329 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is by far THE BEST cake recipe I have ever had the privilege of trying and eating!!!! All I can say is PHENOMENAL! It is so moist - you won't believe it! I have used this recipe with white cake mix, yellow cake mix and chocolate cake mix! They have all turned out perfectly! One thing I would note now is that the cake companies have changed their packaging making the amount of cake smaller. Therefore, if you use a cake mix that is 15.25 ounces - just reduce the serving to 34 and this will change your recipe to accommodate the smaller packaging! When making the chocolate at the 34 serving size - change the following: put in 1 and 1/3 cup flour and 1/3 cup cocoa powder. I use Devils Food - which is the best! Also - I bake at 340 degrees (all kinds) and start out at 35 minutes and check and then add time in 10 minute increments. You will need to do this dependent upon the size cake you are baking. Also, I cut a piece of parchment paper the size of the bottom of my pan. I spray the bottom with vegetable spray, then lay the parchment paper down so it sticks. Then I spray the top of the paper and the sides of the pan. DO NOT FLOUR YOUR PANS! I also use the Wilton Baking strips and my cakes turn out perfectly every single time! Even heart shaped cakes!!! I have never been this excited about a cake recipe - and neither has my family and friends! Hands down.........this is the best! Happy Baking!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tori1216 September 24, 2012

I used the vanilla variation to make cupcakes, they were awesome! Next week I will be making chocolate & vanilla for a 50th birthday party, then the following week making chocolate, vanilla and lemon for my son's hockey banquet! I was worried when I tasted the raw batter it seemed really sweet but it tasted fantastic after baking and had great texture.
For the lemon version I used 1/3 cup of lemon juice to replace 1/3 cup of water, it was really good, the hit of the party, got eaten first before the vanilla and chocolate. For the chocolate version I use 1/2 cup of cocoa to replace 1/2 cup of flour to give it a fudgier taste.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the4taals March 26, 2011

I used this recipe to make 200 cupcakes, plus one giant cupcake (the Wilton pan) for my daughter's wedding. As a previous reviewer did, I used clear vanilla and left out the almond extract; my daughter's preference. I made the cupcakes on Thursday and we decorated them on Friday for her Saturday wedding; they were moist and delicious. Thank you for the recipe!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnaMS October 22, 2010

Very delicious cake! It was a hit among my family! I used a mocha variation. Used 2 cups prepared strong coffee and 2/3 cups water. (So still used same amount of liquid) It turned out great. I used 2 cookie sheets for this recipe, instead of the 1 that it states, and it was ready in 25 minutes! Thank you...I will definately be making this again...maybe next time with the white chocolate!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gabgirl October 14, 2010

I have made the white cake version several times and it is now the only cake I useg.Since I don't like almond I used extra vanilla instead. I tried the chocolate version the other day. I did not like the flavor. I used a milk chocolate mix. It did not have enough flavor. I just tried it again and changed a few things.I only made a half batch. This time I used a triple chocolate fudge cake mix. I added a teaspoon of baking cocoa and replaces the water with strong brewed coffee. It turned out wonderful. It has a deep chocolate taste just like I was looking for.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina W. September 06, 2010

I have made this cake many times since first trying your recipe. Never a white cake lover, I can hardly wait to make this cake Again and Again! It has become our favorite cake. I half the recipe and it is just right for the "cookie sheet" pan. I omit the vanilla and double the almond flavoring. I also use the whole egg because I can't bear to waste! I also use a burned butter frosting. My husband it delighted you're such a gooooood cake maker! Thank you so much. Laurel

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
targetbg May 10, 2011

When it was decided I would make my daughter's wedding cake (a first for me), I picked a few recipes from the internet to try, and this was one of my firsts. The first time I made it I wasn't paying attention and used 8 WHOLE eggs instead of just whites. We discovered we liked the moisture and taste of this "mistake" much better. It makes a denser, heavier cake, so if you are doing lots of tiers, it might be too heavy. I made a 3 tier (2 layers each) round topsy-turvy cake which worked fine. This recipe works perfect for 2 9X13 pans. I'm pretty sure you can half it without any problem. I have never had so many extremely positive comments on anything I have ever baked. I will definitely use it for other purposes as well. 'Made it with lemon extract and a raspberry filling at Christmas. "Wow" on that as well. 'Used the almond flavoring and made whipped cream/cream cheese frosting, also using almond extract for the wedding.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anita Stuckenschmidt February 01, 2012

This recipe is AMAZING! I was recently asked by a friend to make her wedding cake. Never having made one, I started looking for good recipes and saw this one with lots of good reviews... I am famous, with my co-workers for making cakes based on cake mix, so this is right up my alley. SO moist and sturdy and, most importantly, DELICIOUS!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenkaa55 March 17, 2011

Amazing flavor! I used the Duncan Hines French Vanilla for the white, threw in sprinkles for a funfetti groovy Birthday Cake. I also tried the Triple Fudge mix along with the 1/4 cup of cocoa substitution on flour and it was great! Thank you for an amazing versatile recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheChemFreak February 21, 2011

- I forgot to mention. I made four 9 " cakes with a full recipe. I filled each pan about 2/3ds full and baked for 55 minutes at 325. - test with a toothpick, because cake may still *look* wet, but not be. A half recipe made 18 mini cakes in a wilton bar pan. I filled those 2/3 full too, and baked for 30 minutes. You want to fill them enough that you have tops to cut off when you level them. * You can make "pillows" out of the tops by sandwiching them together with your frosting, then covering with left over fondant!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
s145 July 22, 2012
White Almond Sour Cream Wedding Cake