! It was a huge success! You will not be disappointed!!! It's very moist, but can really hold up to the heavy fondant on top of it. This is now my go-to recipe when I'm making cupcakes or wedding/party cakes. I've been making a lot of cupcakes from the book, "Hello, Cupcake!" but was severely disappointed with their suggested cake recipes. Dry, dry, dry! Blech! The cupcakes need to be substantially strong though, to hold the frosting and not fall apart. This recipe is perfect and exponentially tastier! I'm making a zombie cake this week and am for sure using this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      Fantastic! Made it for a friend's bridal shower. Wonderful "wedding cake" flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      I chose this cake after searching for weeks on-line. I made it for out 10th anniversary. We renewed our vows and had a party with friends. I made a practice cake a few weeks before hand and it came out great. The party was on a Friday so I made the cakes on Wednesday. The recipe leaves the cake so moist that all I had to do was wrap them in plastic wrap and leave them on the counter. I used the recipe for Extra Special Buttercream Icing (Extra Special Buttercream Icing). I made that Wednesday as well. I put that in the fridge and pulled it out a few hours before frosting on Friday morning. For the fillings I used penuche frosting for the bottoms layers and ganache for the top layer. This cake is absolutely amazing. No alterations needed. It tastes great. It's dense but not too much so. I am not the greatest baker or decorator but this cake is just so easy to make. If you need a great cake this is the one for you. I got so many compliments from everyone who ate it. Alot of them weren't even cake people. I'm making it again for my daughter's 13th birthday party bit I'm using whipped strawberry frosting that I got out of the cake doctor book.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      WOW! I made this for my son's birthday party. I got so many compliments and several people asked for the recipe. Even my super picky eater friend stopped me to tell me how much he liked it. My Father in Law asked me to make it for our huge family reunion he liked it so much. Thanks! I used Kittencal's Creamy White Buttercream Frosting/Icing with the almond flavouring option. Delish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      I use this recipe for all my cakes...everyone raves about how great they are!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      This is the best tasting white cake I've ever made. Wedding cake is my favorite... now I can make it at home! Thanks for a fantastic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      Love this cake!! I make it all the time for birthdays!! Big Hit!!! *****

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      Outstanding! My favorite cake recipe. Excellent for stacking / carving. The only thing I recommend is using the batter blade instead of whisk when mixing the ingredients, so that not much air is incorporated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      Perfection. Halved the recipe to make 9 x 13 cake and it was perfect. Used Kittencal's buttercream frosting recipe and everything was perfect and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      tastes like a Nilla wafer to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      Made a half-recipe using 2 9-inch round pans for my son's birthday cake. As easy as a boxed cake mix but with better flavor, moist, dense, and stands up well to decorating. Can't wait to try the chocolate and lemon versions as well. Thanks for sharing the recipe! UPDATE: Have also made the chocolate version, this time used three 9-inch round pans for a triple layer cake. Worked really well, a nice moist cake that frosts easily.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      Ok so i havent even iced the cake and cant stop eating it! So good and easy to trim and cut. It's amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      This cake is OMG good! I don't usually like to use cake mixes but thought I'd give it a shot since I was looking for something with a light almond flavor and a moist texture. (Also all the great reviews) I am so glad I did! I halved the recipe and made a layer cake and frosted with a basic buttercream frosting and added a little almond flavor to that too. I knew it was going to be good as soon as I took it out of the pans. Even my 28 yr old son said wow! It came out perfect, had a perfect height, color and texture. I couldn't wait to frost it and try it. By the way that was yesterday, and the cake is almost gone today! My family's new favorite cake. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      my daughter wanted me make her wedding cake a 14, 10, 8, 6 inch tier cake with two layers of each. i was skepitle and worried. this recipe is amazing. the cake turned out perfect. and EVERYONE who ate it, loved it. i put a pastry/custard with sliced strawberry's in between each layer. thank you for this you just have no idea

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      Made strawberry shortcake with it.Worked great!Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      I used this recipe (the original version, with extra vanilla extract in place of the almond) for my sister's wedding cake last week, and everyone loved it! We used 13, 10, and 6 by 2 pans and made two of each size. In all, we used five cake mixes with a little leftover batter. Each layer cooked for about an hour and ten minutes, even the 6-inch. This may have been because we used homemade baking strips made out of old towels (which worked really well). I think I will be using this recipe for everyday cakes as well as long as I have the ingredients on hand. I am looking forward to trying the chocolate version next time I get the chance. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      Fabulous recipe. As a chef, I was looking for a recipe for my sister-in-law's reception cake and was looking for something very moist and creamy while maintaining shape and flavor. This is the recipe. A perfect frosting for it was the "Fluffy White Buttercream Frosting" at kingarthurflour.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      Loved this recipe. I am a new wife, and new to baking, but this recipe was simple enough for me. My family loves it so much they ask me to make the cakes for family birthdays. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      This is a great recipe, everyone I have made it for loves it. It makes a moist delicious cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 ... 17

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for White Almond Sour Cream Wedding Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (62 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 40

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 209.8
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    27%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 5.9 mg
    1%
    Sodium 278.8 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 24.5 g
    98%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites