331 Reviews

This cake is an absolute winner! I halved the recipe and baked it in a 9 X 13. I used the Authentic Bakery Frosting (also a hit). Can't wait to find another reason to bake it again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halloween1031 May 08, 2009

This cake was such a hit with my friends! I was compared to the favorite local baker that everyone uses for special occasions. There was not a drop left over. Thank you very much - I will use this again & again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feej May 05, 2009

Excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beth May 05, 2009

An excellent recipe. I used French Vanilla Cake Mix and halved the recipe, and baked in 13x9 pan. The batter was a bit too much so I made a few cupcakes. My husband loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa May 04, 2009

Wow What A Delicious Cake. I have baked this cake 3 times and each time it has turned out great, It's become our family's standard birthday cake. I sent a piece to a friend and she said it was the best cake she ever tasted and aksed me to bake one for her birthday. Thanks for such a wonderful recipe. By the way, I used Swans Down Cake Flour instead of all-purpose flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happytiger May 01, 2009

This is such a versatile recipe, but I confess I like it made with white cake mix and fudgy frosting the most! My daughter and her friends request it now--it will be her birthday cake AND cupcakes for school for the second year running. My husband isn't a cake fan (his mom taught decorating at LACC, which meant they always had cake on hand and he is sick of it), but he devours this! Thank you, thank you for a perfect recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenEyed Precious April 30, 2009

What can I say but "WOW"! This cake is Awsome! I have now made this cake twice and it was gone before I knew it! I cut the recipe in half and made 2 9 in round cakes. I made it first for my Sergeants birthday, and was a little nervous as I hadn't tried it and I couldn't be there to try it out, well I shouldn't have worried! My other co-workers have all given me there birthday's and have requested the same for their birthdays! I made it again last weekend so that I could try it. I cut the recpie in half again and once again made it in 9 in round pans. I sliced each cake in half, made a buttercream frosting, and added homemade Strawberry jam into the frosting. I put the Strawberry frosting in between the layers as well as layered fresh sliced Strawberrys in between the layers. Then I frosted it with the plain buttercream and decorated it with the remainder of the fresh Strawberrys. My parents were over for dinner that night and they loved it! I sent half the cake home with them. The next evening my Dad called to tell me that he loved it even more the next day!This is now my cake recipe. I am going to try it next time with a Yellow cake,as that is my favorite. Thank you again for the great Cake!!! :) I just had to add a little more to my review. Since I first reviewed the cake, I have tried some different things and made a few small changes. When I make the cake I do not add anymore flour, instead I add more cake mix (the same amount as the flour) I think that the cake tastes better. I have also tried making it with yellow and chocolate, but I still prefer it with the white cake mix. I also add a little more almond and vanilla extract. It is still my family and friends favorite cake! ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smile1968 April 27, 2009

My daughter made this cake and cupcakes for a bridal shower and we decorated with a fondant. We used the Bake Even strips as well. Everything came out beautiful--everyone raved about it! Neither of us cook much or bake much; the directions were excellent and easy to follow. Thanks for sharing this

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djonsson April 24, 2009

I'm tired of making it because people now request it for every event! The best cake recipe ever. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissyJ444 April 22, 2009

Simply amazing recipe!!! You WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heather April 11, 2009
White Almond Sour Cream Wedding Cake