Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / White Almond Sour Cream Wedding Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    White Almond Sour Cream Wedding Cake

    Average Rating:

    327 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 327

    Sort by:

    • on September 24, 2012

      This is by far THE BEST cake recipe I have ever had the privilege of trying and eating!!!! All I can say is PHENOMENAL! It is so moist - you won't believe it! I have used this recipe with white cake mix, yellow cake mix and chocolate cake mix! They have all turned out perfectly! One thing I would note now is that the cake companies have changed their packaging making the amount of cake smaller. Therefore, if you use a cake mix that is 15.25 ounces - just reduce the serving to 34 and this will change your recipe to accommodate the smaller packaging! When making the chocolate at the 34 serving size - change the following: put in 1 and 1/3 cup flour and 1/3 cup cocoa powder. I use Devils Food - which is the best! Also - I bake at 340 degrees (all kinds) and start out at 35 minutes and check and then add time in 10 minute increments. You will need to do this dependent upon the size cake you are baking. Also, I cut a piece of parchment paper the size of the bottom of my pan. I spray the bottom with vegetable spray, then lay the parchment paper down so it sticks. Then I spray the top of the paper and the sides of the pan. DO NOT FLOUR YOUR PANS! I also use the Wilton Baking strips and my cakes turn out perfectly every single time! Even heart shaped cakes!!! I have never been this excited about a cake recipe - and neither has my family and friends! Hands down.........this is the best! Happy Baking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2011

      I used the vanilla variation to make cupcakes, they were awesome! Next week I will be making chocolate & vanilla for a 50th birthday party, then the following week making chocolate, vanilla and lemon for my son's hockey banquet! I was worried when I tasted the raw batter it seemed really sweet but it tasted fantastic after baking and had great texture.
      For the lemon version I used 1/3 cup of lemon juice to replace 1/3 cup of water, it was really good, the hit of the party, got eaten first before the vanilla and chocolate. For the chocolate version I use 1/2 cup of cocoa to replace 1/2 cup of flour to give it a fudgier taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2010

      I used this recipe to make 200 cupcakes, plus one giant cupcake (the Wilton pan) for my daughter's wedding. As a previous reviewer did, I used clear vanilla and left out the almond extract; my daughter's preference. I made the cupcakes on Thursday and we decorated them on Friday for her Saturday wedding; they were moist and delicious. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      Very delicious cake! It was a hit among my family! I used a mocha variation. Used 2 cups prepared strong coffee and 2/3 cups water. (So still used same amount of liquid) It turned out great. I used 2 cookie sheets for this recipe, instead of the 1 that it states, and it was ready in 25 minutes! Thank you...I will definately be making this again...maybe next time with the white chocolate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      I have made the white cake version several times and it is now the only cake I useg.Since I don't like almond I used extra vanilla instead. I tried the chocolate version the other day. I did not like the flavor. I used a milk chocolate mix. It did not have enough flavor. I just tried it again and changed a few things.I only made a half batch. This time I used a triple chocolate fudge cake mix. I added a teaspoon of baking cocoa and replaces the water with strong brewed coffee. It turned out wonderful. It has a deep chocolate taste just like I was looking for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2011

      I have made this cake many times since first trying your recipe. Never a white cake lover, I can hardly wait to make this cake Again and Again! It has become our favorite cake. I half the recipe and it is just right for the "cookie sheet" pan. I omit the vanilla and double the almond flavoring. I also use the whole egg because I can't bear to waste! I also use a burned butter frosting. My husband it delighted you're such a gooooood cake maker! Thank you so much. Laurel

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2012

      When it was decided I would make my daughter's wedding cake (a first for me), I picked a few recipes from the internet to try, and this was one of my firsts. The first time I made it I wasn't paying attention and used 8 WHOLE eggs instead of just whites. We discovered we liked the moisture and taste of this "mistake" much better. It makes a denser, heavier cake, so if you are doing lots of tiers, it might be too heavy. I made a 3 tier (2 layers each) round topsy-turvy cake which worked fine. This recipe works perfect for 2 9X13 pans. I'm pretty sure you can half it without any problem. I have never had so many extremely positive comments on anything I have ever baked. I will definitely use it for other purposes as well. 'Made it with lemon extract and a raspberry filling at Christmas. "Wow" on that as well. 'Used the almond flavoring and made whipped cream/cream cheese frosting, also using almond extract for the wedding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      This recipe is AMAZING! I was recently asked by a friend to make her wedding cake. Never having made one, I started looking for good recipes and saw this one with lots of good reviews... I am famous, with my co-workers for making cakes based on cake mix, so this is right up my alley. SO moist and sturdy and, most importantly, DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      Amazing flavor! I used the Duncan Hines French Vanilla for the white, threw in sprinkles for a funfetti groovy Birthday Cake. I also tried the Triple Fudge mix along with the 1/4 cup of cocoa substitution on flour and it was great! Thank you for an amazing versatile recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2012

      - I forgot to mention. I made four 9 " cakes with a full recipe. I filled each pan about 2/3ds full and baked for 55 minutes at 325. - test with a toothpick, because cake may still *look* wet, but not be. A half recipe made 18 mini cakes in a wilton bar pan. I filled those 2/3 full too, and baked for 30 minutes. You want to fill them enough that you have tops to cut off when you level them. * You can make "pillows" out of the tops by sandwiching them together with your frosting, then covering with left over fondant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      I love this recipe! I haven't had much luck with the variations, but the original recipe makes the most amazing cake! I find that Duncan Hines cake mix works best. Pillsbury is too wet, and I don't like the way Betty Crocker's mix tastes. In a pinch, Aldi's white cake mix works, too. But I get so many compliments whenever I make it. Someone told me just today that it's one of the best cakes she's ever eaten. So there you go. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      I used this recipe to make a 1st birthday cake for my nephew. I left the almond out to make a white cake for some of the tiers. I also made the chocolate version for a tier. I filled the white cake with strawberry filling and filled the chocolate with bavarian cream.

