329 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

So, i just made comment about this cake. I though i m not gonna eat this cake but i cant stop myself. Very very moist, melt in your mouth, not very sweet, just perfect. I can easily finish 6

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nauz May 11, 2013

I LOVE This Recipe!!! it is EXCELLENT!! It is not light and fluffy it is very moist and almost reminds me of a pound cake!! Delish!!! I did frost it with a coconut buttercream frosting :) I use this recipe often thank you...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniek36 May 06, 2013

I was ask to make a wedding cake for some friends renewing their wedding vows. They only gave me a two week notice. I have made many cakes over the years but this was my first wedding cake. There were suppose to be 50 people in attendance. I found this wonderful recipe and by the reviews gave it a try. I made a three layer cake and used the lemon recipe instead of the almond. Since I had only a basic decorating class I knew I could not make the cake fancy myself. I had the idea of using edible flowers and ordered them on-line. They were gorgeous spring flowers. Came in a airtight container. I used the shell and star accents around the bottom of each layer. Wow! Stacked two top layers and used pedestal between bottom and second layer. Laid some flowers bottom center and top. I even surprised myself. The cake was delicious, held up well, moist. Used lemon cream cheese icing. Bought some Wilton buttercream icing from our party store to make my stars, added some lemon oil. Cream cheese icing was not good for decorating. Made for a good day and a happy bride and groom.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mineu May 05, 2013

My daughter asked me to make her wedding cake for her even though I had never made a wedding cake before. I tried several different recipes that promised to be "the best" that were disappointing. I came across this recipe, read all of the reviews, and prepared a sample cake. Incredible! For the final cake I made the lemon version, halved it before putting it into the pan, then added blueberry pie filling (sieved) to one half. I "zebra"'d it, then when it was in the pan I dolloped (2 Tbs) the same sieved filling over the top and swirled it. I brushed it all over with a slightly rum-flavored simple syrup before freezing. For the icing I made the most delicious lemon buttercream (2:1 butter to shortening, lemon juice, and milk to thin). The cake was the most incredibly moist cake I have ever had. Even people who said they don't like cake were raving about it, and, most importantly, my daughter was amazed. The only mistake I made was not bringing take-home boxes for the family and guests, because several had to go looking for their own. (She also asked me to make a pirate ship for her cake - another first - so I made out out of rock-hard peanut butter rice krispies and fondant. Another hit. I thought there were paparazzi around the cake!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomFourGirls April 10, 2013

This recipe, with it's variations, has become The Family Birthday Cake recipe. Three layers tall, in the flavor of choice, and the recipient is always thrilled. It is just a delicious cake, no matter how you flavor it. Chocolate, with raspberry preserves for filling, white cake with lemon curd and lemon frosting, strawberry cake with strawberry frosting, they are all great. It has never failed to make me look like a great baker!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danalcam February 26, 2013

I made this cake for my mother's 50th birthday party. I'm not much of a baker but decided to try this recipe out...it was amazing!!!! I made a double layer and filled it raspberry preserves. Everyone couldn't believe that I had baked it myself it was that good! LoL Highly recommended:-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmiles87 February 17, 2013

Made this today in the Wilton wonder mold (cake pan for Barbie-in-a-gown cakes). Turned out perfect. Very good flavor and texture. Filled pan to within 1inch of rim, but should have filled more as it did not rise as much as I thought it would. That aside, cake was perfect. Needed to bake for 75 minutes at 325* F to completely bake all the way through. I live in Florida and humidity was high today. Followed recipe to the letter and, did I say it turned out perfect? Oh yes...I think I did! 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dganna January 06, 2013

I make this for my wedding cakes and I love it, its so consistent. I always add a box of pudding to the mix to make it more moist and sturdy, I also fill the pans a little more than the recipe states, so that when they puff up over the edge, I can just level the cake right in the pan. Also to make red velvet, I always use a box of white mix, and a box of milk chocolate or german chocolate mix, and add a bottle of red food coloring. It turns out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
exzentriker December 12, 2012

7 tier wedding cake. I am laying of of the almond extract in half of the cake layers. It started to overpower the amazing filling flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SpookyK September 15, 2012
White Almond Sour Cream Wedding Cake