331 Reviews

I make this for my wedding cakes and I love it, its so consistent. I always add a box of pudding to the mix to make it more moist and sturdy, I also fill the pans a little more than the recipe states, so that when they puff up over the edge, I can just level the cake right in the pan. Also to make red velvet, I always use a box of white mix, and a box of milk chocolate or german chocolate mix, and add a bottle of red food coloring. It turns out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
exzentriker December 12, 2012

7 tier wedding cake. I am laying of of the almond extract in half of the cake layers. It started to overpower the amazing filling flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SpookyK September 15, 2012

I have made this cake for two weddings. Both times, the bride and groom chose this cake hands down at the cake tasting ! And it was a huge hit at both weddings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cindylouTx September 15, 2012

I made this for our wedding cake and used all vanilla; I used joy of cooking cream cheese frosting. It was VERY very popular (as noted by the other reviewers). Very straightforward recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephmeans August 20, 2012

I love this recipe. It's dense enough for tiering yet moist and great flavor. The first time I used it was for my daughters wedding cake. I have since used it for all of my cakes and get great feedback everytime. I used the chocolate variation for a garden party cake and everyone loved it. Thank you for this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cltee July 26, 2012

I love this cake and so does my family. I didn't use the almond extract but instead I used butter pecan extract. It was great. My sister makes a home made cake but it is not moist but has good flavor. I think this one tops it and so does the rest of my family. This is going to be the cake that I make from now on. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tmhaendel July 25, 2012

I made this recipe in white, chocolate, and lemon flavor for my Son's weeding in April 2012. It was awesome. I mistakenly used flavored coffee when I made the chocolate cake. Took it to work for the taste testing by my coworkers before the wedding. They said it tasted like I put coconut in the cake. They loved it. Well, I had used Snicker Doodle flavored coffee and it gave the cake a wonderful flavore. So I make one of the cakes for my son's wedding that way. Someone came up to me after and said it was the best chocolate cake she had ever tased. The wedding cake was a hit. Thanks for this recipe -- I will use it over and over.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swilford July 21, 2012

I've been making this cake since 2009. It turns out perfectly every time. I make the 12 x 18. I've made the vanilla and the chocolate. I've even used the vanilla recipe for tres leche cake...PERFECT! It always gets rave reviews.
LOVE this recipe. Thanks Donna M.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eliz10 February 15, 2012

I have made this cake several times for different family get togethers, and every time it has gotten rave reviews. It is so moist, and the flavor is incredible. I add a little cream bouquet to the cake batter as well as the buttercream icing to give it that little something extra. I actually wanted to make this cake for my wedding (in cupcakes)....it is that wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WarEagle7186 January 17, 2012
White Almond Sour Cream Wedding Cake