Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / White Almond Sour Cream Wedding Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    White Almond Sour Cream Wedding Cake

    Average Rating:

    327 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 327

    Sort by:

    • on July 06, 2011

      This is the best cake recipe! I doubled the recipe for our neighbors 1st birthday party. I used vanilla instead of almond but followed the rest of the recipe exactly and it turned out delicious! It was enough to feed over 40 and they had some left over so they froze the remaining cake. I received a lot of compliments so for me this recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2011

      I would never make this again. It's way too heavy, and as another reviewer said, tasted "floury". It tasted of raw flour. I was concerned about the fact that there is no additional leavening beyond what is in the cake mixes, and it definitely shows. Unfortunately, I had decided to make this for two tiers of a wedding cake I'm doing for next weekend. Now I have to redo them. Back to my old standard, totally from scratch, and light as a feather.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      This is the best white cake recipe I have ever tried!! I make this recipe for my cupcakes and I they are always a big hit!!! I'm making the chocolate cake today for fathers day so I can't wait to try it!!! Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2011

      I love this recipe. I half the recipe for white chocolate version and fill 9" pans. I torte the layers and use techniques from Martha Stewart, e.g., brushing raspberry flavored syrup on the layers to keep it moist, piping swiss buttercream around the edges and filling with seedless raspberry preserves. I use Duncan Hines mixes. For the chocolate cake I use Devil's Food cake mix and use all vanilla extract or stick with 1 tsp of almond and 1 tsp of vanilla. Thank you so much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2011

      I made this cake for my daughter's first birthday, and it turned out AWESOME! I wanted something that could hold the fondant (the marshmallow fondant, also yummie!). I didn't quite pay attention to the serving size, so I was a bit surprised when my mixer was full to the brim, but all the cake was consumed, and my family raved over it! I'm just trying to find another reason to make this recipe!! (I just posted my cake - the fondant covered green one with flowers, and a picture of my daughter enjoying her piece.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2011

      No one would guess this recipe starts with a cake mix. I used it this weekend to make a 3 tier wedding cake and everyone loved it and raved about how moist and delicious it was. It held up well to stacking and covering with fondant. I actually made it 3 weeks ago, dirty iced it and froze it before decorating it and it held up to freezing beautifully. After making a 4", 6", and 8" tier (4 inches high each) I even had enough batter remaining to make a dozen cupcakes. This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2011

      Made this recipe for a graduation party along with one other recipe and this one was the first to go. I got a little taste and it was sooooo good .Will be making again and again.Thanks fpr a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      I'm giving the cake five stars although I haven't tried it yet!

      I made this cake for my nephews graduation from preschool but never got to try the cake. I was told that it was better than a very popular bakery in town. In fact my cousin has already requested it for her birthday cake!

      I will update the review once I get a chance to try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      Wow!! Thanks, Donna, after trying this recipe, I don't think I'll use another one again! Since I wanted to have both white and chocolate, I used a box of each cake mix and halved the other ingredients using half for each.( I did take one poster's advice and used a triple chocolate cake mix.) The textures and flavors are terrific! Thanks so much for the post!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      I've used this recipe several times! Last year I made a huge cake for a sports group anniversary that fed over 300 people (8 cakes total, 2 layers 12x 18 each!) and it was a hit. This time I made a 3 tier wedding cake for my parents' 50th anniversary and vow renewal. I used devil's food cake mixes and a bit of added cocoaand several bottles red food colouring to make it into a Red Velvet Cake . I filled it with coconut filling, and then covered it with marshmallow fondant. It was decorated with orchids. It looked beautiful and tasted fantastic! The party was held just a few blocks from food network celebrity chef Anna Olsen's bakery & cafe, leading a few of the guests to ask if Anna had made the cake...nope...it was me!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2010

      WOW!!!! This is a great & easy recipe! I used it to make my son's 4th bday cake. I used yellow cake mix and didn't use the almond flavor. It turned out great nice & firm but very fluffy!! I make a Thomas the train cake with a cave & it held the cave perfect- didn't give or sag at all!! I will use this recipe from now on when making cakes!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      Good cake recipe. I made 2 (9x13) cakes. Was making SPongebob for a 5 yr old bday! Mine baked for 35 mins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      This is a wonderful recipe. It's very stable and dense, very moist and delicious. One change I make is removing the almond extract and using clear vanilla in it's place. I have many customers that aren't as fond of the almond flavoring. This makes an excellent recipe for a wedding cakes and I have used it many times. I'm using it today in a birthday cake because it's my most requested flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

      Fantastically dense-- but not dry-- cake! I made a six-layer cake with a cherry fruit filling and the cake part held up PERFECTLY. Not one thing to complain about with this recipe! The flavor was fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2010

      Super yummy. I didn't want to frost it! The parts that Overflowed out of the pan that go crunchy are the best. I made mine with the white chocolate squares. Mine raised wonderfully too. I havn't tried other scratch recipes, and I won't I love this one. And it's versatile. Soooo goood. I'm creating an Xbox cake tonight!! I cannot wait for people's reaction. %u263A %u2665

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      the kids and my husband enjoyed it. i only chose this recipe because i was looking for a recipe to use 8 egg whites i had. didn't want to throw it away so found this. should've just made fried rice w/ the left over egg whites because of course this recipe makes a ton. but i shared some w/ the neighbors and they loved it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2010

      Fantastic, easy, and reliable. This is my most requested recipe for wedding cakes. I also love that it is easy to reduce in size.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2010

      This cake is GREAT! I don't need to buy one from a bakery anymore now that I have this recipe. I used the Extra Special Buttercream Icing recipe to go with it. The first time I made it, I made the recipe as it is and the second time, I cut it in half. Everyone at work absolutely loved it and wanted the recipe. I think I'll try the other variations next.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      I have made cupcakes, and cakes in the original almond version and the vanilla and chocolate version as well. They ae dense enough to stack, great texture, and they are moist. The recipe is so good I have been asked to do my sisters wedding cake, and have no reservations about it what so ever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      SOMEBODY, ANYBODY HELP!! I made this last night with the entire recipe in a 14x3 inch round pan, as the batter hit exactly where it should have with the deepness of the pan. Baked beautifully, but I may have overbaked?? It took 1.25 hours before a tester came out clean. shrunk a bit from sides, color is a golden brown. This is to be the base of a 3 tier cake this weekend. I am not a novice baker by any means, but have never used a box cake. Any comments are greatly appreciated!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for White Almond Sour Cream Wedding Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (62 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 40

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 209.8
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    27%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 5.9 mg
    1%
    Sodium 278.8 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 24.5 g
    98%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes