43 Reviews

Great consistency to this frosting. Very light and fluffy. Not very sweet. I've never made a whipped cream frosting so I was concerned it might separate on top of the cake after a day or two.But it didn't (keep it in fridge) and I will happily make this again. Thanks for posting.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura in Texas October 21, 2007

I used this recipe after checking others that were similar to it. I added 1/4 t. of cream of tarter and 1/2 t. of orange extract. It was light and fluffy, as promised. This was an easy and tasty way to frost my cake. The only thing I noticed on the negative side was that my cake looked a whole lot like a cloud (bakers error?).

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Mike F February 04, 2003

I used this recipe as a staring point, and made some amendments. The results were amazing! I beat the cream and cream of tarter until frothy, then added 1/2 package of light cream cheese (room temp), vanilla, 2 cups of xxx sugar and about 2/3 cup of strawberry preserves. I beat this mixture for several minutes, and it became silky and light. I tinted it with pink food coloring, and frosted a three layer fresh strawberry cake (the strawberry version of white almond sour cream wedding cake on food.com). It was fabulous, if I do say so myself. And my 14 year old niece, the birthday girl, loved it as well. The frosting was not too sweet, and held up surprisingly well, although there were no leftovers the next day. I will make this frosting, with flavor variations, again and again! ( Only change I would have made was to pur?e the strawberry preserves.)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danalcam March 03, 2013

I made this using the chocolate version and vanilla version with added blue food coloring and 1/4 tsp. cream of tartar. I thought it was a wonderful frosting to work with. I made 3 separate batches. 1 recipe was enough to frost a 9-inch 4 layer cake with none left over for decorating. I piped some on my cake for decorating and it worked pretty well. It is not as "clean" looking as buttercream, but easy to work with. It gets a little soft after sitting out for a couple hours, but didn't melt. Tastes great and is easy to make. The chocolate version was pretty rich with 1/2 c. cocoa powder; next time I may use a 1/4 c. cocoa and add more as desired.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyrd February 12, 2013

This is a wonderful light and fluffy whipped cream frosting, for all types of cakes. It's also lovely layered in trifles and puddings. I sometimes whip in a few tablespoons of Kahlua or brandy, for a special treat. Thank you for sharing, Pixie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BecR January 10, 2012

BEST FROSTING EVER!!! I made this for an Asian birthday cake. It is wonderfully light, creamy, and delicious. It is also the perfect consistency for spreading onto cakes or cupcakes. The only changes I made were adding about 1/4 tsp of cream of tartar and using only 1/4 cup of powdered sugar, since my family prefers it not so sweet. Amazing frosting! This is going to replace my usual sickening-sweet buttercream recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Hannah~ May 13, 2010

This was just alright for me. I made the vanilla plain frosting, and it was fine. I suppose I'm into a richer frosting. This reminded me a bit of Cool Whip. If you want a quick, easy basic whipped cream frosting, though, this is quite fine. I DID have LOTS of left over, so I am freezing it. We'll see how that freezes up. Maybe it will be like "ice cream" or maybe it could be thawed and used on another cake. I did garnish with coconut and assume that will taste lovely. If that really works, I might suggest adding it directly to the frosting before frosting the cake, and perhaps using coconut extract if one should be so inclined. Don't get me wrong, for a whipped cream frosting, it's great. I'm just not a whipped frosting kind of gal. Edited to add: I'm giving this 5 stars, this held up WONDERFULLY sitting out in the heat...and tasted like a cloud, espically with the coconut topping. The frozen cream was like a sweet light ice cream, too. Yum. I'm still not a whipped cream kinda gal, but if I were, this would be the recipe I'd use!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Snob in Israel July 07, 2007

Great, love it, I didnt use any variations, and it was wonderful. The consistency was great, I will continue to use this recipe for the majority of cakes that I bake. Thank you so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
prokop23 April 05, 2007

Wonderful texture, so creamy! I tried the lemon version, which was great, but could have used a little more extract. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MPB' December 26, 2006

This is a great recipe - and it held up wonderfully! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dorslo February 20, 2006
Whipped Cream Frosting