Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / White Almond Sour Cream Wedding Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    White Almond Sour Cream Wedding Cake

    Average Rating:

    327 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 327

    Sort by:

    • on May 05, 2013

      I was ask to make a wedding cake for some friends renewing their wedding vows. They only gave me a two week notice. I have made many cakes over the years but this was my first wedding cake. There were suppose to be 50 people in attendance. I found this wonderful recipe and by the reviews gave it a try. I made a three layer cake and used the lemon recipe instead of the almond. Since I had only a basic decorating class I knew I could not make the cake fancy myself. I had the idea of using edible flowers and ordered them on-line. They were gorgeous spring flowers. Came in a airtight container. I used the shell and star accents around the bottom of each layer. Wow! Stacked two top layers and used pedestal between bottom and second layer. Laid some flowers bottom center and top. I even surprised myself. The cake was delicious, held up well, moist. Used lemon cream cheese icing. Bought some Wilton buttercream icing from our party store to make my stars, added some lemon oil. Cream cheese icing was not good for decorating. Made for a good day and a happy bride and groom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2013

      My daughter asked me to make her wedding cake for her even though I had never made a wedding cake before. I tried several different recipes that promised to be "the best" that were disappointing. I came across this recipe, read all of the reviews, and prepared a sample cake. Incredible! For the final cake I made the lemon version, halved it before putting it into the pan, then added blueberry pie filling (sieved) to one half. I "zebra"'d it, then when it was in the pan I dolloped (2 Tbs) the same sieved filling over the top and swirled it. I brushed it all over with a slightly rum-flavored simple syrup before freezing. For the icing I made the most delicious lemon buttercream (2:1 butter to shortening, lemon juice, and milk to thin). The cake was the most incredibly moist cake I have ever had. Even people who said they don't like cake were raving about it, and, most importantly, my daughter was amazed. The only mistake I made was not bringing take-home boxes for the family and guests, because several had to go looking for their own. (She also asked me to make a pirate ship for her cake - another first - so I made out out of rock-hard peanut butter rice krispies and fondant. Another hit. I thought there were paparazzi around the cake!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

      This recipe, with it's variations, has become The Family Birthday Cake recipe. Three layers tall, in the flavor of choice, and the recipient is always thrilled. It is just a delicious cake, no matter how you flavor it. Chocolate, with raspberry preserves for filling, white cake with lemon curd and lemon frosting, strawberry cake with strawberry frosting, they are all great. It has never failed to make me look like a great baker!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      I made this cake for my mother's 50th birthday party. I'm not much of a baker but decided to try this recipe out...it was amazing!!!! I made a double layer and filled it raspberry preserves. Everyone couldn't believe that I had baked it myself it was that good! LoL Highly recommended:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      Made this today in the Wilton wonder mold (cake pan for Barbie-in-a-gown cakes). Turned out perfect. Very good flavor and texture. Filled pan to within 1inch of rim, but should have filled more as it did not rise as much as I thought it would. That aside, cake was perfect. Needed to bake for 75 minutes at 325* F to completely bake all the way through. I live in Florida and humidity was high today. Followed recipe to the letter and, did I say it turned out perfect? Oh yes...I think I did! 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2012

      I make this for my wedding cakes and I love it, its so consistent. I always add a box of pudding to the mix to make it more moist and sturdy, I also fill the pans a little more than the recipe states, so that when they puff up over the edge, I can just level the cake right in the pan. Also to make red velvet, I always use a box of white mix, and a box of milk chocolate or german chocolate mix, and add a bottle of red food coloring. It turns out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2012

    • on September 15, 2012

      7 tier wedding cake. I am laying of of the almond extract in half of the cake layers. It started to overpower the amazing filling flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2012

      I have made this cake for two weddings. Both times, the bride and groom chose this cake hands down at the cake tasting ! And it was a huge hit at both weddings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      I made this for our wedding cake and used all vanilla; I used joy of cooking cream cheese frosting. It was VERY very popular (as noted by the other reviewers). Very straightforward recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2012

      I love this recipe. It's dense enough for tiering yet moist and great flavor. The first time I used it was for my daughters wedding cake. I have since used it for all of my cakes and get great feedback everytime. I used the chocolate variation for a garden party cake and everyone loved it. Thank you for this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2012

      I love this cake and so does my family. I didn't use the almond extract but instead I used butter pecan extract. It was great. My sister makes a home made cake but it is not moist but has good flavor. I think this one tops it and so does the rest of my family. This is going to be the cake that I make from now on. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2012

      I made this recipe in white, chocolate, and lemon flavor for my Son's weeding in April 2012. It was awesome. I mistakenly used flavored coffee when I made the chocolate cake. Took it to work for the taste testing by my coworkers before the wedding. They said it tasted like I put coconut in the cake. They loved it. Well, I had used Snicker Doodle flavored coffee and it gave the cake a wonderful flavore. So I make one of the cakes for my son's wedding that way. Someone came up to me after and said it was the best chocolate cake she had ever tased. The wedding cake was a hit. Thanks for this recipe -- I will use it over and over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2012

      I've been making this cake since 2009. It turns out perfectly every time. I make the 12 x 18. I've made the vanilla and the chocolate. I've even used the vanilla recipe for tres leche cake...PERFECT! It always gets rave reviews.
      LOVE this recipe. Thanks Donna M.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2012

      I have made this cake several times for different family get togethers, and every time it has gotten rave reviews. It is so moist, and the flavor is incredible. I add a little cream bouquet to the cake batter as well as the buttercream icing to give it that little something extra. I actually wanted to make this cake for my wedding (in cupcakes)....it is that wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      Wow! What an awesome cake! I love the variations on the bottom to make this as a chocolate cake or a lemon cake. Very easy to half and make in a 9x13 pan. Superb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2011

      Absolutely loved this recipe! I had a sweet tooth after watching Cake Boss on TLC and went searching for a new cake recipe. I found this one, baked it up and had everyone say how great they are!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2011

      Good. Mine turned out very, very dense, but then again, I changed a couple things. If I could do things over I would use 3 9x13 pans instead of 2. It makes so much cake! I will try this again for a crowd, definitely. The cake bottoms were so nice and firm for frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2011

      I made this recipe yesterday as one of the many testers for my daughters Wedding cake coming up in 3 weeks time. All I can say is WOW, what a wonderful recipe, moist and delicious. I had to leave the almond extract out as we have some nut allergy people attending the wedding, but replaced it with the lemon flavor that you also supplied and it was wonderful. Thank you for this recipe as it is a clear winner and I don't have to make any more "tester" cakes. I suggest to anyone looking for a wedding cake recipe to "look no more" as this is a good base for any flavor cake and with all the sizes, there is no guessing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2011

      This is great and love the way all the different sized pans are catered for, no need for scaling up, gets my top vote!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for White Almond Sour Cream Wedding Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (62 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 40

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 209.8
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    27%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 5.9 mg
    1%
    Sodium 278.8 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 24.5 g
    98%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes