335 Reviews

This is now my "go to" recipe for cakes. I have a culinary background, and just never liked the way true homemade cakes turned out. The texture has just never been exactly how I liked it. I always make it with French Vanilla Duncan Hines cake mix, vanilla, and almond, but this time I'm using Princess Emulsion (sticking with the French Vanilla cake mix). I am doing a 10, 8, 6 wedding cake. One recipe makes two 10" layers, one 6" layer, and a jumbo cupcake (for taste testing, of course). I use the batter measurements from the Wilton website, so a 10" layer is 6 cups of batter and the 6" layer is 2 1/4 cups, with a smidge leftover (for the cupcake). I rarely separate the eggs to just use egg whites, so I put 6 whole eggs in the recipe. It makes it extra rich. I know the yolks tend to alter the true white color, but with the French Vanilla cake mix, it's already slightly off white, so using whole eggs doesn't make a difference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin C. March 20, 2016

This recipe is FLAWLESS!!! It has the perfect consistency for stacking-moist, but firm, and it has incredible flavor! I've made a wedding cake with 3 different flavors; lemon with a homemade lemon curd Swiss meringue buttercream, devil's food with a chocolate Kahlua Swiss meringue buttercream, and the white almond with a raspberry jam Swiss meringue buttercream. It was a huge hit! I had people finding me through Facebook to say it was the best wedding cake they've ever had. Even the wedding caterer told me it was the best wedding cake she's ever tried. I've also made it into cupcakes, and I'm making a bridal shower cake today!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandie L. March 05, 2016

This is the first cake I ever baked. I baked a three tier 6" cake for my wife for her birthday and as a practice cake for our upcoming wedding. I caouldnt be happier with the results!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michael L. November 16, 2015

VEGANIZED IT AND IT WAS AMAZING!!!!! Just used Duncan Hines cake mix, Tofutti Sour Cream and 8.5Tablespoons of aquafaba. Oh, also used cake flour instead of the all-purpose flour. Have made sheetcake and cupcakes so far, and they continue to blow people's minds!!! SSSoooo glad I found this recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stephanie H. June 23, 2015

I, like many other reviewers have not been a fan of white cake or boxed mixes. I wanted to try this for the volume of batter I needed to make a cupcake cake for a bridal shower. I made adjustments based on what I had in the house and the cupcakes turned out beautifully. I used Aldi's white cake mix, which happens to have pudding in the mix. Using my kitchen scale, I added approximately 5 tbsp AP flour to make the 18 oz. I measured out 3/4 cup egg whites from carton and used half milk, half water. I didn't have enough sour cream in the house so I subbed all FF Greek yogurt. I also decreased the sugar to 1-1/2 cups. The cupcakes took about 20-22 minutes in my oven at 350. They are nice and white and perfectly domed. They pull away easily from the liners and the crumb is somewhat dense but they are quite light to taste. I used the almond flavor and it does taste very much like wedding cake. I'm sold on this method and will be trying the flavor variations. If you don't like this recipe then you must be doing something wrong. The recipe seems to be very forgiving with the adjustments made. I was able to get 4 dozen nice sized cupcakes by filling the cups 2/3 full.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rnnurse90 June 07, 2015

This Cake is Wonderful, I used milk instead of water and unsalted butter in place of the vegetable oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa B. February 12, 2015

I am not usually a fan of box cake mixes but a technique I wanted to try said it worked best with one. I then came across this recipe which I have termed as a Hybrid cake mix as it uses box and scratch cake ingredients to try a tie dye effect of colouring the batter. The batter takes colour well and when baked stays beautiful and vibrant. The actual cake bakes even and surprised me by tasting scrumptious being a hit by all who tasted.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noreen A. January 20, 2015

I must agree with other reviewers, this is absolutely the best. I make very large cakes for my workplace and this is always my go to. I make a center filling with Polaner Red Raspberry Jelly and 1/2 Polaner Blackberry jam with about 1/2 cup Chambord Liqueur... always a huge hit.<br/>This cake is moist and slightly dense, just perfect for large cakes. I use the white chocolate method also replacing 1 cup of water with Chambord Liqueur, turns out fabulous. Thank you Donna for a wonderful recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Khare0302 October 26, 2014

Best cake recipe. The cake turns out super moist everytime!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachelbmn115 September 24, 2014

I was asked to make a wedding cake for my daughters stepdaughter's wedding. First wedding cake and lots of pressure. Luckily when Iwas web searching iIccame acrossthis recipe. I had my own buttercream icing and uses clear butter flavoring instead of almond. The cake layers turned out beautiful iImust say and everyone raved about how moist aand delicious the cake was. I also used the baking strips and the parchment paper in the bottom of pans. Also wanted to add thatiI also made cupcakes with extra batter and it didn't hurt them at allto sit while waiting for my cake tto cookfirst. TThanks again for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karkey69 June 19, 2014
White Almond Sour Cream Wedding Cake