      I ended up making a 2 tier cake with a barn sculpted out of cake on the top tier. I also make a small "smash cake". All of the cake was covered with a thin layer of buttercream, then covered in fondant. It was then decorated to look like a barnyard.

      The cake was a hit. Absolutely everyone loved it. I don't think there was one person who didn't like it. I do wish that I had made another tier that was chocolate, because we ended up running out. I have already had requests to make a wedding cake and a birthday cake for people who attended the party.

      I can't wait to make this cake again and try out other variations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      one of the best cakes I have ever made! My family loved it, my hubby loved it!! I loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      I wanted to make a cake for my husband for Valentines day. The store did not have white cake, so I used Betty Crocker yellow. I cut the recipe exactly in half, since this was only for our family.

      I miss the 'Champagne' cake I can get in Bakersfield from Smith's bakery where I'm from, so I took inspiration from that. I don't have a ton of equipment, but I made up for that with the use of parchment paper. LOL!

      I baked one round and one square cake and lined the pans with parchment. Cut the round in half, arrange the square cake so it looks like a diamond then put each 1/2 circle on the two top sides, making the heart shape. My long thin bread knife took care of any leveling, but honestly it was minimal. I didn't have a pan quite large enough for this...but two things made it easy for me to house the cake once together...the bottom of my roasting pan and a small countertop chopping block (in case you are like me and need ideas to enable your cooking!!).

      Once the cake was together, I frosted it with Wilton's Whipped Icing Mix (because I prefer the Whipped topping over buttercreme). I then sprinkled a little plain cocoa powder over the cake for both color and flavor (I just shook it through my mesh collander), then shaved some Wilton's red melting chips with my cheese grater and sprinkled them on top (I use a Salad Shooter so this took less than a minute and a half to shave all of it).

      I have posted a picture of this. I do not typically make 'pretty' food...usually just good tasting and baking is particularly difficult for me...following directions and all. This recipe was EASY to work with and was VERY tasty!!! I appreciate the use of the box mix approach because the ingredients are all pre-measured and there are plenty of other things I can make from scratch so this very pretty, very very tasty cake was also quite simple and straightforward with just a little patience and a couple hours of my morning. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

      Yum! I got numerous compliments on this cake. It was moist, and dense enough to cut and decorate. The only thing I didn't like about it was that it used an actual box of cake mix. I'd love to be able to make a cake like this completely from scratch. I halved the recipe and it turned out perfect. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2010

      This is a fabulous recipe, but PLEASE note that this takes TWO standard cake mix boxes, not ONE. It had been a while since I made this and only added 1 box (failing to look at the ounces) and wound up having to add about another cup of flour becaus the batter was way too runny. It was still OK, and I still got amazing compliments on the taste of the cake, but it's not as good that way--more airy/less dense. So please add that second box of cake mix, and you'll get sheer perfection!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      This was very tasty, but if you don't watch it while cooling...it will stick like crazy! I put one of my layers on a plate when it was almost cool, and I didn't even think about it sticking! Next time I will put the cooling layers on waxed paper or something to avoid ruining them! I halved the recipe and it made 2 very nice 9" layers that I cooked for 50 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2003

      Donna M. I made this cake for a silver anniversary party. I used yellow cake mix and 4 eggs instead of egg whites. I made the 12 x 18 sheet cake. It took about 60 minutes to bake. I cut it in half and filled it with lemon pudding and frosted it with fluffy frosting. We got rave reviews...the cake was delicious and so moist...this is a keeper...thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2014

      I cut the recipe in half. One half recipe made 32 mini cupcakes, a 10" x 15" pan and about 9 regular size cupcakes. I thought the cake by itself was not very flavorful. But once I added a nice cream cheese frosting, the flavors all came together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2013

      This is a fantastic recipe. I used it for my wedding cake and for several tiered cakes since then. I make one recipe and split it between a 10-inch circle pan and a 6-inch circle pan. After torting each layer and frosting them the final cake ends up being almost 4 inches each layer. My favourite filling with this cake is custard - simply take a box of vanilla pudding mix (the kind you cook) and replace 1/2 of the milk with heavy cream (33% MF, e.g. whipping cream). I use a simple syrup over each layer too. People constantly rave about the cake when I use this recipe, the simple syrup, and the vanilla custard filling. If you are looking for a good recipe for a tiered cake that is easy and delicious, this is it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 17

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for White Almond Sour Cream Wedding Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (62 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 40

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 209.8
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    27%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 5.9 mg
    1%
    Sodium 278.8 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 24.5 g
    98%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes