329 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a fantastic cake. I cut the recipe in half and it still made two large 9" layers. I used cream cheese frosting and my family gobbled it up. I would like to try the next one with a filling of some sort, maybe strawberries and cream or raspberries. This was perfect for any occasion and fairly simple to make. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bambo June 06, 2012

Good. Mine turned out very, very dense, but then again, I changed a couple things. If I could do things over I would use 3 9x13 pans instead of 2. It makes so much cake! I will try this again for a crowd, definitely. The cake bottoms were so nice and firm for frosting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annlouise November 13, 2011

I asked DH what flavor of cake was his favorite (as it was for his birthday) and he said "I dunno. I like wedding cake" LOL!! What does that even mean???!?? But, being the loving wife, I dutifully went in search of a wedding cake recipe and landed on this one. Unbelievable!!! Perfect flavor and texture! So moist and lovely with that wonderful hint of almond. I did add 1 T baking powder and 1 t baking soda with the dry ingredients and baked 3 thin torte-like layers then layered them with seedless raspberry jam and frosted the whole thing with Kittencal's Bakery Buttercream Frosting/Icing by KittenKalsKitchen. The result: the perfect wedding cake for DH's birthday! Oh, and a request by one of our partygoers to make the cake for her bachelorette party!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs July 09, 2011

I made this cake a couple of times it is good,the only thing i might do differant is cut back on the addition of flour,it seemed to taste alittle floury. I think its to much flour.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tisa p. June 24, 2011

Delicious and dense enough to cover with fondant. I bought light sour cream on accident, and it still turned out fantastic!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bratalie January 30, 2011

I made this recipe last weekend, July 2010, for my daughter's wedding reception, it was absolutely awesome and I had so many compliments on it. I made a 12", 10" and 8" in 2" deep pans and it was perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phorton9557 July 06, 2010

Not that this recipe needs another positive review, but I just can't help it! I used a Duncan Hines Classic White Cake Mix to make cupcakes (made about 27-28 cupcakes), and used whole eggs. Kept the recipe the same (baked at 325 etc.) When I tasted the raw batter, I thought to myself, this really tastes like a regular cake mix. But the low baking temperature, coupled along with the sour cream, made these cupcakes so light and fluffy it was like biting into a cloud. I've been looking for a moist white cake recipe for a long time, and now I need to look no further.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ginamiller1 April 14, 2010

What a FABULOUS cake!! I made this for my fiance's father's birthday with white chocolate ganache and wilton white icing. It was divine!! I am allergic to milk, so I made another version using silken tofu rather then sour cream- with strawberry filling and wilton chocolate icing. WOW!! **note- as an experiment after baking, and cooling- I wrapped the layers seperately and froze them. I thawed them later in the fridge over several hours, then filled and iced them. They held up very well, and tasted as fresh as if I had just made them! Thanks for a GREAT recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spreadnjoy March 15, 2010

This Cake is Wonderful, I used milk instead of water and unsalted butter in place of the vegetable oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa B. February 12, 2015

I am not usually a fan of box cake mixes but a technique I wanted to try said it worked best with one. I then came across this recipe which I have termed as a Hybrid cake mix as it uses box and scratch cake ingredients to try a tie dye effect of colouring the batter. The batter takes colour well and when baked stays beautiful and vibrant. The actual cake bakes even and surprised me by tasting scrumptious being a hit by all who tasted.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noreen A. January 20, 2015
White Almond Sour Cream Wedding Cake