29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

...My compliments to the chef! We broke down a beef tenderloin into steaks. the only change I really made was to sweat the steaks in a liberal amount of salt, pepper and garlic before transferring to the marinade bath. For the bath, I used the Food Saver marinade attachment...only left it in here for about an hour, and my sweet baby Jesus, it was delicious! JD was what I had on hand, the marinade worked great with beef, given that many of these reflected pork or chicken....just wanted to throw my hat in the ring.....with this.....BEEF...it's what's for dinner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElvisPresley99 February 11, 2011

Oh YUM -- 1/2 cup of whiskey for the recipe -- 1/2 cup for me!!!! I loved this recipe. But I did cut back the whiskey to 1/4 cup per some of the reviews I read. That seemed perfect to me. I can see where any more might have made it a little on the strong side. I used some skirt steaks -- not a great cut of meat, but they were so flavorable. Next time, I'll use some flank steak. This is a great marinade -- and I thank you for sharing it with me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbie October 04, 2010

Used on pork. I think I would have been better off with chicken. Not that this isn't good (it is) but the flavor of the alcohol was a bit much with only 4 hours marinade time. Next time I will use a little less whiskey and brown sugar. But overall this is very good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bloodwyn December 20, 2009

OMG! This is the best marinade recipe ever! I love whiskey and to find a recipe that used it was great! I soaked a quartered pork sirloin roast for about 4 hours and made it on the grill...heaven! I had quite a bit of marinade left over so I soaked 4 boneless chicken breasts for over a day and made them on the grill and they rocked too! The combo of the brown sugar and whiskey really compliment each other! My wife doesn't care for whiskey as much. She had one piece of chicken that was a little thinner than the others and the whiskey flavor was a little stronger in that piece (I did taste it for myself just to check.) We loved it and will use this one again and again! Maybe next time we'll do steak. Great recipe Alice!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Curty The Crime Dog November 06, 2009

I made the marinade exactly as stated. I allowed the pork loin chops marinate for nearly 18 hours. They were very flavorful and juicy. This is a must to make again. Thanks for sharing Alice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barefootmommawv June 07, 2013

We used Jim Beam as our whiskey, and it was most excellent! No any other condiment need on those pork steaks for sure. I will try this again with other cuts of meat and whiskey choices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoraannIN February 10, 2013

The marinade itself was really good tasting so I figured this was going to be a really good tasting rib eye steak I was making. Sorry I did not enjoy this steak at all. The marinade left the steak tasting funny. I marinaded for 6 hrs and cut back on the whiskey as some reviewers said. I'm sorry but I would not make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 August 26, 2011

I soaked some NY strips in this marinade (I used Jack Daniels) for about 5 hours and then grilled them. We just didn't care for the taste the marinade left. The Jack Daniels flavor was very strong. Thank you for the opportunity to try it though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shimmerysummersun March 06, 2011

WoW! My 2 guys went crazy for this, can't wait to make it again, I used 5 good size pork steaks and grilled them. Turn a cheaper cut of meat into a real treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela P. November 22, 2009

This is so yummy! I halved the recipe for 4 chicken thighs and used lite (low sodium soy sauce), 1t salt, 1t garlic powder marinated chicken thighs for 6hrs, and baked @ 350 degrees (I didn't know if the bourbon would ignite at a higher temp) for ~45 minutes. The salt level was perfect and the meat didn't have an overpowering alcohol taste at all (as other reviewers mentioned, I think the key to avoiding the alcohol taste is to not marinate overnight!). With the changes, this is a definite keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mle234 October 11, 2009
Whiskey Marinade for Chicken, Pork or Steak