Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / White Almond Sour Cream Wedding Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    White Almond Sour Cream Wedding Cake

    Average Rating:

    326 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 326

    Sort by:

    • on June 06, 2012

      This was a fantastic cake. I cut the recipe in half and it still made two large 9" layers. I used cream cheese frosting and my family gobbled it up. I would like to try the next one with a filling of some sort, maybe strawberries and cream or raspberries. This was perfect for any occasion and fairly simple to make. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2011

      I asked DH what flavor of cake was his favorite (as it was for his birthday) and he said "I dunno. I like wedding cake" LOL!! What does that even mean???!?? But, being the loving wife, I dutifully went in search of a wedding cake recipe and landed on this one. Unbelievable!!! Perfect flavor and texture! So moist and lovely with that wonderful hint of almond. I did add 1 T baking powder and 1 t baking soda with the dry ingredients and baked 3 thin torte-like layers then layered them with seedless raspberry jam and frosted the whole thing with Kittencal's Bakery Buttercream Frosting/Icing by KittenKalsKitchen. The result: the perfect wedding cake for DH's birthday! Oh, and a request by one of our partygoers to make the cake for her bachelorette party!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2011

      I made this cake a couple of times it is good,the only thing i might do differant is cut back on the addition of flour,it seemed to taste alittle floury. I think its to much flour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      Delicious and dense enough to cover with fondant. I bought light sour cream on accident, and it still turned out fantastic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      I made this recipe last weekend, July 2010, for my daughter's wedding reception, it was absolutely awesome and I had so many compliments on it. I made a 12", 10" and 8" in 2" deep pans and it was perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      Not that this recipe needs another positive review, but I just can't help it! I used a Duncan Hines Classic White Cake Mix to make cupcakes (made about 27-28 cupcakes), and used whole eggs. Kept the recipe the same (baked at 325 etc.) When I tasted the raw batter, I thought to myself, this really tastes like a regular cake mix. But the low baking temperature, coupled along with the sour cream, made these cupcakes so light and fluffy it was like biting into a cloud. I've been looking for a moist white cake recipe for a long time, and now I need to look no further.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      What a FABULOUS cake!! I made this for my fiance's father's birthday with white chocolate ganache and wilton white icing. It was divine!! I am allergic to milk, so I made another version using silken tofu rather then sour cream- with strawberry filling and wilton chocolate icing. WOW!! **note- as an experiment after baking, and cooling- I wrapped the layers seperately and froze them. I thawed them later in the fridge over several hours, then filled and iced them. They held up very well, and tasted as fresh as if I had just made them! Thanks for a GREAT recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2014

      Best cake recipe. The cake turns out super moist everytime!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2014

      I was asked to make a wedding cake for my daughters stepdaughter's wedding. First wedding cake and lots of pressure. Luckily when Iwas web searching iIccame acrossthis recipe. I had my own buttercream icing and uses clear butter flavoring instead of almond. The cake layers turned out beautiful iImust say and everyone raved about how moist aand delicious the cake was. I also used the baking strips and the parchment paper in the bottom of pans. Also wanted to add thatiI also made cupcakes with extra batter and it didn't hurt them at allto sit while waiting for my cake tto cookfirst. TThanks again for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2014

      Soooo delicious! Light but rich. I halved the recipe and baked in a 9x13 pan for just shy of an hour. I think I could have taken it out about 5 mins sooner, the edges got a little tough. I cut the cake in half and froze half. I split the other half and iced the center with PB ice and iced the entire cake with buttercream icing. Delicious! I'm looking forward to trying all sorts of variations of this keeper recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2014

      My new "go to" white cake recipe. Everyone LOVES it. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2014

      Wonderful recipe; cakes were perfect in color texture flavor and with rising. My cupcakes however didn't rise! I can't figure that one out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2013

      I am not a baker; but you wouldn't know it from the results of this recipe. The cupcakes I made were beautiful, moist, and so, so tasty. I did not change anything other than halving the recipe. This goes into the Keep Forever file! What a fabulous recipe to share with the world, Donna!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2013

      WOW---Enough said, possibly the best cake I have ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2013

      I made this for my mom's surprise birthday party. Usually most people don't eat cake after a huge meal but most of this was gone. I made the original almond, but with butter flavored cake. I'm thinking of trying it with pineapple juice instead of the water next time. I baked mine as tori1216 suggested. On 340 degrees, checking in 10 minute intervals after the first 35 minutes. It took exactly 57 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2013

      Love this cake recipe! I bake it for just a few minutes more in my oven. Everyone raves about it. I have used a homemade raspberry filling and a homemade blueberry filling. Very, very good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2013

      I have always hated white cake and then I made this for a wedding cake yesterday. OMG...I think white cake is my new favorite. I made Italian Meringue Butter Cream flavored with Lorann's Princess Emulsion. It was a smash hit at the wedding...everyone said it was so light and creamy with the IMBC. I used it again today to make a pull apart Power Ranger cupcake cake and again next week for a Boston Redsox cake. I will recommend this as my go to recipe for all of my customers. Mmmmm...I want some now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2013

      So, i just made comment about this cake. I though i m not gonna eat this cake but i cant stop myself. Very very moist, melt in your mouth, not very sweet, just perfect. I can easily finish 6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      I LOVE This Recipe!!! it is EXCELLENT!! It is not light and fluffy it is very moist and almost reminds me of a pound cake!! Delish!!! I did frost it with a coconut buttercream frosting :) I use this recipe often thank you...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2013

      I was ask to make a wedding cake for some friends renewing their wedding vows. They only gave me a two week notice. I have made many cakes over the years but this was my first wedding cake. There were suppose to be 50 people in attendance. I found this wonderful recipe and by the reviews gave it a try. I made a three layer cake and used the lemon recipe instead of the almond. Since I had only a basic decorating class I knew I could not make the cake fancy myself. I had the idea of using edible flowers and ordered them on-line. They were gorgeous spring flowers. Came in a airtight container. I used the shell and star accents around the bottom of each layer. Wow! Stacked two top layers and used pedestal between bottom and second layer. Laid some flowers bottom center and top. I even surprised myself. The cake was delicious, held up well, moist. Used lemon cream cheese icing. Bought some Wilton buttercream icing from our party store to make my stars, added some lemon oil. Cream cheese icing was not good for decorating. Made for a good day and a happy bride and groom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for White Almond Sour Cream Wedding Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (62 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 40

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 209.8
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    27%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 5.9 mg
    1%
    Sodium 278.8 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 24.5 g
    98%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites